4/29 Max amps 322, pmps 150, +2.25 60, +3 52, +3.5 61, +4.5 64, +5.5 80

MindyC

Member Since 2019
I haven’t been home all day for any mid-cycle tests. Max was at 322 this morning before his shot. Now it’s shot time again and he’s only at 150. Do I shoot? I can stall a half hour, but that’s about it. I will be home all evening, but am not prepared to stay up all night.
 
TR protocol says shoot if 150 or greater.
Too bad there are no in between tests.
This is when you use logic, you know that Max usually bounces from reaching blue level and with the preshot #'s it is possible he even made green level.
Comparing Max's data there is a high probability his PM will be a bounce.
 
Thanks. Just checked again and he’s only at 152. Let’s keep our fingers crossed he holds a bit and doesn’t drop too low this cycle! :nailbiting: Feeding now and shooting.
 
We’re at 60 at +2.25. He ate at shot time and again about 1.5hrs later (second dinner). He’s happily curled on my lap right now but I’ll have to get up to put kids to bed in about 15 minutes. Test again at +3?
 
Definitely a big drop from preshot to +2.25, so I would certainly test again. Hopefully he'll level out and surf. It's definitely scary in the beginning, but I found I had to just shoot those lower numbers and find out for myself how Lou would react to them on these depot insulins. I think we just talked about it this weekend, but you're covered for high carb foods and honey or Karo just in case, right?
 
52 @ +3, sleeping on the couch...but he just squawked at my husband.

I do have honey and maple syrup. Might have some Karo somewhere in a cabinet. I have an open can in the fridge and a couple unopened cans of 14%, plus oodles of his normal 4-5%.
 
52 @ +3, sleeping on the couch...but he just squawked at my husband.

I do have honey and maple syrup. Might have some Karo somewhere in a cabinet. I have an open can in the fridge and a couple unopened cans of 14%, plus oodles of his normal 4-5%.
Awesome! It may not be a bad idea to give a tsp or so of 14% to help him coast a bit better. That 52 is hanging on the edge!
 
Oh, I was just responding to Amanda that I do have tools on hand. I haven’t broken out the MC yet, as I want to see if he surfs his way through or not. He usually does until +4 or so, them all bets are off. ;-)

For now I’m awake, and I can be a zombie at work tomorrow if needed. :D
 
Awesome! It may not be a bad idea to give a tsp or so of 14% to help him coast a bit better. That 52 is hanging on the edge!
So I should feed him now or see if he drops more? I kinda feel like I need to know if he can pull out of it, since I’ll be at work tomorrow and won’t get a test until probably +10. I’ll make sure to get a +2 before I go, tho.
 
So I should feed him now or see if he drops more? I kinda feel like I need to know if he can pull out of it, since I’ll be at work tomorrow and won’t get a test until probably +10. I’ll make sure to get a +2 before I go, tho.
It's not an awful idea to see where he goes, but it is low for it being so early in the cycle. Generally when they have these bigger drops in the beginning of a cycle, it can be helpful to give a tsp or so of a higher carb food (MC works well here) just to hopefully stop them from diving and even out so they can surf. Did you feed him at +3?
 
I would give just a little gravy out of the MC a teaspoon and see if Max moves a little higher from the edge.

Most all members that work leave food out because most cats will naturally be hungry and seek out food when they have lower #'s
 
It's not an awful idea to see where he goes, but it is low for it being so early in the cycle. Generally when they have these bigger drops in the beginning of a cycle, it can be helpful to give a tsp or so of a higher carb food (MC works well here) just to hopefully stop them from diving and even out so they can surf. Did you feed him at +3?
He ate at shot and +1.5 (shot was .5hrs late), which is the usual time on the timed feeder. He has not eaten since then. I will reset the feeder so the feedings are 2.5 hrs apart tomorrow. When I set them farther than that, Max has a tendency to sleep through the second one and then the other cat pigs out.
 
It's not an awful idea to see where he goes, but it is low for it being so early in the cycle. Generally when they have these bigger drops in the beginning of a cycle, it can be helpful to give a tsp or so of a higher carb food (MC works well here) just to hopefully stop them from diving and even out so they can surf. Did you feed him at +3?
Sorry Amanda,
I will take a back seat.
It can be so hectic plus I am posting what you are. Lol.
 
Sorry Amanda,
I will take a back seat.
It can be so hectic plus I am posting what you are. Lol.
No worries! Even with almost 2 years experience, I don't consider myself an expert. It's good to have someone with me making sure I'm not mucking things up for someone else. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

PS - I'm going to step away for 5-10 minutes. I'll be back in a bit!
 
TR protocol says shoot if 150 or greater.
Correction, the protocol says nothing about a no shoot number. We do not shoot below 50 as it's not safe to do so. The convention here is that the first time you get a preshot below 150, you stall, do not feed, and post for help. Which you did, so good job on that part. I note that you have shot a 122 before, though you reduced the dose.

Tonight looks like a bounce breaking cycle. Those can lead to rather more active cycles. Paws crossed you've managed to get him to surf now.
 
He is surfing. 61 @ +3.5. So...give him a little boost with some MC or let him surf a bit?
 
You could give a tsp or two of LC. At night, I always liked to see if they could surf on their own. Cause if they can, I could go to sleep earlier. If you give higher carbs, you have to wait a couple hours after those carbs wear off to see if they are surfing on their own. Always a tradeoff, cause you want to prevent them going too low as well.
 
Lol, I gave him some freeze dried salmon after the last test (he’s pretty docile and usually doesn’t require it with tests) and now I’m eating a chocolate easter bunny...he’s watching me like a hawk. I think I’ll give him some LC as a gesture of good will.
 
I will get a +4.5 in 10-15 minutes. In the meantime...

Do I continue with 1U tomorrow morning, hoping he won’t drop too low while I’m at work? This is the hard part about doing TR...knowing I can’t keep an eye on him for part of the day.
 
64 @ +4.5...so still surfing. Think he’s going to surf or do I need to keep an eye on him?
 
Thank you. I’m going to get ready for bed, and try to stay up until +5.5 (11:30 eastern). I’m getting sleepy...
 
Arighty, 80 @ +5.5. I think he might bounce, but probably not a lot. Heading to bed now (I’m getting the stink eye from him with every test, he’s old and needs his beauty rest!), and planning to give 1U in the morning unless someone says different. I will get a +2 before I leave for work, and he’ll get second breakfast at +2.5.

Thank you, Lora, Amanda, and Wendy for all your help and staying up with me!
 
Arighty, 80 @ +5.5. I think he might bounce, but probably not a lot. Heading to bed now (I’m getting the stink eye from him with every test, he’s old and needs his beauty rest!), and planning to give 1U in the morning unless someone says different. I will get a +2 before I leave for work, and he’ll get second breakfast at +2.5.

Thank you, Lora, Amanda, and Wendy for all your help and staying up with me!
Sounds great! I'm glad he's been surfing for so long! Sleep awesome Mindy!
 
Wow, I don’t have the guts for that yet! Someday I’m sure I will, but yikes!
Just a little side note pertaining to this.
It really didn't take a lot of guts for me to shoot 59 because I had quite a bit of SS data.
Bear's data had shown me over and over that he usually reacts strongly and at that point in time quickly to green level #'s by going into a large corresponding bounce.
Bear's self protection survival mechanism is extremely sensitive (hypoglycemia induced hyperglycemia/ Bouncing).

Speaking of data a very wise person recommended to me that I put Bear's data from lower events in the remarks on the SS, testing times +? and what I fed him MC ?%.
This collected data over time becomes invaluable as a guide to how Max reacts to carbs. :)

You are doing fantastic with Max, such a cool head! :D
 
Just a little side note pertaining to this.
It really didn't take a lot of guts for me to shoot 59 because I had quite a bit of SS data.
Bear's data had shown me over and over that he usually reacts strongly and at that point in time quickly to green level #'s by going into a large corresponding bounce.
Bear's self protection survival mechanism is extremely sensitive (hypoglycemia induced hyperglycemia/ Bouncing).

Speaking of data a very wise person recommended to me that I put Bear's data from lower events in the remarks on the SS, testing times +? and what I fed him MC ?%.
This collected data over time becomes invaluable as a guide to how Max reacts to carbs. :)

You are doing fantastic with Max, such a cool head! :D

Thanks, Lora! And yes, I figured for you to shoot a 59 you had good data to back it up. I just don't have enough to do that for Max yet, though I suspect I will at some point because I just am not getting the remission vibe this time. At this point in time my only goal is to get to a point where his curves are flatter and he bounces a lot less (i.e. he's more predictable and I don't have the be the sole shot-giver and reader of data). I do think that is a possibility, though it might take longer than my patience can handle. LOL.

I also think yesterday was one of those cycles where he nadired much later than usual, which is why he was lower at pmps and kept dropping after that. It was also just one of those days where I couldn't have been home. We'll definitely get it figure out eventually.
 
Back
Top