? 4/8 Elizabeth AMPS 126, +9 42/98/101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicki

Member Since 2015
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-amps-111-6-110-pmps-114.135819/#post-1400590

Hoping for more of the same with Liz.

I will probably be out of town Friday evening, so trying to figure out if it's better to skip Friday PM and Saturday AM shot, or if I should try a different schedule and give a late AM shot on Friday before I leave (I will probably leave by noon or early afternoon), and then another when I return on Saturday which will probably be late afternoon or evening. Any advice?

Thanks!!
 
I don't give dosing advice. It's good that you posted early but might need to wait until Friday's amps to decide. One option though is to give an 18 hour shot if you will home at the right times which sounds like you will be. You could also probably shoot the morning one if you leave early afternoon and leave out lots of food if she is low before you leave and then a late shot when you return. It will be interesting for me to see what they suggest. In the meantime love the great cycles she's getting.
 
There's another option if Elizabeth keeping showing off those nice normal numbers for today and tomorrow. That would make 7 days at this dose (1 drop) in normal numbers, which earns a reduction. :cool:
 
My plans changed, so seems I will be home after all and now won't have to worry. I was trying to get prepared! :)

Wendy, I didn't know that 7 days on a dose earns a reduction if she has normal numbers. So, at some point, I try her without insulin?
:cat:
 
Here's the appropriate bit from the TR protocol sticky:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s.
Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

And yes, you have the next dose right. :)
 
@ +9, had a 42, so tested two more times. I guess I had a bad test strip! (again) :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top