4-8 Gizmo AMPS=129; +3=86; +6=109; PMPS=85!; +3=116 OTJ Trial Starting Tonight :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Gizmo, I am not thrilled about that amps number this morning. :nailbiting: A month ago, I would have been ecstatic, but not today. :rolleyes: I’m trying to stay calm ... he could have eaten his pm +6 snack closer to morning ... it could be that he doesn’t care for the tiki cat (0 carbs) at +6 anymore and we have been trying different options (4-5% carbs) ... maybe a fur shot ... maybe just Gizmo letting me know he’s still in charge! :cat:
 
Maybe it's time to try that +9 snack at night. I hope Gizmo heads down today.
Going to try this today. I just weighed him and he is down to 10.2lbs. :eek::arghh: I need to get more food in him. He just keeps losing weight. :( He seems willing to eat just not a lot at one time anymore.
 
PMPS = 85 then 86 at retest

I gave him a 1/4 can at +8.5. He is losing weight and I decided it was better to feed him more and get weight back on him and if it messed up the upcoming OTJ trial then so be it. But .... he surprised me with a beautiful PMPS number. I didn’t want to shoot and chance him dropping low and then bouncing. So since I was planning on starting the trial in the morning anyways ... I decided to just skip tonight’s shot. :nailbiting:

**paws crossed**
 
know and I’ve been avoiding trying the late cycle snack. :facepalm:
Looks like a working pancreas to me. :woot::D

For your records, here are the trial instructions.

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Note: should probably change this to "your cat is still an acro, but cabergoline controlled". Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
This is so exciting! All paws are crossed here, too!

hanks, I was going to ask about how often to test. I think I’m going to get a +3 tonight.
Part of the trial is the bean's learning to let go of the meter a bit! ;) I know it's hard, but you can do it!

AddEmoticons00930.gif

Go Gizmo!

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top