5/1 Tiger Day 1, AMPS 216,185+3,135+6, 51+9, 86+9.30,107+10,149+11,PMPS 206,245+2

Jacque- Tiger & Jazz Man

Member Since 2014
Previous Thread http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-144-130-amps-125-120-13.228927/#post-2564698
Prozinc>Vetsulin>Prozinc>Levemir
Tiger's Rid has been bumpy, want a smooth ride. He's been VERY HIGH and bouncy until recently, see his SS.
With advice from members here I decided that Levemir would be a better insulin for Tiger and SLGS. DCIN has donated the insulin and alot of food. I have read just about all of the Sticky Notes for Levemir. Still have a lot to learn. Fair Warning...I will likely have a lot of questions and post alot. Please know this: I am NOT a writer(LOL).
I am ALWAYS exhausted. Bed at 4am, Up at 9am. Please visit my Profile.
1173658_900701376715514_2352700383075078061_n.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 1173658_900701376715514_2352700383075078061_n.jpg
    1173658_900701376715514_2352700383075078061_n.jpg
    66.3 KB · Views: 72
Good instincts Jacque! Looks like he is one of those that responds to an insulin change. :eek: 51 is still safe, just a little close to the edge. Test again in 30. And he's earned a reduction. Since it's his first cycle of Lev, I might go down to 3.5 units.
 
I didn't want to muddy the thread while all the excitement was going on. OMG!!

You ok?
Ya, Thanks for asking. Totally freaked me out. I was expecting that it would take at least a couple days for the Levemir to work. Man..good thing I was monitoring close today..did as I was told lol. You've been one of his close followers.. I'm sure you were nervous too.
 
Freaked me out too! I was shutting down for the night and thought I'd check one last time on how Tiger was doing - I literally seen your message as you posted it! My heart dropped.
Oh No...Thank you for caring so much about Tiger. It has been a heck of a ride with him, and he's not ready to get off yet. Just hoping we are going to make a right turn and park eventually.
 
What I do is strain the food and do a 50/50 gravy and water..so roughly 2 tablespoons. Maybe I should just buy some gravy lol

Yeah, just pop the top, put it back and squeeze as much of the gravy into another bowl as you can. Don't mix water with it because that can cut down on the carbs we want him to have if he's too low.

Just stick with a teaspoon or 2 of just the gravy part (of course a few little bits of meat are going to find their way into it)

Next time if he's above 50, try just a teaspoon of his regular low carb food and test again in 20-30 minutes. The idea is to try to nudge him up into safer numbers without sending him to the moon....although his liver seems to do a pretty good job of that!!
 
OK...if you're up to it, I'd go ahead and try 3.5 tonight.

Get a +2 or +3 and see if he's still climbing (I'm expecting him to probably bounce off that 51 today)...but he may not.....This is Tiger after all who likes to keep you guessing!

If he's still going up, you can be fairly sure that his liver has kicked in
 
@Jacque- Tiger & Jazz Man …..we usually start a new thread every day in the Lantus forum. This one's getting too long too.

Just each day start a new thread, put the link to the prior day's thread in the body of the message and keep your numbers updated in the Subject line so people who are scanning the board for possible problems can keep track of how everybody's cats are doing and reply to the most needy ones first.
 
Back
Top