? 4/15 Oren; AMPS=397; +4=142; +6=88; +8.25=70;pmps=126; vacation dose decision time

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

We earned a reduction yesterday w/ a 45. Didn't take it last night because of a bounce up to hi. This morning bounce not really cleared yet. worst am number in quite some time! nevertheless, down .5 to 5.25 this a.m.

Hoping the day will go smoothly. Meeting w/ vet tech later this a.m to go over everything. Any advice/suggestions appreciated!

Hope everyone has a good Wed (even if it is Tax day:blackeye:
 
Last edited:
bounce clearing already? guess that 5.75 depot is still working... oh boy... how low will he go?! vacation dose to start tomorrow.. will either be 5.25, 5 or 4.5 depending on today's nadir?
 
This is probably the influence of the 5.75U depot, but it is great to see him continue to clear the bounces so fast. Vacation dose of 5.0u or 4.5U. Let's see where he ends up at PMPS. You can always go the lower dose if you are worried, that would be over a unit lower than his dose last night.
 
staying nice and green again. Vet tech was here and I showed her everything. Left a syringe filled w/ 5.25 colored water, just in case, but told her it would likely be going down again to 5 or 4.5, and would let her know tomorrow in a note.

I asked her to avoid skipping a shot entirely if at all possible, as i really hate to lose momentum that much. Said if she was really uncomfortable and faced w/ a low AM/PM test to leave lots of food in the autofeeder (maybe even mixed w/ some higher carb food) and maybe shoot half a dose. Perhaps I should set a limit though; if its in 50s, should she not shoot?

Regardless, she'll be leaving a total of half a can of food in 4 meals in the a.m, and 2-3 meals in the evening. He's currently getting a total of 2 cans FF(<=5%) a day: 1/2 can, plus 1 tbsp of poached, skinless chicken breast at AMPS and PMPS meals, then the other smaller spaced meals.

But if he's going down to 5 even, hopefully that will be enough to keep him safe? I'd love it if he'd somehow just stay blue-yellow while I'm gone. I'd count that a big win for everyone.

She is VERY good about texting me or calling though if she has any questions.
 
Last edited:
well that was a pretty darn nice cycle, other than the high AMPS... nadir was almost mid point, and a nice 70. So, vacation dose, 5? and to clarify, do I give it at AMPS or let vet tech start it at PMPS?
 
Last edited:
so hard to know.

I would go ahead with the vacation dose in the morning.

I think since he's not going to be tested mid-cycle, I'd probably go with the 4.5 or 4.75u. I'm just a teeny worried that he's doing so well that 5.0 isn't much lower than he has been. So . . . of course you'll have to make the tough decision, but i'd probably reduce to something less than 5.0u, if it were me. I'd rather have to go back up in dose and have to recapture the good cycles after I got home than to have him go too low while I was gone.
 
I agree with Julie on both timing and dose. I like to give the depot a couple of cycles to deplete if I have to be away all day and can't get a mid day test.
 
so hard to know.

I would go ahead with the vacation dose in the morning.

I think since he's not going to be tested mid-cycle, I'd probably go with the 4.5 or 4.75u. I'm just a teeny worried that he's doing so well that 5.0 isn't much lower than he has been. So . . . of course you'll have to make the tough decision, but i'd probably reduce to something less than 5.0u, if it were me. I'd rather have to go back up in dose and have to recapture the good cycles after I got home than to have him go too low while I was gone.

ok thanks so much ladies. I am trying very hard not to be too discouraged by potential backwards sliding here, but indeed SAFETY first for my little guy.

He's only going to have had the new 5.25 dose twice (today), so I guess I'm leaning a bit more towards 4.75? I showed the vet tech my 5.25 syringe and can make it 4.75 easily enough. She was amazed by the 1/2 unit syringes, didn't know they existed! So I taught her something new!

my last question (for now!) is there a "line in the sand" don't shoot at all number for her? or if we agree that 4.75 is the new dose, should she give half that if faced with something like 50? of course w/ these reductions, hopefully that's not so much an issue, but I'd like to have a touchstone
 
I would not want him skating in the 50's while you're gone. Tight regulation must be accompanied by testing - without it, that's just not safe.

I don't know what a no-shoot number would be, but i certainly wouldn't have her shoot 50's, probably not even under 120. That's just my opinion, however. Maybe someone else has a different idea.
 
i don't know if his past performance at 4.75 will be any indication, but if so, he never got out of 300-400s... I guess I would have to agree that 120 is probably a safer number to not shoot. Which is worse, not shooting at all, or a say, 50% reduction ?
 
You're asking for a crystal ball . . . ;)

I don't know. If he were being tested it would be different, but trying to say in advance is pretty hard. It would probably depend on whatever else was going on. You can always give your vet tech your sign in for FDMB and tell her how to post. When I took off for several days our son texted or phoned me with the preshot numbers and i told him what I wanted him to do. But that particular summer he was also there to test throughout the day.

Maybe just have her contact you if there is a tricky situation. In general, getting some insulin is better than no insulin, but every situation is different.
 
i considered giving her the info for logging in, but I'm afraid she just really won't have time, at least on the wkdays. There is a chance of her coming mid day on Sat and or Sun, but she didn't fully commit to it.

She will text/call me if faced w/ something, and I guess I could try and get online myself... I think that will just be too iffy to count on. I know I'm asking a lot of you, not trying to pin you down to anything, really just trying to best assess. THe depot could affect him for a few days into this period, even w/ a reduction, so I can imagine there might be some lower numbers looking at her in the first few pre-shots.

SIGH. thank you again for you input. I am going to have a rather sleepless night I'm afraid (the vacation might not be very restful either!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top