
WOW Olive! Great to see these numbers but you do pick some not-so-convenient times for them!
something does appear to have clicked with her of late.@Beenie (GA) and @Gill & George thanks for your insight. It's the large depot that concerns me also. Even if I would be home I would have been leary to give that much. I know shoot low to stay low and if it was only a couple of units I'd have no problem with that. But she seems to be coming down the dosing ladder pretty good. Which is great but still.......... her ears will have a break today and I won't worry while driving my dad to his appt.

Yes they sure do!Don't they always know when it's inconvenient.
When you're able to monitor shoot but get your +1 & +2's in for a while to get more comfortable and intervene early if needed. 


Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein? They'll send kibble samples if you ask.The complexity of Olive's issues are beyond me afraid, so I cannot offer advice. I was checking on her though because I wanted to know if she is improving on the Lev.
My Mabel is back on insulin w bg in 200s daily so I am giving her .5 u Lev x1 daily. I am most concerned now with finding lower carb kibble because I suspect the Orijen Fit & Trim, which is 16% carb, which is a supplement to wet food I feed x2 daily. She still prefers kibble, and unfortunately there is so little that is appropriate. I know about Epigen and Epigen 90 and the whole Wysong line (though Wysong mistakenly first sent all the wrong samples, had to be reminded to let me know when their nutritional analysis info update was posted, couldn't provide me with names of retailers in Minnesota that carry their canned food, wouldn't send samples of it, and were generally, I thought, snooty). Young Again is out because I've had two bad bags, the first of which was moldy, the second which made both my cats very very ill. I'm not sure where to turn for other low carb kibble. I will post this elsewhere on the forum, too.
That's right. I got that sample and it didn't go over well at all. I'm going to look back in my notes to find out why that didn't work. Thanks for bringing that up and reminding me. Speaking of Dr. Elsey's though, we are now using their Respiratory Relief litter, and having been through a lot of litters, I am finding it less dusty. It tracks though.Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein? They'll send kibble samples if you ask.
And it's snowing, not just a flurry either[/QUOTE
That sucks!
The complexity of Olive's issues are beyond me afraid, so I cannot offer advice. I was checking on her though because I wanted to know if she is improving on the Lev.
My Mabel is back on insulin w bg in 200s daily so I am giving her .5 u Lev x1 daily. I am most concerned now with finding lower carb kibble because I suspect the Orijen Fit & Trim, which is 16% carb, which is a supplement to wet food I feed x2 daily. She still prefers kibble, and unfortunately there is so little that is appropriate. I know about Epigen and Epigen 90 and the whole Wysong line (though Wysong mistakenly first sent all the wrong samples, had to be reminded to let me know when their nutritional analysis info update was posted, couldn't provide me with names of retailers in Minnesota that carry their canned food, wouldn't send samples of it, and were generally, I thought, snooty). Young Again is out because I've had two bad bags, the first of which was moldy, the second which made both my cats very very ill. I'm not sure where to turn for other low carb kibble. I will post this elsewhere on the forum, too.
I am really glad to hear Olive has been doing better on the Lev. I hoped so. You know I went through Prozinc and Lantus before Mabel stabilized on Lev, and also it didn't sting like Lantus. Lev is both more gradual and longer acting in Mabel. I think I could not give it more than once daily now without risk of a hypo event. She's been back on for about a week and I've been hoping it's temporary (food or other variable I can fix) so while I have been taking blood sugar regularly I haven't been looking at the whole picture since she's back on. I need to do a curve next if this is going to be a regular thing.
It's good you bring this up. I need to study these recent readings and the timing. I've just been coping recently because a favorite dog I took care of often has died. That, and other stuff, as always.Would .25 units twice a day be better than 1 dose once a day.
With high dose kitties, especially those who have been visiting the deep end of the lagoon (30's), a one time half dose can do a lot to help drain the overly large depot. That was too much for me, and I ended up with a 2/3 dose for Neko, but that's something you'll have to experiment with to see what works for Olive.I know next time to give at least a half dose. I will shoot a bit early tonight.
She will get back on trackOlive has been doing good on the levemir. I just hope I didn't mess it up by skipping this morning.
And that brings the question of the bodies safety net of releasing glycogen when glucose gets to low. If it actually did that we wouldn't have to use the syrup or gravy to get the glucose up.
I think the body has its own safety net and the liver dumping glucose back into their systems to combat a hypo situation is in place but sometimes its all used up or doesn't have enough which is when a hypo becomes deadly. More importantly I think when they go too low we try to "steer" not necessarily raise their BG's from lets say 35 to 100. We get them to 50+ and try and get them to surf and eventually do it naturally. Its a way of getting the body used to the safe lows and not bounce sky high. I'm sure many of our kitties have gone too low without our knowledge at one point or another and luckily they have that safety net. When we do "catch" those lows we're are certainly keeping them safe but just want to bring them up just enough to coast along in dark greens