4/30/18 Olive AMPS 112 NS; +4.5=296; +8.5=385; PMPS 413; +3=338; +6=250

Status
Not open for further replies.

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Do i shoot the 112 with 7.75 u? Only home until +5 then out until at least +9. Shot is do now. She will spike +2. Normally doesn't nadir late but might have last night or went quite low overnight to only have this AMPS.

Did not eat +8 last night and only 1/2 breakfast.
 
Last edited:
Since you can’t be there to monitor and she’s not eating her fudz I would skip or give a token dose. I’m trying to review her SS on my phone and its hard to see the big picture but it looks like she dropped into the 30’s between +5 and +9 a few days ago.
Better to be safe in my opinion.

ETA-this is also new territory for Olive, blues and greens, so there’s not enough data to say what you’re little peanut will do:bighug:
 
As @Beenie (GA) has already note, her low points are between +5-+9 and if she won't reliably eat it does seem a little risky.

You could retest and see if she's bumped herself up and just make sure that she eats plenty (if this is possible) before you have to leave, so she has plenty of carbs on board.

That said, the previous dose dropped her into the 30's, and last night/this mornings numbers could be influenced by the depot of that larger dose. With the larger doses if the depot gets over full it can take sometime to empty and could even influence her a bit further. I have often seen higher dose kitties recover quite well from a skip (again the larger depot helps with this)
In the interest of safety as you cannot be there during her usual nadir, nor can you be sure that she will eat, skipping is a reasonable choice.

I
 
@Beenie (GA) and @Gill & George thanks for your insight. It's the large depot that concerns me also. Even if I would be home I would have been leary to give that much. I know shoot low to stay low and if it was only a couple of units I'd have no problem with that. But she seems to be coming down the dosing ladder pretty good. Which is great but still.......... her ears will have a break today and I won't worry while driving my dad to his appt.
 
So
@Beenie (GA) and @Gill & George thanks for your insight. It's the large depot that concerns me also. Even if I would be home I would have been leary to give that much. I know shoot low to stay low and if it was only a couple of units I'd have no problem with that. But she seems to be coming down the dosing ladder pretty good. Which is great but still.......... her ears will have a break today and I won't worry while driving my dad to his appt.
something does appear to have clicked with her of late.

I think if you had been staying home and were able to monitor, then you could have shot the full dose. Though I can see why that would make you nervous, given her recent patterns.

paws crossed she recovers from the skipped shot quickly :bighug:
 
Our kitties have the worst timing. I think skipping under the circumstances was a good call. Olive will get back on track.
 
Weighed all kitties. Each has gained a few ounces. Olive gained a whole pound in 14 days. Someone is going on a diet.

And it's snowing, not just a flurry either. No accumulation is expected though.
 
Well :eek: I check on Olive with my first cup of coffee but you're 3 hrs ahead of me. Glad Michelle and Gill were around to help:) Since you won't be home, skipping is a good choice or if next time you can stall an hour to see if she jumps up. However with her recent activities the NS today will help drain the depot a bit more and better to keep her safe and no worry for you while your out.

Shooting lower numbers with higher doses is going to challenge your nerves. Just wanted to note you did shoot a 130 on PMPS of 4/21 at 8.5u :woot: When you're able to monitor shoot but get your +1 & +2's in for a while to get more comfortable and intervene early if needed. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The complexity of Olive's issues are beyond me afraid, so I cannot offer advice. I was checking on her though because I wanted to know if she is improving on the Lev.

My Mabel is back on insulin w bg in 200s daily so I am giving her .5 u Lev x1 daily. I am most concerned now with finding lower carb kibble because I suspect the Orijen Fit & Trim, which is 16% carb, which is a supplement to wet food I feed x2 daily. She still prefers kibble, and unfortunately there is so little that is appropriate. I know about Epigen and Epigen 90 and the whole Wysong line (though Wysong mistakenly first sent all the wrong samples, had to be reminded to let me know when their nutritional analysis info update was posted, couldn't provide me with names of retailers in Minnesota that carry their canned food, wouldn't send samples of it, and were generally, I thought, snooty). Young Again is out because I've had two bad bags, the first of which was moldy, the second which made both my cats very very ill. I'm not sure where to turn for other low carb kibble. I will post this elsewhere on the forum, too.
 
The complexity of Olive's issues are beyond me afraid, so I cannot offer advice. I was checking on her though because I wanted to know if she is improving on the Lev.

My Mabel is back on insulin w bg in 200s daily so I am giving her .5 u Lev x1 daily. I am most concerned now with finding lower carb kibble because I suspect the Orijen Fit & Trim, which is 16% carb, which is a supplement to wet food I feed x2 daily. She still prefers kibble, and unfortunately there is so little that is appropriate. I know about Epigen and Epigen 90 and the whole Wysong line (though Wysong mistakenly first sent all the wrong samples, had to be reminded to let me know when their nutritional analysis info update was posted, couldn't provide me with names of retailers in Minnesota that carry their canned food, wouldn't send samples of it, and were generally, I thought, snooty). Young Again is out because I've had two bad bags, the first of which was moldy, the second which made both my cats very very ill. I'm not sure where to turn for other low carb kibble. I will post this elsewhere on the forum, too.
Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein? They'll send kibble samples if you ask.
 
Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein? They'll send kibble samples if you ask.
That's right. I got that sample and it didn't go over well at all. I'm going to look back in my notes to find out why that didn't work. Thanks for bringing that up and reminding me. Speaking of Dr. Elsey's though, we are now using their Respiratory Relief litter, and having been through a lot of litters, I am finding it less dusty. It tracks though.
 
The complexity of Olive's issues are beyond me afraid, so I cannot offer advice. I was checking on her though because I wanted to know if she is improving on the Lev.

My Mabel is back on insulin w bg in 200s daily so I am giving her .5 u Lev x1 daily. I am most concerned now with finding lower carb kibble because I suspect the Orijen Fit & Trim, which is 16% carb, which is a supplement to wet food I feed x2 daily. She still prefers kibble, and unfortunately there is so little that is appropriate. I know about Epigen and Epigen 90 and the whole Wysong line (though Wysong mistakenly first sent all the wrong samples, had to be reminded to let me know when their nutritional analysis info update was posted, couldn't provide me with names of retailers in Minnesota that carry their canned food, wouldn't send samples of it, and were generally, I thought, snooty). Young Again is out because I've had two bad bags, the first of which was moldy, the second which made both my cats very very ill. I'm not sure where to turn for other low carb kibble. I will post this elsewhere on the forum, too.

Dr Elseys clean protein has 2 flavors I think. So maybe try both. If you can switch to the clean protein brand you might be able to get Mabel OTJ as she isn't that high with the dry food you are giving. Wondering why insulin only once a day though.

Olive has been doing good on the levemir. I just hope I didn't mess it up by skipping this morning.
 
I am really glad to hear Olive has been doing better on the Lev. I hoped so. You know I went through Prozinc and Lantus before Mabel stabilized on Lev, and also it didn't sting like Lantus. Lev is both more gradual and longer acting in Mabel. I think I could not give it more than once daily now without risk of a hypo event. She's been back on for about a week and I've been hoping it's temporary (food or other variable I can fix) so while I have been taking blood sugar regularly I haven't been looking at the whole picture since she's back on. I need to do a curve next if this is going to be a regular thing.
 
I am really glad to hear Olive has been doing better on the Lev. I hoped so. You know I went through Prozinc and Lantus before Mabel stabilized on Lev, and also it didn't sting like Lantus. Lev is both more gradual and longer acting in Mabel. I think I could not give it more than once daily now without risk of a hypo event. She's been back on for about a week and I've been hoping it's temporary (food or other variable I can fix) so while I have been taking blood sugar regularly I haven't been looking at the whole picture since she's back on. I need to do a curve next if this is going to be a regular thing.

Would .25 units twice a day be better than 1 dose once a day.
 
I know next time to give at least a half dose. I will shoot a bit early tonight.

I never understood the depot part. You would think the depot would fill in for fur shots or smaller than normal doses so kitty would basically get the same dose. So what's the point of the depot if it just sits there getting larger and larger until the dam breaks.

And that brings the question of the bodies safety net of releasing glycogen when glucose gets to low. If it actually did that we wouldn't have to use the syrup or gravy to get the glucose up.
 
Would .25 units twice a day be better than 1 dose once a day.
It's good you bring this up. I need to study these recent readings and the timing. I've just been coping recently because a favorite dog I took care of often has died. That, and other stuff, as always.

The dose I've had Mabel on now has been very low, but with Lev it never took much in the past either. This time I reintroduced the Lev at .25 and depending on the reading have not been giving a full .5. These are of course very small doses; I have half unit markings, but still. Thinking back though, a year ago when she was on Lev I rarely dosed x2 daily because the duration was never an even 12 hours. It was always slower to act and longer lasting than the other insulin. That was stabilizing but it was challenging in terms of timing the doses. I based timing the doses on the curve.

Emmy, Mabel & Ady
 
I know next time to give at least a half dose. I will shoot a bit early tonight.
With high dose kitties, especially those who have been visiting the deep end of the lagoon (30's), a one time half dose can do a lot to help drain the overly large depot. That was too much for me, and I ended up with a 2/3 dose for Neko, but that's something you'll have to experiment with to see what works for Olive.

With Levemir kitties, you also have to get used to shooting lower, provided you can monitor. Stalling 15-20 minutes to see if she's on the rise might help you next time get a lower number than you are used to. Neko often nadired at +12, so she forced me to learn to shoot green. Shooting a dropping number is also OK, especially if you have a good idea how much the meal will bump them up. Getting a few +1's might help gather that data.
 
Olive has been doing good on the levemir. I just hope I didn't mess it up by skipping this morning.
She will get back on track;). If you were going to be home all day I would've said shoot the full dose.
And that brings the question of the bodies safety net of releasing glycogen when glucose gets to low. If it actually did that we wouldn't have to use the syrup or gravy to get the glucose up.
:bookworm: I think the body has its own safety net and the liver dumping glucose back into their systems to combat a hypo situation is in place but sometimes its all used up or doesn't have enough which is when a hypo becomes deadly. More importantly I think when they go too low we try to "steer" not necessarily raise their BG's from lets say 35 to 100. We get them to 50+ and try and get them to surf and eventually do it naturally. Its a way of getting the body used to the safe lows and not bounce sky high. I'm sure many of our kitties have gone too low without our knowledge at one point or another and luckily they have that safety net. When we do "catch" those lows we're are certainly keeping them safe but just want to bring them up just enough to coast along in dark greens:D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top