4/17 Jack AMPS 83, +7 37 ,+7.25 51,+7.45 97,+8.5 90, +11 56, +12 46, +12.5 58, PMPS 58, +1 64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Hi Folks:

Jack is happy as a lark and all his P's are in order. He is playing today with other kitties so I hope his sadness is over. We chat about Scooter late at night together. One day I will change my avatar to Jacks picture but not today.
His chart is very green and I am very surprised and grateful!

Linda

Update +7. I was gone briefly today and when I came back Jack was at 37. Gave him HC gravy food and a shot of karo light because it was the first thing I grabbed and now I am waiting 10 minutes.
Update 7.25 He is already up to 51 *whew*
 
Last edited:
Great start for Jack. I'm glad he's being playful. Do you have any pictures of Jack and Scooter together you could use for the avatar?
 
Jack is looking just wonderful. I'm glad he seems to be adjusting. I'll bet Scooter is visiting him at night and encouraging him to do well.

You take your time about the avatar. We all understand. I like Carla's idea, if you have any pictures of both kitties together.
 
Congrats on the reduction, Jack!

Was it really a hypo, Linda? Did he have symptoms? Anyway, he's in good shape now. Let's see if he bounces.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Yes, most definitely for a number in the 30s you take a full .25 reduction (whether newly diagnosed, long termer or returned from falls)- congrats :D That's interesting that he had the shakes, most kitties can hit 37 without any hypo symptoms at all. Did he have food available? I would colour that square in the spreadsheet (which looks wonderful) with the bright green rather than the dark green too.
 
Good luck with the reduction - it looks like Jack likes being on the line.:D Scary about the shakes, good thing you got home when you did.

Wendy I almost didn't pop home. I was arguing with the new pharmacist at Walmart. She wouldn't give me needles without a prescription. I was upset so I came home. Had that not happened I would have been another hour and he may have gone much lower. I got a prescription for them from my vet and all is well.
 
funny how things work out, isn't it? what if that pharmacist hadn't given you a hard time . . . ?

yes, I'd reduce to 1.0u tonight. congratulations! Jack looks like he's doing great. I like seeing Scooter's picture still, too.:bighug:
 
you could stall until you see him rise.

you can skip his shot - which is an ok option.

you could try to shoot just a tiny amount to get some insulin in but not the full dose.

or you can shoot the regular new dose. I'd be a little worried that he might turn right around with that option.

What direction do you want to go, Linda?
 
It's very likely that this 56 is a double dip - Lantus does that sometimes. As long as it's above the nadir (hehe that 37!) then it's considered ok to shoot.

Fingers crossed that he doesn't head right back down. At least you know what to do if he does. :D
 
Okay is that true of levemir to? He is below 50 so I didn't shoot. I feel like a novice all over again. :)
I did feed him his normal pate in the hopes his numbers come back up by themselves.
 
Last edited:
no *sigh* i missed that he was on Lev. Lev doesn't have that double-dip. The sticky "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" has specific directions for if you have a 40's at preshot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top