Julie and Eleanor (GA)
Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-23-eleanor-am-101-i-dont-shoot-this-low-help.156674/
Sorry I didn't post this AM. Eleanor dropped into great numbers last night, but got long duration. I'm not going to shoot as low as she was (101) at PS. I have no idea what she is doing/will do with this higher dose thing that's going on, but she has been diabetic for 4 years and I know her history is if I shoot below 150 she will dive to -40. Because of my health I cannot stay up with her. So seems logical to me to try to avoid that situation, even though it may be better for her health to try to put her in lower numbers. I delayed 4 hours with a PS that initially tested at 232, then recheck 198.
Because I am following SLGS, I am reducing the dose if her BG falls below 90. Her BG was 84 last night so I reduced her dose back to 5units.
Will see what happens with that dose, I can always increase it again.
I hope I haven't harmed her by delaying and reducing. I know I'm not the best bean for
her but I am trying to do the best I can for her, which includes having a functioning bean
who isn't hospitalized with a huge Lupus flare brought on by exhaustion!!
Sorry I didn't post this AM. Eleanor dropped into great numbers last night, but got long duration. I'm not going to shoot as low as she was (101) at PS. I have no idea what she is doing/will do with this higher dose thing that's going on, but she has been diabetic for 4 years and I know her history is if I shoot below 150 she will dive to -40. Because of my health I cannot stay up with her. So seems logical to me to try to avoid that situation, even though it may be better for her health to try to put her in lower numbers. I delayed 4 hours with a PS that initially tested at 232, then recheck 198.
Because I am following SLGS, I am reducing the dose if her BG falls below 90. Her BG was 84 last night so I reduced her dose back to 5units.
Will see what happens with that dose, I can always increase it again.
I hope I haven't harmed her by delaying and reducing. I know I'm not the best bean for
her but I am trying to do the best I can for her, which includes having a functioning bean
who isn't hospitalized with a huge Lupus flare brought on by exhaustion!!
Last edited:
4 years after her diabetes diagnosis, she is still here and doing well. That says a lot.