4/22 Thos - High numbers, disturbing day - AMPS 98/+0.5 227/...+10 184/PMPS 126/+3 97/+4.5 88

Tom & Thomas (GA)

Member Since 2018
---> Question about PM shot is at post #10

Morning started out OK. AMPS 98 8:32AM. But Thos ate only half his breakfast, didn't want to go out, lay down next to the litter box, came back into the front room. I saw some sort of rapid mouth movement, then he started shaking. Now lying down, responsive but very subdued

08:27 98 - AMPS
08:52 227 - right after I saw the shakes
09:12 217
09:35 183
10:01 187
10:27 169

Probably heading to ER but any insight would be hugely appreciated.

ETA: Maybe not going to ER.
 
Last edited:
Oh my goodness, I didn't think of that.

He really seemed to be simply asleep. I just lifted him up out of his bed. He walked into the kitchen and mounted his makeshift stairs to the counter (with less alacrity than usual) to drink from the CatIt fountain.
 
Last edited:
My vet, who wasn't supposed to be in the office today, rang me up. Her guess was something gastro-intestinal. On cue, as we were talking, Thos pukes up a long light-brown gooey mess with a large stalk of grass imbedded. (Thos is a big grass eater and so happy to have Spring finally arriving.) The doctor thinks that breakfast triggered lurking distress. Still, a weirdly violent reaction.

ETA: There was also a good-sized hairball in what Thos released. Unlike some other cats in the household, Thos pretty much never pukes.

My instructions are to keep half an eye on him for the rest of the day. And let up on the glucose testing, which I may or may not be able to do :).
 
Last edited:
Well, I sure hope he got out what he needed to, Tom. :) And that he's going to go right back to his usual wonderful self. I know you will be keeping more than 'half an eye' on him, and you will are the best judge about the testing. You are a wonderful pet dad. Give Thos a kiss on his little furry head for me, please.
 
Should I give Thos his evening dose?

His numbers have remained high all day, 160-190. He has mostly been lying down in one bed or another. Went outside just briefly after +7, staying close to house. After that I gave him a few pieces of LC kibble, a less-than-daily very special treat, in the hope it would inspire him to eat. He just poked a bit at the wet food. In the course of the day I had pretty much no success trying three different cans. He did eat some, not a lot after his +10. All told he has eaten maybe 1.5 oz. of wet today, with some of that lost to when he threw up. He usually eats five or six 1 oz. portions spread out through the day and into the evening. He has been drinking a good bit of water throughout.

I assume his sugar will still be high when it's time for his shot. I don't know whether he will eat. If doesn't eat shortly after his test, I will have to decide whether or not to shoot despite no food. I dislike the thought of skipping when his numbers are elevated and I can monitor as needed. But this is a wholly new situation for me.
 
Not sure why you would skip? Insulin does more than counter carbs in food. Even cats who cannot eat because they are getting anesthesia get 1/2 a dose. Can you assist feed if needed?
 
Well, I worry all the time that I'm doing something horribly wrong. What you say here makes sense, as always.

I suppose I could feed him some slushified paté using an oral syringe. But he'd have to be pretty far gone before I could squirt something into his mouth without getting bloodied.

Thanks bunches!
 
In times when Neko was off her food, I fed higher %carb LC as a buffer.

The no eating so don’t shoot anything myth is something we hear a lot around here. Often cats not feeling well will have higher numbers too, which helps.
 
These numbers are unlike anything I've seen since we started TR three months ago, and I worry about them suddenly dropping as drastically as they rose. But I've got the supplies to deal with low numbers, and an ER less then five miles away. I like the idea of pre-emptively feeding higher carb if this continues.

Definitely something else is going on with Thos. We'll go see the doctor if tomorrow is as weird and disturbing as today was.
 
Thos dropped to a much nicer number for his PMPS. Ate some, though not as much as I'd like. Went back outside for a while. All good signs. But he is definitely still a bit off.

Now I hope the insulin works its magic, but not too much magic.

Thanks to all for sending kind thoughts and advice.
 
Hopefully just the hairball/long grass causing some discomfort. We have seen hairball raise a kitty’s numbers.
 
I hope so, too. This all seemed a bit extreme. But I've been spoiled by Thos's nice, calm numbers of late.

We're back in the green, so maybe we'll have just this one bad cycle
 
Back
Top