5.1.15 Zoey amps 319 ...+5(32)..+6(67) +10(402)PMPS(570) +3(421) KETONES TRACE

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Rose, May 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    OH, Fabulous Friday; our Favorite day of the week!

    So, Zoey was pretty flat yesterday and didn't get out of the 300s, I don't believe, all evening. She's starting out there this a.m. so hopefully we'll see some improvement and I will strive to keep her drops to a 50-an-hour average -- meaning if I check her at +3 and see she's fallen more than 150 points I will feed her some of her remaining allotment of food for this cycle to slow her down and pace it out. With the higher numbers I always see the decreased range of motion and exacerbated foot drop that reminds me with each step I see her take that this is not regulated yet and we have a long ways to go. I don't know if I'll ever be able to train myself to be patient and keep the anxiety at bay as we go through this process of trial and error and baby steps. It's hard. Very.

    ... we're on the road to tear down a boat shed and complete another chapter in our book of life. We will be out of touch with all communication once we're there and the nearest mi-fi signal is at least a 30-minute drive. (True Florida boondocks where a body might never be found. LOL) Please send us all your anti-jinx vines and good number vines. Of course, Zoe's with us (sitting between us on the truck console, watching the road with her dad) and we're prepared with her travel bag of supplies -- but fingers crossed we don't have THAT stress to throw in the mix this morning.

    Sending healing vines to all....

    Yesterday
     
  2. Megan & Oren

    Megan & Oren Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    wow! sounds like a busy day ahead Rose. Now Zoey, be a good girl and at least stay in moderate numbers so your mom and dad can get their work done! I hearby decree you are to stay away from Oren today (this weekend?) so you don't get ideas from his latest "low at night, bounce during the day" nonsense! Ain't nobody got time for that!

    Have a successful trip Rose. Patience is certainly something that we in LL must have in great quantities or at least learn how to develop. It certainly is a blessing to have the support of others here who understand. I share your frustrations and wonder if this will ever get under control. But then I see all the OTJ babies and trials and I try to cling to hope. :rolleyes:
     
  3. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Yeah... raise your paw if you read the morning's post and thought today's the day that Zoey scares her bean to death by not just high diving, but diving into a little tiny bucket of green-filled water. I thought it when I typed it. I didn't update all of the tests that have been taken on the subject line. Will do that when I get home, if needed. But her ss is updated and it will show that at +2 she was behaving and then it all went awry. Bottom line ... I just have to test her pretty much every hour to be able to have any kind of peace of mind whatsoever. She cannot be trusted. While I was expecting the number to be lower at +4, her 32 was a shock. (I didn't really intend to wait that long to check her but the swarm of bumble bees flying between us and her, thanks to us tearing down their home, kind of delayed matters.) She's safe and we're on our way home. Today's adventure has been enough excitement for one day. I'll plan to reduce the dose this evening by .25.

    Megan ... no words. Bet you can read my thoughts though! LOL
     
  4. manxcat419

    manxcat419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Zoey, you do realize if you scare your bean to death there won't be anyone to feed you don't you? :p I'm sure with some of these cats they're thinking "everyone's busy, they're not paying me enough attention. I'm going to make sure they have to" when they pull something like that! ;)

    Congrats on the reduction and well handled on the dramatic way she earned it!! :D :D
     
    Rose likes this.
  5. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    smh :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

    Zoey, the drama queen.
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    My paw is raised. :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:

    I think that's an even better story than Neko going low on the highway in 95 degree heat in the middle of nowhere in Wyoming with all the road exits closed, or in Washington State when we couldn't pull over because the traffic was blocked due to a forest fire. Did I mention that cats have absolutely the best timing!!!:banghead::banghead:

    Smart plan taking Zoey with you - she clearly cannot be trusted. :rolleyes: Congrats on the reduction.
     
  7. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Wendy - Mmm, you win -- nerves of steel you must now surely have. Fire AND crazy, frustrated, stressed-out people -- if I were there, that would be me... LOL -- behind a wheel on a highway with nowhere to go? AND a cat with low BG? I'd rather deal with bumble bees and swamp locales. At least there were no witnesses to see me doing a freak-out dance! :D

    Surely there must be some kind of award my sweet Zoe-Zoe gets for going from one extreme to another. From a 32 to a 570 -- that's gotta be one for the records. :p
     
  8. Megan & Oren

    Megan & Oren Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Well zowie, Rose and Zoey! you're gonna give me a heart attack here!! car trips, bee swarms? 32's? Glad you survived the day, but I suspect at the cost of a few more grey hairs. Zoey is indeed "bouncing queen, drama queen, queen of the highway! Now settle down tonight so your mama bean can regain her composure and strength!:p
     
  9. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Zoey's ketone test just showed "trace." I've given her subq fluids tonight (80 ml - would not sit for more) and have more Ringers here. Give 100 ml in the a.m.? I'm assuming she's dehydrated (BM was hard today) and the high bounces she's had are the cause???? These are just my out loud thoughts so please let me know if we're on the right track. Thanks in advance for any advice given. :)
     
  10. Megan & Oren

    Megan & Oren Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Oh no Rose!! sorry to see this. what a day you've had. Do you regularly add water to Zoey's food? I thankfully have not had to deal with this yet, so I don't have personal experience/advice to offer. But, I think pushing as much fluids as possible is the right step to help flush things. Poor Zoey and you!! sending hugs and vines and prayers; hopefully someone w/ more experience can chime in w/ more concrete steps.
     
    Rose likes this.
  11. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    I've never heard there's a connection between dehydration and high bounces. I have heard some speculation that dehydration can prevent the insulin from moving through the body as well, which is one possible reason why a cat that is dehydrated will sometimes have dropping blood sugar numbers after they've gotten subq fluids.

    Does she have any heart issues? That can be an issue with too much subq fluids. We gave punkin 150ml every other day, but I don't know how much is right for Rose.

    Test twice a day while you're seeing any ketones. They can move from trace to large in a matter of hours. Same day. You can test a strip on yourself if you're uncertain if you know how to read the strip. Timing is critical.
     
  12. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    thanks for checking in @julie & punkin (ga). I see what I wrote and it did sound like I was saying that the dehydration was causing high bounces. I meant: Is it the dehydration, coupled with the high bounces that cause the ketones?? And I don't know if this matters or not, but sometimes she seems to sleep with her eyes open. Have you ever dealt with that before? The original vet is who put her on the fluids and he said to give them to her as needed, up to 100 ml once a day. I think I read on one of the condos that anything more than 500 ml at a time was stressful to the heart and should be broken up into am/pm fluids. She has no heart condition that we're aware of.

    I'll definitely test twice a day and I've started adding more water to her meals again. Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day.
     
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    500ml at once is a lot of fluids. I see people giving more like 100 or 150ml.

    The recipe for DKA is infection/inflammation + not enough food/calories + not enough insulin. How is her appetite?
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2015
    Reason for edit: editted definition of DKA, not ketones
  14. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    500 sounds like really a lot. I'm not that familiar with it though. I think the most we ever gave was 200 in a day. Most people that i've seen comment on this give their cats 200 or less. I would stick with your vet's advice on this one.

    ketones signifies not enough insulin. One option is to give more insulin and increase the carb content of the food to compensate for the increased insulin. There are multiple links to condos on the Where Can I Find post - look in the second half - about ketones. Take a look there and see if any of that is new information for you.
     
  15. Rose

    Rose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Geez @julie & punkin (ga) and @Wendy&Neko .. I do not know what's wrong with me. Not 500 ... 50. I meant 50. Yes, 500 is half the bag. Definitely way too much. I read that anything more than 50 ml of fluids given at one time is stressful to the heart. Vet said give as much as 100 ml of fluids and there should never be a problem and it wouldn't harm her I'm sorry my posts have not accurately reflected my intent; with so many posts that you read and help with day-to-day, getting it right on my part would surely help you spend your time better.

    RANT: I do not mean any disrespect to any vets, truly I don't; but I am a little apprehensive to take any advice without checking here first and doing my own research. I have gone through my vet records because over the past six years we have lost five cats and a goat. I have been told that two of those cat deaths were rare cases, one they could never diagnose (specialists, internists, holistic vets), and the other two were natural causes. What are the chances that 3 of the five cats would have something rare or unknown? And along the way, each and every one of those cats was treated heavily with Metacam and a host of antibiotics. Zoey, has also been given Metacam along the way, along with two of the other remaining four cats. It was that vet's go-to drug. The new vet we're with, regarding the fluids and the B-complex, asks me what the first vet said and then says, okay, stick with that. As far as the goat ... mastitis. Always leaking milk like she was nursing. Followed the vet's advice and even ended up removing her teets. Within a year, she was dead. Her sister goat, two years later, now has the same condition. He wanted to do a different treatment and said if we opened up her teets, that they would eventually dry up and close themselves. He's a vet. We trust him. We did it. Now her teets are cut open and milk drips from them and they've not sealed and dried up but are open sacs that we have to worry about infection. It's been a year since that procedure so I don't think time is an issue. When I think of childhood pets, and my grandparents' pets, they didn't take their animals to the vet for the things we take our critters to the vets for today. They didn't have vet specialists and all of the medications that there are today. I know that our pets today live longer because of vets and regular visits, but I also think that vet care is in its learning stages and there's much to be learned still with these major illnesses and that just like we experiment with food and protocols on this sugar dance, so do they in their day-to-day operations. I was at the vet's office last visit and someone had called on the phone asking how much of a medication they should give their animal. Of course, that person was on hold, but the vet techs were talking amongst themselves to come up with the best dose. The discussion that I overheard did not sound any different than the back-and-forth that we post here amongst us newbies hashing out our reasoning processes. They never once asked the vet. That person on the phone is assuming the vet is who is saying to take that dose ... he wasn't.

    So, please forgive me that I ask so many questions and micromanage everything and seek answers from other sources than the vet(s). Also know how much I appreciate your input and life's experiences.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page