? 4/14 time to shoot, new to Lantus, PMPS 165, help?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by AliceMeowliss (GA), Apr 14, 2019.

  1. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
  2. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Have you fed her yet? If you haven't, don't feed her and test again in 20 minutes
     
  3. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Nope. Waiting!

    She's hungry though. :\ poor baby.

    Just got a fresh pee again. She's having trouble, or not squatting properly, and starts to stand higher as she finishes.

    Anyway.
    Ketones?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I think you're OK on the ketones but the more water you can get into her, the better. Did they by any chance send you home with Sub-q fluids?
     
  5. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    I had a leftover bag but it's not still good. I'll keep adding water with the food as I have been, and ask about getting some tomorrow. I've been giving her a sip by syringe here and there. I'll up it.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  6. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
  7. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    She's going down
     
  8. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
  9. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Her ears are very warm too. :\
     
  10. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK....you're going to have to make a tough decision.

    She hasn't earned a reduction yet so I'd probably shoot the 4U dose BUT you may have a long night ahead of you. I suspect at some point she'll bounce again higher, but there's no way to guarantee it.

    Even if you shot a reduced dose, there's no guarantee she won't drop low on this cycle due to the depot being in play, but it may lesson the chances.

    We don't want to skip due to her recent history with DKA....but you can feed her higher carb food to keep her BG up if you need to.

    If she were my cat, I'd shoot the 4U dose and be prepared for a long night (but hope for the best!) making sure I had lots of high carb foods in the house.
     
  11. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    I don't know what to do. :( now I'm 30 minutes off schedule too.

    Thanks for responding!
     
  12. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    What frequency of testing would be recommended at 4u at this point?
     
  13. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I'd go ahead and shoot and get a +1 and +2 to start
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  14. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    And do I need to test her one more time before shooting?
     
  15. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yes for her "official" PMPS

    On her spreadsheet, you'd put ### @ +12, ### @+12.3, ###@+12.5 all in the PMPS cell
     
  16. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    How will I enter in the other two on SS? And can I go ahead and assume a little more gravy be friskies tonight then? I'll mix it with the 4% some.

    Who is on here when it's night in the States? For later?
     
  17. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Edited that info above....you will have to color code it manually

    I'll be on for several hours and will watch for others with experience to come on. Right off hand, I'm thinking @Wendy&Neko , @Marje and Gracie , @Bron and Sheba
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  18. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Official PMPS 128 shot 4u
     
  19. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Fed a spoonful of 14%, then a 1/4 can (friskies) 4% with water. Is it safe to wait an hour now? Next check will be about 45 after the hour again....
     
  20. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yes I think that's fine
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  21. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Thank you for being here. I am terrified of tonight.
     
  22. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Can I feed as much as she wants right now?
     
  23. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    She should have a fairly "normal" sized meal.....you don't want to fill her up TOO much in case you need her to eat later
     
  24. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    "Normal" is tricky to determine. She is almost always so hungry. I have honey stocked and ready on her shelf too though. I'll be more liberal with the 14%.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  25. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Good for you shooting that blue. Lantus does a good job of keeping lower numbers flat. She shouldn’t dive like she does from higher numbers.

    I will be on for a couple hours, but will be collapsing early. I was racing today and am beat. I should be up for that +2.
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  26. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Thank you, that's a mild comfort without adding complacency. (There are waves of anxiety rolling off me.)

    I guess I expected higher at PS because I am really used to seeing those numbers go back up.

    Where's a good graphic again of how Lantus cycles work, and possibly comparison with NPH? I probably need to find something to study to keep me going for the night.


    Alice is getting very mad about her ears. She never growls and she barely can right now and I don't like that she is hurting. I don't have the pain relief neosporin right now, just regular. I want to be able to spare those ears soon. My poor baby. Sigh.
     
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi. I’ll try to check in on your next tests after Wendy has to leave.
     
  28. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    :bighug:

    Thank you!
     
  29. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Her current demeanor is nice. Grooming herself. Just had some petting and responsive purring. She is able to comfortably exert herself a bit more. And she's not hungry for the moment. (She would probably eat more if I put it in front of her though.)
     
  30. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    There's no comparison between Novolin and Lantus, but this is what you're shooting for

    +0 - PreShot number.
    +1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
    +2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
    +3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
    +4 - Lower.
    +5 - Lower.
    +6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
    +7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
    +8 - Slight rise.
    +9 - Slight rise.
    +10 - Rising.
    +11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
    +12 - PreShot number.
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  31. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    +1 is 140

    Thoughts? Test at +2? (Sigh!)
     
  32. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yes.....Sorry Alice but mama needs to keep you safe
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  33. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
  34. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    I almost feel stupid asking this but then have to remind myself it doesn't matter.... Is she stable enough theoretically that I can stop checking on her every ten minutes or less? Turn off her light and let her nap for 30 min in between torture?

    How fast can a drop happen with this? From the 100s...?
     
  35. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    We all truly do understand...We've all been there. None of us likes to think we're doing anything to our babies that bothers them in any way, much less might be painful, but keeping them safe and with us as long as possible is the ultimate goal
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  36. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If we tell you to re-test in X minutes, it's because we truly feel like it's OK to wait that long.

    Most cats also will become crazy hungry if they're dropping too quickly or into lower numbers. I could always tell when China was dropping too low because of the way she acted....she demanded food, NOW
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  37. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Oh I realized I read your comment wrong and then deleted mine. Then your next comment showed up. Sorry! :)
    It finally occurred to me I can drink coffee at night right now. Working on getting focused.....
     
  38. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    That's about how Alice was getting at PS.

    Her bowels are noisy. I can hear them gurgling quite a bit. Is this particularly odd?
     
  39. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Well with China, it was demanding food at an unusual time, not the usual "pre-shot" feeding

    Now this one I can't answer....if it's unusual for her, tuck it into the back of your mind in case it makes sense later (like she has a really running poop next time she goes)
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  40. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Oh no foul foul foul bowel movement and poorer fecal score. :(
     
  41. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    You called it in real time.
     
  42. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Oh there's more. Crap. I don't have an anti-diarrheal medicine if this gets worse.
     
  43. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    have you got some plain pumpkin? It works for both diarrhea and constipation
     
  44. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Maybe. At what point and in what amount would one administer? Will she be more or less likely to enjoy it? (Read: how to give, and difficulty level.)

    She just got a can of FF (2%) mixed with some water. Sometimes I think her tummy has some sensitivities I have never figured out. So maybe bringing a little more of that back in will help.
     
  45. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    This is what happens when I take a break. One of them is seriously grooming the skin off my face and the other is making biscuits on me and his brother and purring. (Is off-topic briefly okay?)
     

    Attached Files:

    Sharon14 and Krystina & Nelli like this.
  46. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    About a teaspoon and some cats love it....others don't so can't give you a difficulty level
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  47. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Absolutely....our kitties are more than just their numbers.

    We love getting a WCR (Whole Cat Report)….are the 5 "P's" in place? Peeing, pooping, playing, purring and preening
     
  48. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    I'm unsure here of the use of the word "prepared" ...... Hmm. Does it look nutritionally as it should?
     

    Attached Files:

  49. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Looks fine to me!!

    One thing a lot of people do is put the pumpkin into an ice cube tray and freeze it so you have it when you need it (since she's not going to eat a whole can before it goes bad)
     
  50. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Oh good. I find paying attention to her levels of activity/exertion give me a lot of clues towards her care. And as previously mentioned somewhere or other, I have amassed a large collection of poop pics now.

    Playing is a no though. She has not felt well enough to be playful at all. She was never a whole lot though. Oh but when she was a baby...! Her and her brother! <3 <3 <3 :)
     
    Krystina & Nelli likes this.
  51. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    +2 dropped!!! down to 87 from 140. :(

    Giving another spoon of the 14%
    *eta well more than a spoon's worth
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  52. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    What else do you have available in the way of high carb food?

    Any Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers?

    Get another test at +2.5
     
  53. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    No, just checked, but didn't know I'd need higher. What range is HC again please? I'll buy some tomorrow as soon as it's safe to leave for a bit.
     
  54. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I usually consider HC to be over 16%

    I usually kept several cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers beef in the house because it was the highest carb
     
  55. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Alright I'll look tomorrow.

    Gave her 1/4 tsp pumpkin. She was pleased. Also more 14%, and a sliver of the 4% pate because it mixes into the soupy water thing well. Gah I hate testing her this much.

    ETA I know dry is bad but I also recall reading somewhere something about it sort of possibly hanging around in the system longer. So I have Purina DM dry emergency kibbles too.

    And her belly is WAY too full now. If she gets lower, a bit of honey on kibble?? :\ *nervous*
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2019
  56. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    she did accept my invitation to sit next to me though. That's a positive sign.
     
  57. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Let's see where she's at first.....honey has it's place too
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  58. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Testing in progress.....
     
  59. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’m checking in. Waiting for results.
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  60. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    +2.5 is 81 !!!
     
  61. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Drop 6 points in 30 min after lots and lots of food, much of it 14%, scares the pee out of me this early. :( :( :(
     
  62. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    That's really about the same number as the 87 so she's not really dropping.

    If you have some 14%, give her another spoonful
     
  63. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    No need to be scared, but we do understand how you feel...but you have me and Elise watching so we will do our best to help you out.

    I know it seems scary, but 81 is a nice safe number
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  64. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Already done.

    Next test time?
     
  65. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I would feed a teaspoon of 14% and test again in 1/2 an hour. She might be leveling out. She’s in good numbers but I understand scary for you.
     
  66. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
  67. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Thank you. I just don't want a repeat of anything as terrifying as the last hospital rush. She's actually super alert. Curling her little paws in front of her. I can tell her level of alert is food related though. And her belly really shouldn't be stuffed more!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  68. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    In theory so far what does this tell us about the 4u dose? Her rapid response has me confused!
     
  69. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Oh and I meant to show you this....this is what we consider the "sweet spot" on the ear....it looks like you're poking up along the top.

    Might make her a little less sore if you change where you're poking a bit more
    sweet spot diagram.PNG
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  70. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    It's too early to know yet...….she hasn't earned a reduction in dose yet if you're doing Tight Regulation (that's the dosing method I used with my China)

    You do need to decide which dosing method you want to use at some point though. You do test enough to do TR, but there's also Start Low, Go Slow

    TR gives the best chance at remission because we don't hold a dose longer than 3 days if it's not getting them where we want them.

    SLGS holds the dose for 7 days (unless they earn a reduction) which can leave them in higher than we'd like for several more days....but we've had cats go into remission on SLGS too
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) and tiffmaxee like this.
  71. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    I want her stable first and foremost, and remission might not be a possibility if there is another underlying condition. I'm hopeful but not overly optimistic. I just want her to feel well again. As well as she can for her life to have a valuable enough quality for herself. Ideally I want this "fatty" (in comparison!) back:
    image.jpeg
     
  72. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Testing again now
     
  73. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    With DKA in the picture, we need to not worry about SLGS. Once she’s more stable and at a good dose, then the method can be decided.
     
  74. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    One consideration for dosing method is the recent DKA. You want to be able to get as much insulin into her as is safely possible, as you said, healthy first, then we think about next steps.
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  75. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Steady +3 at 81, no change from +2.5

    Next test time rec? Feeding rec?

    Thank you again, everyone.
     
  76. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’d feed a little 14% again and test in 45-60 minutes.
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  77. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    This is what we call "surfing"....staying pretty much stable....and she's surfing in a wonderful range too!

    I agree with Elise....a little more food and test again in 45-60
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  78. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Done. :)
    image.jpeg
    (She doesn't usually eat from the can but it's almost all gone and it will keep her interest a little longer. It's been fed to her I think for about the past 24 hours ish minus a maybe 4 spoonfuls to the ginger boys and their begging. :b and other food of course.)
     
  79. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    They often get really hungry when in green numbers which is a good thing when we need them to eat.
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  80. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    I will be BG testing again at 12:45 central US time. Got another pee to test now!

    ETA: new ketone test, small-moderate??
     

    Attached Files:

  81. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    But how much can her belly handle? Will she regain fat first and muscle later, after wasting?
     
  82. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Have you looked at China's Profile in my signature? She regained both as she became better controlled.
     
  83. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    No but now I did. That video, omg chonky chonkers!
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  84. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yeah.....she went too far the other way...she was "too fluffy"
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  85. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I guess every cat is different. Max never lost muscle but got way to fat as a diabetic. I couldn’t get him to move much.
     
  86. Jasper Blue and Jay

    Jasper Blue and Jay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    omg this photo is killin me... glad she's eating :)
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  87. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    As my bottle baby, that paw hold brought me back. I used to wrap her in a towel and hold her near my face, she would brace one baby paw against my thumb and another on my cheek as part of my hands were holding her and the bottle. But she wanted to grab/biscuit. Baby kitty biscuits omg love <3
     
    Jasper Blue and Jay likes this.
  88. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Alice was always petite and long. Most people think she is a year old even when healthy when she's over a decade. Her brother was the same build. Her wasting was a huge alarm towards her DX.
     
  89. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Hey Cassandra.....It's getting late for me since I have to be up early in the morning. Elise is experienced and I know she'll help you if you need it.

    I've also asked @Bron and Sheba to keep an eye on you. She's in Australia so it's earlier in the day for her.

    If I didn't know there were others I trust completely to watch for you, I'd stay online (and I'll probably still be here for your next test)

    We agree not to leave anybody that shoots a lower number until they're comfortable unless we can find someone else with experience to take over
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  90. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Alice says "Thank you!!!"
    image.jpeg

    Next test will post in 15 minutes. :)
     
  91. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’ll check back then.
     
  92. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    +4 is 72

    9 point drop in an hour at this level...

    Feed and test recs?
     
  93. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Still surfing pretty!!

    I'd give her another teaspoon of food and test again in an hour
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) and tiffmaxee like this.
  94. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi Cassandra I am online now and can be around for you. You are doing really well. Chris has been great as usual and lovely to seeElise as well!. And I think Alice is adorable. I agree with Chris, if you move down the ear a bit you should get just as much blood. When I was having to test a lot, I used both sides of both ears.
     
  95. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    @Bron and Sheba thanks! :) tests on the +hour should be posted every 45 minute past the hour due to test/wait20/test/wait20/test/shoot earlier.... I am terrified of hypo. Soooo scared. Have not had a nap beyond maybe two hours max in days now. Thanks for being here.
     
  96. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi Bron. I’m going to head to bed now that you are here. Alice is surfing nicely. She’s just where you want her Casandra. As long as she’s eating you can steer her with food. Max never had a symptomatic hypo and even dropped under 50 plenty of times. I did print the yellow sticky on handling low numbers until I got used to the routine just in case nobody was around. It is scaryI know.
     
  97. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Thanks for hanging around. I appreciate it. :) Sleep well!!!

    She is eating, but that belly is SO full. She has easily had another two oz or so of the gravy 14% since I opened a new can earlier..... I'm probably letting her eat a little too much. I don't know. Better a little high than too low.
     
  98. Jasper Blue and Jay

    Jasper Blue and Jay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    You're doing great, and Alice is doing great and you have great people standing by... I'm no expert but you have all the tools you need to prevent hypo, an awesome support system, test strips, gravy food, and honey! lol ... even when my guy went down to 53 on his second day and I panicked, all it took was a little honey to quickly get him moving back up into a safer place giving him enough time for the gravy food to kick in.

    I know how scary it is, but you're able to test frequently enough and you have enough tools on hand that you can handle it if she starts to go lower.

    Take a deep breath , hang in there, you got this! :bighug:
     
  99. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Thank you. Your anecdote is comforting to hear. :)
     
    Jasper Blue and Jay likes this.
  100. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    +5 is 102. She's up which comforts me. I am going to decrease snacks slightly and test again at +6 and +7. If she is back on the rise, I may spread things out more. Will need dose advice AM though!!!
     

Share This Page