? 5/1 Dave PMPS 202, +2 272, +6 100 - Dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

panda28

Member Since 2017
Hi there, Jacqui here again. Dave had a pretty uneventful day yesterday (i.e. the weekend), but as soon as I got off to school, he apparently decided to go crazy! My mum had to deal with him crashing today, and at +4.5 she panicked and gave him 70g of HC (18%) food. She said that before this he was dropping about 20 every 20 minutes.


I couldn't come here for advice because whilst this was going on I was in the middle of an exam. He's coming back up again now, and she's going to keep testing, but what I wanted to know is whether or not he should skip his next meal? He's due to have 70g of LC at +6 ( basically right now), but I'm not sure if giving more is overfeeding? At +6.5 (30 minutes from now) if I haven't got an answer I'll probably tell her to give him half of what he'd normally get.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-29-dave-pmps-142-3-99-4-67-4-5-68.177112/
 
At +7 he's dropped back to 74 again. She's giving him the other half, but she'll have to leave in 15 minutes for an hour.
 
I would get her to test Dave before she goes out and if he is still dropping, get her to give him some HC food to keep him safe while she is away. The most important thing is to keep Dave safe.
 
I used to have to go out three times a week to collect kids from school over the time that Sheba would nadir ....I'd be gone for 1 1/2 to 2 hours each time depending on traffic. I tested her five minutes before I left each time and if Sheba was dropping low I always gave her some high carb or a drop of honey......or both if she was really low.....to keep her safe while I was away.
 
I used to have to go out three times a week to collect kids from school over the time that Sheba would nadir ....I'd be gone for 1 1/2 to 2 hours each time depending on traffic. I tested her five minutes before I left each time and if Sheba was dropping low I always gave her some high carb or a drop of honey......or both if she was really low.....to keep her safe while I was away.

Exact same situation, Mum has to come pick me up and can't check her emails.

She didn't get the email, but I'm home now and at +8.5 he's 76. He seems to be surfing, but I'll retest at 9.
 
Jacqui, if you give any food at all during a cycle to bring up the blood sugar...like your Mum did today....(apart from what you would normally give) , we suggest you document it in the remarks column. This way you will be able to look back and see how Dave has responded before, when he has dropped low, when it happens again. Eg today you could say 'given 70grams 18% carb food at+4.5 as dropping quickly'
 
Jacqui, if you give any food at all during a cycle to bring up the blood sugar...like your Mum did today....(apart from what you would normally give) , we suggest you document it in the remarks column. This way you will be able to look back and see how Dave has responded before, when he has dropped low, when it happens again. Eg today you could say 'given 70grams 18% carb food at+4.5 as dropping quickly'

I'll add it in! He's due for a dose soon, but I'm not sure what to give him - he actually was supposed to get an increase tonight, but considering he would have dropped below 50 without the extra food, I'm not sure if he actually needs a reduction? I'm following TR.
 
I'll add it in! He's due for a dose soon, but I'm not sure what to give him - he actually was supposed to get an increase tonight, but considering he would have dropped below 50 without the extra food, I'm not sure if he actually needs a reduction? I'm following TR.
I would definitely not increase his dose at this stage. He has had some lovely green numbers for 3 of the last 5 cycles. And he could have bounced a bit yesterday after greens the day before.
See what his preshot number is. He might still be quite low. Post and we can see
 
His PMPS is 11.2 (202). I'm also not sure what to actually increase his dose to. I get that I'm supposed to increase it by 0.25u, but I'm already giving him a fat 1u (which honestly was probably close to 1.25u). Do I go to 1.25u officially, or up to 1.5u?
 
I would NOT increase his dose at all at this stage. Are you able to monitor him tonight?
I would stick to the same dose. That is 1f.
And just be aware that he might drop again tonight OR he might bounce after dropping low today.
 
I would definitely not increase his dose at this stage. He has had some lovely green numbers for 3 of the last 5 cycles. And he could have bounced a bit yesterday after greens the day before.
See what his preshot number is. He might still be quite low. Post and we can see


I think I'll just hold the dose then. If I need to increase it later I can, but I'd rather not deal with a hypo during the night. I'd much rather him too high than too low. I can semi-monitor him - I definitely will up until +6, and then my mum until his AMPS. But we'd rather not pull an all-nighter if we don't have to.
 
I think I'll just hold the dose then. If I need to increase it later I can, but I'd rather not deal with a hypo during the night. I'd much rather him too high than too low. I can semi-monitor him - I definitely will up until +6, and then my mum until his AMPS. But we'd rather not pull an all-nighter if we don't have to.
That is a good decision. He is looking really good at the moment. It often takes several doses of the same amount before you will see a good response. You know how to feed him if he drops low so you will be able to keep him safe.
Don't worry if he goes high.......cats often do after having low numbers, especially if they haven't had any low numbers for a while. My Sheba was a terrible bouncer! Bounces can last for up to 6 cycles before dropping again.
 
Another furball... I'm not sure why; he's gone from never having any in three years, to five in as many days. He licks his side after I give him the shot, maybe that has something to do with it? He's also having some stomach problems - his poo is really soft and almost green. I'm not sure what's up with him.
 
Another furball... I'm not sure why; he's gone from never having any in three years, to five in as many days. He licks his side after I give him the shot, maybe that has something to do with it? He's also having some stomach problems - his poo is really soft and almost green. I'm not sure what's up with him.
Diabetes can affect their coat quality so I wonder is that includes the amount of shedding. Maybe he's shedding more and that's why there are more fur balls.

Kudos to your mom for handling that low!
 
Another furball... I'm not sure why; he's gone from never having any in three years, to five in as many days. He licks his side after I give him the shot, maybe that has something to do with it? He's also having some stomach problems - his poo is really soft and almost green. I'm not sure what's up with him.
Maybe if you brush him every day for a while that will get rid of excess hair and hopefully stop the hairballs.
The loose poops could possibly be from the change of diet. You could try giving him some plain boiled mashed pumpkin mixed in with his food for a few days to see if that helps. Pumpkin is good for loose poops or constipation. Don't put anything in with the pumpkin....just boil it, strain the water off, then mash. Put excess pumpkin in IceCube tray in freezer for later use. Try a half teaspoon each day and see if that helps.
 
Diabetes can affect their coat quality so I wonder is that includes the amount of shedding. Maybe he's shedding more and that's why there are more fur balls.

Kudos to your mom for handling that low!

Maybe if you brush him every day for a while that will get rid of excess hair and hopefully stop the hairballs.
The loose poops could possibly be from the change of diet. You could try giving him some plain boiled mashed pumpkin mixed in with his food for a few days to see if that helps. Pumpkin is good for loose poops or constipation. Don't put anything in with the pumpkin....just boil it, strain the water off, then mash. Put excess pumpkin in IceCube tray in freezer for later use. Try a half teaspoon each day and see if that helps.

Thanks for your advice, we've just given him a brush, and we'll look into trying the pumpkin out. We're pretty happy with how we went today!
 
Thanks for your advice, we've just given him a brush, and we'll look into trying the pumpkin out. We're pretty happy with how we went today!
Yes I think you went very well. You are lucky to have your Mum who is willing to help out with the testing as well. It is always so much easier if there is someone else to share the testing and feeding. Dave is looking good.
 
I just tested at +6 and he was at 94/104 (I retested straight afterwards). Considering he was at 272 at +2 then this is quite a big drop. I'll keep an eye on him tonight and retest +7. Holding the f1u for at least another cycle unless anyone thinks I should change it.
 
Just tested +7 and he is at 112 (6.2). Next test +8 just to make sure it is on the rise and no unexpected dives like this morning. He didn't want all his food but I suspect it is because of the extra he had today. He might fancy it in a little while.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top