4.8.15 Zoey amps 340 Lowest: +6.80 36 / +9 117 / pmps 234 + 4.75 184

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Member Since 2015
Guess what day it is? ... Happy Hump Day!

Zoey is tracking lizards and jumping on the low couch without the assistance of her stools. Still acts like she's always starving though and the petechia is still present. Started her on milk thistle last night for liver/pancreas support. (2000 mg per 2 ml -- 1 drop only per day ... vetinfo.com) Will see if it has any affect on her petechia. Will go back to vet this weekend if not.

Yesterday
 
Whatya doin' Zoey? Surfing is much more fun than diving.:D

Looks like she's clearing bounces faster too.:)
 
She should be named Tigger ... up and down, up and down. :cat: She's at +57 after her snack. I'll check her in 30. :D
 
+5.5 53 .. fed another lc snack. her normal feeding is in 1/2 hour and her two lc snacks have been that feeding amount split in half. my thought/plan is to continue to monitor her every half hour and only feed her small portions of lc food as long as she's hanging in the low numbers.
 
okay... not panicked. fed her a normal feeding of 1/8 c so it should bring her back up into the 50s, at least -- usually good for 12 points or more. I will check her in 20. if it's still low, i'll let her lick some hc food. will check back in a few in case i'm not on the right path.

@Wendy&Neko
@julie & punkin (ga)
 
Last edited:
Okay..... now just a little panicky but I think it's good. She's @38 ... fed her a tablespoon of HIGH CARB friskies mixed grill and some gravy. will check in 20 minutes.
 
Last edited:
It's the day for it - Rosa just pulled a 48 on me minutes before I'm meant to leave for work (I should have gone by now). As long as you've given hc and keep testing she'll be fine. If she's still in the 30s when you next test then add a drop of karo or honey to her next spoonful of hc for an extra boost.
 
Oh, thanks, April @manxcat419 ! Reassurance is great. Sure do hope Rosa starts heading back up for you so you can leave with peace of mind. Hard to juggle it all some days, huh?
 
Hi Rose! This is the morning for low numbers! Glad to see you're not panicking ;)

Last time Noodle was in the 30s, I had to resort to Karo for the first time. Try that if she hasn't risen over 50 by your next test.

ETA: I personally think your food plan is good. When Noodle has gone low, she just gets extra food for the day if necessary in the process of bringing her back up.
 
No problem - glad I spotted your post while I was waiting to test Rosa again. Hopefully both she and Zoey will head in the right direction now and we'll be able to relax a bit for the rest of the day! And yes, the juggling is a little crazy right now but overall I can't be anything but happy with Rosa this morning even if it does get me in trouble at work!! ;)
 
Nice surf until she got to 42. I guess that means a dosecrease tonight. Congratulations on the reduction. Hope she comes back up for you a bit so you can give your nerves a break.
 
okay... (deep breath) 36 at 12:20 (that's a bit over 6.75 and 20 minutes since the last check) ... a drop of two. I gave her some LC food and a drop of karo. Will check in 20 minutes.
 
If you have HC with gravy I think you should give her some of that. Mostly gravy with just a little tiny bit of the actual food.
 
well you have nothing to prove now..... remember karo wears off quickly.
You want to get her back above 50.... 70's are good.
You can give her some high carb gravy....
 
okay... (deep breath) 36 at 12:20 (that's a bit over 6.75 and 20 minutes since the last check) ... a drop of two. I gave her some LC food and a drop of karo. Will check in 20 minutes.
I also found with Noodle testing more often than every 30 minutes wasn't very useful. It takes 30 minutes for the carbs to hit her system. Why not add a little HC food to the mix too to get her up? You want her out of the 30s.
 
You should continue to test every 20-30 minutes and giving a little bit of HC until she is over 50 and surfing.
 
@Tina & Sammy @Patricia & Noodle I gave her HC food about 20 minutes ago (right before this past feed) ... my thought was that since I was adding the karo that she might all of a sudden shoot up with back to back HC. you think I should give her more or wait another 20 and then decide?
 
go ahead and add it.... you've already earned a reduction.

but it does take 30 minutes for it to kick in.... so test each 30 minutes.... until you are above 50....
 
I don't have much experience with Karo, but with her surfing under 40 I would say add the Karo to the HC. But yes the Karo would probably cause her to spike and then drop quickly afterwards, but if you give HC gravy and a bit of the HC food the gravy will bring her up quickly and the HC food will keep her up longer.
 
Congrats on the reduction. How is Zoey acting?

I've used a drop or two of karo in the 30's. As for testing, cats take 20-30 minutes for the carbs to go from the plate to the blood stream.
 
Okay. Safe 58 at a little over +7.25 .. 30 minutes since last check. Going to go refresh about dose reduction. 30s BG is .50 reduction? going by memory here... why i need to refresh. Of course, I'll wait until I have assurances from all.

I'll check her in another 30 to make sure she's not dropping back down again from just the HC burn off.
 
Just came back to correct it to .25 reduction. I will feed her a bit more LC in an effort to help her coast.
 
You can wait for an hour to test the next one. If she's rising you are probably good for the cycle.

She's spent an awesome amount of time in green today. :D Great job Rose!
 
Well done Rose! :D You did everything right this morning and now Zoey's back into higher numbers it's time to relax for a bit! Congratulations on the reduction and sorry I couldn't stick around for long this morning but I could see you were in good hands and getting plenty of advice by the time I had to run out the door. :)
 
Thank you, Wendy and April! Zoey did the work ... I just hovered. :)

April, Glad things went well with Rosa and work today. Thank you again for the words of encouragement -- helped us stand a little taller today. :)

Did the dose decrease by .25. I will begin checking her around +3 to see if there's any hint at what's ahead.

Thank you all and hope you have great nights!
 
Good luck with Zoey and the decrease tonight. :) Unless she throws an unexpected high number from the carbs she got today, Rosa gets to start her trial after that 48 this morning, but I'll still be about for a lot of the evening so just tag me if you need help. :)
 
wow Rose and Zoey! what a day for you!! Congratulations on handling it so well and staying cool Rose, and go Zoey, work that reduction!! and while you're at it, please instruct Oren on how to start clearing those bounces quicker (tho i could do w/o 30-40 spells!)
 
At +1 she was 369 ... she's at +4.75 and she's 184. I can hardly keep my eyes open so I'll grab some sleep and check on her a little later. She's got another feeding in an hour (dh) so I'm sure she'll be good to go (no 30s tonight) until I get up at 2:30 to test and feed. At least that's the plan.

Hope you all have a wonderful night!
 
It looks like she might have had a bit of a bounce for a few hours there Rose. As she's coming back down, it's most likely clearing but I'd go ahead and get some sleep and check back in on her later. Your 2:30 is 11:30 pm for me so I should still be awake if you have any concerns then.

I hope you get a good sleep. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top