4/14 Jonesy AMPS 347 - PMPS 311-3u increased to 3u (we're BACK!)

Darcy and Jonesy

Member Since 2015
Good morning all!!

So very sorry for the super long delay, but here we are! First and foremost, Jonesy has been super high, the entire time. Just this morning I've upped his dose to 3u. I'm giving up on TR and will go the other route. I'm just not able, okay . . . or willing, to test often enough, and honestly, I just want him healthy and happy. So right now my goal is to get his numbers DOWN.

I will read up on what the protocol is for the "go slow" process, maybe I should have upped him by more than .25u? Give me your thoughts please :)

As for the move . . . AAAUUUGGGHHHHH!!!! No question, the moving out day was unquestionably, one of THE most stressful days of my life. No joke. Due to the virus, I refused any help from friends, and it was just me and three movers. The truck didn't get there until 5:00 pm (initially expected around 3) and didn't drive away until 9:30 pm. As there had been a freak snow storm the day before and that morning (and it was melting by the time they arrived) the ground was a messssssss . . . . The movers were excellent, but even with special runners put down, my beautiful hardwoods were a mess by the time they'd left.

I'd not eaten enough throughout the day, had had WAY too much caffeine and by the time they left I was in a panic about cleaning. Although I *thought* I'd purged a lot from my home of 23 years, no question, I should have gotten rid of a lot more. The truck with JAMMED full. So not only was I trying to madly clean the house, I was also stuffing my car with any extra stuff left at the house, knowing FULL WELL I legally had to be OUT of the house by midnight.

By 12:30 am, I was literally dizzy with panic and confusion and stress. I ended up throwing out a lot of stuff that I just couldn't fit in my car! I did leave stuff like cleaning products for them, but anything they couldn't truly use, if I couldn't fit it, it went in the garbage bin :(

We got to the hotel (I say we, myself, Jonesy and Fiona. My Vinnie had gone into boarding) around 1:00 am, after being up for about 22 hours. It took me until around 4:00 am to actually fall asleep as the adrenaline had me wired. But the next day (Saturday) was literally spent laying on the bed with the two cats, snoozing and watching TV.

Move IN day went muuuuuch better! Well, other than the fact a portion of my living room ceiling had fallen to the floor! There is no way to know exactly WHEN it happened, as the previous owners had left at 7:00 pm, and I arrived at 11:15 am to take possession. So we're letting the insurance companies fight that out . . . (I do believe them when they say it wasn't like that when they left, hey sh*t happens. It can be fixed. That's all that matters!)

I've not had WIFI for almost a WEEK now! So that is the reason I've not done any posts! The cable company won't allow their staff to enter into homes. The day I moved in, they'd arrived to "switch it on" (don't really know what that means) and my brother was able to get the TV up and running! But it was a full week later when another cable company guy came by with the proper cables and talked me through it from his truck! Ha!

Anyway, sorry for the rambling post! My adorable idiot Vinnie, the one who hates Jonesy, is back home after a week at the boarder. I'm trying to have a nice calm reintroduction again between them.

I hope everyone has been staying safe, that there are no losses to hear of :( (Whether human illnesses or sugar cats)

Take care all! (*Edit - I can't turn the photo upwards . . . huh? *head scratch* )
Darcy
ceiling damage.jpg




Last post from April 3rd, moving day http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-3-jonesy-amps-346-2-75u-moving-day.227864/#post-2551976
 

Attachments

  • ceiling damage.jpg
    ceiling damage.jpg
    54.1 KB · Views: 66
Sorry things were so stressful. I wondered if you'd have trouble getting things set up with people not being able to come in to your house. I'm glad you're all finally in your new home. I hope everyone adjusts quickly and things go smoothly from now on.
 
Wow, what a week. Strange how ceiling falls in on moving day. Did home inspection miss something like a leak I wonder. Could be Jonesy is feeling all the stress.

Do hope it's gets calmer for you.
 
I hope all the stress of the move is over now and you can start to settle in.
I will read up on what the protocol is for the "go slow" process, maybe I should have upped him by more than .25u? Give me your thoughts please
SLGS is not a protocol, but rather a dosing method developed on FDMB over time and years ago. So it's had lots of people using it. That Start Low, Go Slow is just that. SLGS is much slower than TR. You only increase by 0.25 units, and just once a week. And most importantly, you still need some mid cycle tests, which in SLGS is suggested as a curve, before increasing. Today you should have done a curve instead of increasing. Getting spot checks, including that before bed test is still important. It's just as possible to go overdose with SLGS as with TR, if you don't do spot checks to know how low the dose is taking the cat.

Don't forget to change your signature to change the SLGS to TR.
 
OMG - what a way to start another chapter in your life. I would think a few choice words were said upon the discovery! :arghh:
Believe it or not, I was pretty calm. I tend to be a "aaaah crap, okay, what now?" kinda chick, rather than a "AAAHHH CRAPPP!!! What NOW?????" LOL

I'd called my real estate agent, she immediately called the former owners, everyone was horrified. I was probably the most calm of all of them. Maybe because I'd just barely survived the Friday night move out ;) LOL
 
Back
Top