4/25 Gizmo F AMPS 355, PMPS 265 +4 302

Status
Not open for further replies.

tobakett

Member Since 2018
Yesterdays post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-24-gizmo-f-amps-379-pmps-285-4-355.194603/

Well, lower then yesterdays AMPS, which is progress (i think) and the same reading as +4 last night so did not go up which is progress (i think). Also was able to do the testing again myself this morning, though he kept getting distracted by EVERYTHING so it took a bit longer. As a result, he got his breakfast, but I did not. Or my lunch. Gonna have to set my alarms even earlier it looks like for meeting days to prep lunch before the injection. Shot was early at 6:05 as I had an early staff meeting and had to be out the door at 6:15, left at 6:25 and got there with 2 mins to spare...cutting it close :(

He was eating well as I walked out the door. Evening shot might be an adventure since Whirlpool guy is coming out after 6 to fix our brand new washer that doesn't work, not sure how he is going to handle this with a stranger in the house.

Lets hope for yellows when I get home tonight :) And maybe a delivery from chewy!
 
PMPS 285...yeah buddy!

Made a very quick stop at Petsmart after work and picked up a bag of PureBites for bribes. Given how picky Gizmo can be I am just getting cat bags of each flavor to try at first and can spring for dog bags once I know he likes them..Chewy order probably won't be here until Friday according to tracking so I decided to just eat the upcharge for the sake of making this easier for him in the immediate. Also grabbed a few cans of Fancy Feast Classic just to try some of those too so I have a little more variety with him...the more I can switch him up, the better he eats, especially with pate style foods.

He did so good tonight. He LOVES the PureBites. Sat still for his blood test and didn't even get mad when I was a dummy and accidentally went through his ear :( Then of course the Whirlpool guy showed up just as we were going to do the shot and I figured we were done for since he is usually SUPER skittish about strangers in the house but we asked the guy if he could just give us 5 minutes to give our cat some medicine, turns out he has a cancer cat so he was more than happy to wait a minute and Gizmo even came out to greet him after..I think having these treats is going to make a world of difference in his demeanor (I hope)

Now let's see if he can stay yellow tonight *knocks on wood*
 
Freeze dried chicken is referred to as kitty crack here. :cool: They often work crumbled on top of food as an appetite stimulator.

Let's slide on down Gizmo.
 
Sounds like a good day for you both! If no one has mentioned it, most of us put a dab of neosporin (gel not cream) to help keep the ears from getting sore. He already forgives you for the poke through and we’ve all done it.
 
+4 302. Might have been slightly elevated since I had some trouble getting some blood, but directly comparing yesterdays numbers with today's it's a similar curve but lower numbers in general...so I think this is what's supposed to be happening? Would have liked to stay yellow but it's right on the border so we'll take it.

Little nervous that we haven't had any blues or greens yet and we are on day 4 (I thought 'bounce' was only supposed to last 3 days?)

No neosporin in the house yet but might pick some up Friday after work. I'm a little on the fence about it though since he grooms his ears/face a lot and his civvie sister licks his face and ears a lot so I am worried about them accidentally ingesting it. Google has been no help since I have found sources that say OMG IT WILL POISON THEM as well as it's no biggie unless you force feed them it. (Thanks, internet -.- )
 
Little nervous that we haven't had any blues or greens yet and we are on day 4 (I thought 'bounce' was only supposed to last 3 days?)
It took Neko months to see blues and greens. Have patience. Bounces generally don't last more than 3 days, but it's entirely possible the dose is too low and you'll have to increase. Most people have to increase quite a bit, some more than others. Cats vary wildly in how much insulin they need.

Wait the 7 days as per SLGS, do the curve and evaluate the dose to decide if that increase is needed.

As for the Neosporin, dab it on, then wipe off the excess after a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top