4/29 Rex AMPS 149, +4 98, +6 65, +8 43, +9 51, +10 44, +11 53, PMPS 54, +2 57, +3 61, +4 53, +5 68

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mandy & Rex (GA), Apr 29, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Yesterday

    I’m a little surprised to see 149. After yesterday, it feels high-ish. It makes me wonder if Rex did something after I went to bed. Lol
     
  2. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    he's looking normal....

    funny how we get when we get to see green....
    just great progress .... all that healing time yesterday.....
    he'll likely do some more today....
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) likes this.
  3. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    +4 98. Yay!
     
  4. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Not a bad start after yesterday's great PM cycle. And he's in the lagoon before nadir! :D
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) likes this.
  5. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Rex is looking good. :D
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) likes this.
  6. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    What the heck? 43 at +8. Feed LC or MC?
     
  7. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
  8. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    He responds well to food, you just want to steer him off those rocks...
     
  9. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Thanks. I didn't expect him to drop 20 points after +6.
     
  10. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Up Rex!!! What the heck? Good catch Momma, your Spidey senses today were awesome. If he doesn't come above 50 next test, I would hit him with a little MC. Congrats on the reduction. Tonight I would take him down to 2.50. He is proving me wrong! If he should bounce really high tonight from that 43, you could do what we call shooting through the bounce. That means to shoot the 2.75 dose one more time to help bring down the bounce numbers and then shoot the reduced dose of 2.5 in the AM. If you need guidance at PM time, change your thread with a ? mark.
     
  11. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Thanks! I didn't see this until I was ready to do a +9 test. He barely cleared a 51. Ok for now?
     
  12. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Sorry I was off. I would test again now and see if he is holding without any more food. It is later in the cycle but, we know that Rex is a tricky boy!
     
  13. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    If he doesn't zoom up in a bounce then take the reduction at the PM cycle.
     
  14. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Congrats on the reduction. Rex is looking really good. :D Often we can get away with less carbs later in the cycle when the insulin is fading. You could give a tsp or two of LC to try to keep him surfing in safer waters.
     
  15. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    He didn't hold! 44! Why?! He really wants to go back to 2.5u.
     
  16. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Give him some MC to bring him up. And it looks like you will be shooting the reduced dose tonight unless he starts to zoom up.
     
  17. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I don't think he will shoot up. Lol. I decided to do LC since it's only 2 hours until PMPS. He rose between +10 and PMPS yesterday.
     
  18. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    It can be useful to have some little bit higher LC, like 8 or 9% around for situations like today.
     
  19. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Hmm, ok. I guess I get to go cat food shopping again. I got a few cans of 17% and 25% yesterday. I didn't think about getting like a 9%.
     
  20. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    In a pinch you can always add a little honey to LC food.
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) likes this.
  21. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Mix LC and the 17% to get down to 9%! :)
     
  22. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Why didn't I think of that? :facepalm:
     
  23. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
  24. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  25. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    +11 and only 53. It will be interesting to see what the PMPS will be.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  26. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Chances are if he is still lower at PMPS that he will bounce. But, I am not predicting anything else with Mr. Trickster. Can you monitor tonight if you shoot a lower number?
     
  27. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    PMPS 54! Shooting 2.5 and mentally preparing myself for a long night!
     
  28. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
  29. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Remember, shot low to stay low and there is a good possibility that he will start a bounce but that said, glad you can monitor. And these are for you. You might have been awarded them once for you first green pre shot but I think you deserve another pair. ;) I am going out to dinner and will check back on you and Rex.

    upload_2017-4-29_18-57-49.png
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) likes this.
  30. MJW

    MJW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Great chart Rex!
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) likes this.
  31. Adrian and Chino

    Adrian and Chino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Looks like Rex is determined to earn more reductions! While it might not be fun to deal with, it's exciting to watch the need for insulin go down. You are doing a great job of steering his BG with food.
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) likes this.
  32. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Thank you! It's exhausting :nailbiting:, but it's rewarding! :)
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  33. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Just got home. Saw the +57 at +2. Rex is on mission. Can you stay with him through nadir if he continues to surf this low? This is so darn exciting to see !!
     
  34. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I just changed the title 30 seconds before you commented. :cat:

    I'm scared to see what Rex does the rest of the night! The family is going to watch a movie and relax. After the last 2 morning cycles where he kept dropping through +10, I don't know what he has in store tonight. o_O
     
  35. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I remember how excited I was when Bubba started to earn reductions and kept earning them. It is very encouraging and tiring at the same time. But, I kept my eye on the goal. It's harder for you because you work outside the home. I take care of my 89 year old mom but, could grab a nap when I could. That said, when you need a break you take it. So far, you are a real sport! My hat goes off to you. :cat: Where is the hat icon????
     
  36. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Like you, I'm keeping my eye on the goal. I had read that cats have the best chance at the r-word if regulation happens within the first 6 months of diagnosis.

    How often do you think I should check Rex tonight?
     
  37. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015

    Because his + number was basically the same as PMBG, assume that this could be an active cycle. And because he is so close to being the start of a hypo number ( 50) I would test again at +3 and go from there. If you haven't all ready, I would give some higher low carb food now because it is early in the cycle for a number to still be this low. Onset hasn't even occurred yet. Remember what Lyresa said about making some higher LC food, adding a bit of HC to the LC
    If he is starting to rise, you can relax and test hourly through nadir if he is still hanging low. Let your meter guide you.
     
  38. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    All right. I'll mix the MC with the LC and go from there. I don't know if Rex is even hungry. We ate next door at our neighbor's house so I left food down since the dog (drooler?) came with us. When I got home an hour and half later, food was still left.
     
  39. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    He has had quite the buffet today. Hopefully he will eat if you need him too.
     
  40. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I decided to wait the 10 minutes and test. I got 61! He's rising.
     
  41. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Okay good, was that with some food since PMPS?
     
  42. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    No food since dinner. All the cats are in a food-induced stupor right now.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  43. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Since +3 is around onset, the next test will be telling as to whether you should offer a bit more LC food ( or higher LC food ) if he is dropping.

    I will keep fingers and paws crossed that he surfs through the night. I am signing off to get mom to bed and hit the hay myself. You know what to do if he starts to drop again. Tomorrow morning I will peek at how he did.
     
  44. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Looks like he surfed for you! :)
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) likes this.
  45. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Overall, today was pretty quiet even though Rex earned his second reduction in 3 days. Or maybe I learned what to do after the first time.
     
  46. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    He is determined :cat:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page