4/7 Moe: shot 2.0;+1=237;+3=182;+7=155;+10=366; PMPS=429

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Erin and Moe (GA), Apr 7, 2020.

  1. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Hey everyone! Moe’s AMPS is 169. Blue!! I am thrilled, but I don’t know what dose to give for his AM shot. I just increased yesterday to 3.5 units. He’s been pink and red for weeks, had a yellow last night at PM+4, and now this blue number. I have to go to work in a few hours so won’t be able to monitor him as he drops toward nadir.

    He ate a few bites and walked away, so appetite is meh.

    Advise please! What dose should I give?

    Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...369-9-338-pmps-360-4-292.227965/#post-2553445
     
  2. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Will he eat food during the day if you leave it out for him and you're not there? It's tricky because he could bounce today or keep going down.
     
  4. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Typically not. I’m here for a couple of hours still, so I don’t have to shoot right away. Normally I shoot at 5:30 but I can stall a while. Husband is home, but doesn’t know how to do any of this diabetes stuff.
     
  5. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    I just carried his bowl to him and he’s eating a little more now.
     
  6. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    If you were going to be able to monitor, I'd say shoot the full dose, but you don't have data on what he'll do with a blue start right now. It may be best to stall and get another test in. Can you DH try to feed him later if you need him to?
     
    Erin and Moe (GA) likes this.
  7. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I didn't realize you already fed him. That will affect his numbers. We normally don't feed when we stall. I'd try going back to 3 units for today and ask your DH to feed him later if needed based on any other tests you are able to get before you leave. Remember they will be food influenced.
     
  8. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Yes, he can try. Apparently I am The Only Bringer Of Food, so Moe tends to ignore DH unless it’s treats. :)
    I’ll stall for a bit and test at 6:30 (about 45 minutes).
     
  9. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Yes, I saw that in someone else’s post a few minutes ago. Didn’t know....
     
  10. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    LOL. Silly cat.

    Don't worry about it. Now you know. The next tests you get will still give you some idea of whether DH should try to feed him. They'll just be a little higher because of the food. Just keep that in mind.
     
    Erin and Moe (GA) likes this.
  11. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Now 184 at 6:30 am, what would have been +1. I still haven’t given him his shot.

    edited to add, he’s eaten about an ounce of Friskies poultry platter between 5:00 am and 6:30 am.
     
  12. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    That's pretty flat. He could go down today or stay flat. Since you can't monitor all day, you can either skip or shoot a reduced dose and ask DH to try and feed him. If you shoot a reduced dose I'd try 2.75 or 3.0 units, but the depot could still affect the numbers today. If you skip, you'll get another chance to shoot a blue PS number when you can monitor all day.
     
    Erin and Moe (GA) likes this.
  13. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    I was thinking of shooting 2.0 and coming home at lunch to do a test.
     
  14. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    That is fine.
     
  15. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    205 at 7:30 am. I’m going to shoot 2.0.
    How do I do the spreadsheet though? How do I indicate the late shot ?
     
  16. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    BG at what is normally +2 was 205. Shot 2.0u two hours later than usual. I’m going to come home and test in four hours. Having DH keep an eye on Moe while I’m gone and keep food available for him this morning.

    Not sure how to indicate stalling tests and later shot time on the spreadsheet.
     
  17. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    @carfurby Thank you so much for staying with me and guiding me this morning!
     
  18. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
  19. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad I was around to help. Moe should be fine today.
     
    Erin and Moe (GA) likes this.
  20. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    182 at +4.
    Wondering now what to shoot this evening
     
  21. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
  22. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Big jump between +7 and +10. Moe ate about an ounce of Friskies at +7. His shot is due in two hours.

    What dose should I give? 3.0 units, 3.5 units?
    @Wendy&Neko
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2020
  23. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    PMPS =429. Shooting 3.5
     
  24. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Glad you went back to 3.5 units. Although the blues were lovely and a sight for sore eyes, :cool: he hasn't earned a reduction yet.
     
    Erin and Moe (GA) likes this.
  25. Erin and Moe (GA)

    Erin and Moe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Question: if Moe goes into the blues again, should I go ahead and shoot 3.5? He just dropped so fast, it seemed dangerous to shoot that this morning when I couldn’t be here to test.
     
  26. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Depends if you are around to monitor. A reduced dose was fine and allows you to gather data.
     
    Erin and Moe (GA) likes this.

Share This Page