4/17 TR Jenks AMPS 77 +5 46 +6.5 62 +9.5 57 PMPS 90 +5 41 +6 62 +7 91 +8.5 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
4/16

All last night he was hovering just above the 50 line. So I gave him some 21% gravy along with his +6 feeding so I could get some sleep, but either he was carb sensitive last night or the gravy had some extra zing because he jumped to 128.

He coasted back down nicely to start the day at 77. But you can see the trouble he's already causing today now that mamabean is out of town. He just got some 9% food, which he ate quite nicely. I also gave him 1tbsp of the 21% gravy. We'll wait to see what happens.

I'm hopeful that he's signalling the need for another reduction. It's been nearly a week at this dose and he's had great numbers. But if he's going to start tossing out 40s while I'm here alone, I may have to improvise a game plan because I can't be up 24 hours a day.

I won't be comfortable shooting him in the 50s tonight if he's going to struggle with numbers during the day, so if the need arises, should I consider another depot drain reduced dose as an option tonight?
 
Since he dropped below 50, there's no law that says you HAVE to wait for 3 drops below 50 to reduce.

If you need to sleep tonight and he's low at PMPS, there's no reason you couldn't reduce tonight....but you have to remember that even if you were to reduce tonight, the depot could still be in play and he may still have other plans

Screen-Shot-2012-03-29-at-3.56.47-PM.png
 
You can always adjust back up, if the numbers don't look good with a reducie. You do what you need to to keep your handsome guy safe and to take care of yourself. Often after a reduction, Zener would throw a cycle like this and we would reduce again, then up into the stratosphere he would go. And after a few cycles, we would call a failed reduction and go back up on the juice. Of course, these rascals prefer drama when one of their beans is out of town.:cat:
 
couple of thoughts:

- he tolerated that last one-time reduction very nicely and got right back on track immediately.
- i think i'd try reducing his dose based upon his 48 today, especially since you're on your own at the moment. A person has to sleep.
 
I'm hopeful that he's signalling the need for another reduction. It's been nearly a week at this dose and he's had great numbers.
Another way to earn reductions is to spend a week in largely normal numbers. I think Jenks is telling you he's tired of 4.5u. :)
 
He's hanging in there, but showing signs of creeping downward into PMPS. The reading is probably going to be a lower one. He got another tbsp of gravy and some treats, but that's a temporary measure.

So here's the plan, I hope everyone will weigh in on it:

- Unless something miraculous happens, I'm probably going to do another one-time reduction at PMPS. It looks like a depot draining doesn't make itself apparent for up to 48 hours in Jenks, so I imagine the remaining depot will keep him going (and probably lively) overnight.

- Then for AMPS I'm going to try for a reduction to 4.25U. He's tolerated 4.5U well, even through the last one-time reduction. He's had 6 days of pretty much straight green numbers at that dose. And he has spent the last two days at the low end of normal, which will probably continue to decrease by the day.

How does that sound @Chris & China, @julie & punkin (ga), @Vyktors Mum, @Wendy&Neko, and @Anne & Zener (GA)?
 
If you go directly to 4.25u, I'd assume you can expect the same cycle tonight that you've been having. If you give a one time 50% dose, it *usually* is enough to interrupt the low numbers. I'm sure every cat is different applies to this as well, but I found that punkin's cycle after about +3 would show the effect of the significantly reduced dose.

Either way, you'll have to test tonight to see what happens. Each time you do something like this, consider it as an opportunity to see how Jenks reacts. Eventually you'll see a pattern that will let you predict.
 
Thanks @julie & punkin (ga)!

I think it's all going to depend on what his PMPS is. If he's mid-to-low 50s again, I think he'll get a 50% dose.

Then I can marry that the 4.25U in the morning and moving forward to see how he tolerates it. That's my plan, anyway.

Jenks may have something else in mind.
 
Ugh. Jenks went upstairs to go sleep for awhile, so I didn't think much of not checking him sooner. That was a mistake. We're not even midcycle, and he's throwing out a 41. I'm glad I caught it. He got 2.5tbsp of 21% gravy with some karo, followed by some 8% Turkey & Gibs. I'll give him about 30mins before checking him again to see if we're getting any movement. This will probably blow his numbers up temporarily, but he'll start to come down once it tapers off. That's the part I'm worried about because I'm going to need to get a couple hours sleep in before AMPS rolls around, which not surprisingly are the hours Jenks has the potential to be most active.

He may need a BCS dose (that's what a one-time reduction is called, right?) afterall. With the kind of carryover he's showing from his depot, I'm not sure a mere 0.25U reduction is going to stop him from the 40s again.

I'm also thinking that I need to revisit the food list and maybe make some additions that are a little above the 10% mark.
 
Gravy did its job. 62 at the moment. I'm sure that will continue to increase for the next hour or so before peaking.
 
That didn't last as long as I'd like. Peaked at 90, but then fell back down to 59 in 90mins. That's not wonderful.

If I'm to get any sleep at all tonight, I may have to give him more gravy and just let him float for the 3 hours or so we have left before AMPS.

No matter what, I think it's safest if he just gets 2 units in the AM. Maybe if he can drain during the day, it won't mean another sleepless night.
 
Seems to me that especially with the higher dose cats, the depot continues to give at such a rate that just decreasing by 0.25u or 0.5u you really don't see any response in the first cycle after the reduction cycle. That looks to be true for Jenks as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top