4/5. TiTi -From 21BG to 567BG.

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Kathy and TiTi, Apr 5, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-at-pmps-from-5-5u-to-5u.193601/#post-2163839
    My last strip was at her normal AMPS, so even tho' it read 21 BG:D:eek::nailbiting: could not retest. Gave TiTi probably too much honey, but I needed it to last 2+hours. Nearest Rx was 30 miles away, half on country roads. I got to the Rx, raced in, got the strips. Car wouldn't start. Got a jump and raced home. TiTi was at a hard to believe 567BG:eek::eek::eek:. Rather than skip her shot, I gave it 3 hours late. I think she might dive, so keeping a close eye on her.:banghead::banghead::banghead:
     
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yikes! I see Titi gave you a 51 during the day yesterday. Who knows how much lower she went during the day or night. I might be tempted to skip tonight, or give a MUCH lower dose. That 5.5 unit depot is way too much. Since Titi's dose is on a downward trend, I would be very cautious now. Especially with limited strips.

    For the spreadsheet, a suggestion on how to show the delay. In the AMPS cell, put 21@+12, 567@+15. Then you can put the dose is the usual spot and we know you did a delay of three hours. In the Remarks you can comment about dumping honey on her. I would defintely test again soon, to see what happens when the honey wears off.
     
  3. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Lots of notes are in there. Time to retest.
    I'll fix the SS sheet soonest.
     
  4. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    She's heading down fast. 468@+1 . Fed her and she's eating just fine.
    Should I retest in an hour or sooner?
     
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    An hour should be fine. She's still pretty high. Glad you fed her.
     
  6. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Yes. I now have 200 strips, so whew! And I updated my SS. Thanks for the help!
    I don't understand why she's behaving absolutely fine thru all this. I'm very grateful, but so puzzled. :confused:
     
  7. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    It's possible you got a wonky first test for that 21. If you don't have enough blood it can read low. But hard to say. She has been going lower so it could have been right. I might still take her dose down to 4.5 units. That 21 is just too low! No more of that Titi, OK? :eek:
     
  8. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Yes, please listen to you FDMB Auntie Wendy, TiTi!:eek:

    It was a teeny weeny bit of blood, and it was sipped in slower than usual. But yea, 4.5 sounds best unless there's a drastic change upward today.
    I'll be testing hourly until at least +5-+6 her usual nadir time. And really, gee, midnight is her new PMPS, unless - can I take it down by 30 minutes tonight? I think we're allowed to reduce the time in 30 minute intervals once a day, or 15 minute intervals 2 times a day. Right?
     
  9. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Yikes TiTi! Your trip to get more strips were way too stressful!

    Hope she clears the bounce fast.
     
    Kathy and TiTi likes this.
  10. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Yikes! If the 21 was right, at least the black number shows you the honey did the trick. I'm sure you were panic stricken the entire way to and from the pharmacy. :bighug: What rotten timing to run out of strips (I panic when I'm down to 100 :rolleyes:). I hope the bounce settles fast and you can find a dose that TiTi behaves with. ;)
     
  11. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

    For you and your beat up heart from today's events.
     
    Kathy and TiTi likes this.
  12. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Yikes on the 21. I'm glad you were able to get more strips. I hope TiTi comes back down slowly for you and surfs safely.
     
    Kathy and TiTi likes this.
  13. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Stay safe Titi and no more 20s. Yikes!
    :bighug:
     
    Kathy and TiTi likes this.
  14. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    I was panicky, and then after I bought 200 strips at the drugstore, I ran out, junped into my car, turned the key on, and it whined weakly and died.Fortunately a guy in a truck that was right beside me jumped my car.
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  15. Susan&Felix(GA)

    Susan&Felix(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    There seems to be a consensus: yikes!
     
    Kathy and TiTi likes this.
  16. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Right....so you could shoot tonight at 11:30 if she's high enough
     
    Kathy and TiTi likes this.
  17. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    All seems an echo of my own muffled scream when I read the meter..
     
    Susan&Felix(GA) likes this.
  18. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Thanks!
     
  19. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Well she's stabilizing in the mid yellows, so I wish I'd used less honey. But I had to get strips, and she had to climb high enough and stay there for the 2-3 hours I needed to get the strips.
     
  20. Kathy and TiTi

    Kathy and TiTi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    She's safe in mid yellows, so , well, what can ya' do?
     
  21. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Better than to low when you went for strips. She will come back down soon. :bighug:
     
    Kathy and TiTi likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page