4/8 Michael amps 263 +4.5 213 pmps 246 +2 210

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-8-75-223-pmps-171-2-140.135820/#post-1400529

Maybe a bounce from yesterday's HC food? (amps 263)
I read on another condo that if the cat is long term Diabetic ( 1year or more) that before giving a reduction wait for 3#'s below 50. Is that in the same cycle and same day?(Confused) I didn't give Michael his reduction due do the 46 he had yesterday , because he is on (I think) long term Diabetic. He was dx in March of 2014. It is now April 2015.
This a.m. I gave him his regular dose of 1.25u. I'm not sure he would have held that reduction, he hasn't in the past.
If he falls below 50 again, do I take that reduction or wait for 3#'s below 50?
Thoughts?
Thanks in advance,
Paula:)
 
Hi Paula,

For a long term diabetic it is 3x below 50 or 1x below 40. That would be 3 different cycles, not the same cycle. So you did the right thing.
 
Just remember that they can go up and down during a bounce. In my opinion, I would say that until you start seeing more blue he is still bouncing a bit. But it is great to see his numbers coming down again so quickly.
 
Here is the quote on reducing from the Tilly's Diabetes Homepage that people here use for longer term diabetics:

Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

Hey Michael - you look much more handsome in the blue suit of yours!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top