@Grayson & Lu, Lu-Ann has just posted this on an old Crystal condo
here in reply to one of Suzanne's queries but I've copied it over to today's condo for ease of reference:
I gave Grayson R at preshots - rarely mid-cycle. Most of the time he nadired late - +9 or +10; so anything mid-cycle might have wound up w/ simultaneous nadirs instead of a jumpstart at his base line.
He was resistant to responding to it until we reached 3u. Even at CSU - they gave him 1uR (no effect) and gave Tracy's Leo a glucose drip! Our boys couldn't have been more different if they tried!
I see she's playing with your sleep patterns. Those are the nights when I didn't give R, and took an Excedrin PM so I could try to get a solid block of sleep. Sometimes, that's the price to pay for all their slumber parties!
Thanks for confirming your dosing strategy Lu-Ann
, I usually stick to preshots too as I find it quite difficult to work out the nadir for Crystal, changes nearly every day. Better to be safe although I have given her small doses of R at +10 before.
How wonderful everyone is chipping in with some ideas, I really appreciate it guys.
@Marje and Gracie, thanks for your idea Marje. I did try using the flexpen with it's needles when I started using Lantus, the vet let me borrow one to practice with. Unfortunately, I didn't get on with it at all, although it was a much lower dose it was difficult to know whether the insulin had actually gone it, and Crystal didn't cooperate with it at all. It certainly would be a good idea with just having the one injection and cuts down the injections by 50%. I might ask to borrow some needles again and have another go with it, worth a try.
@Suzanne & Cobb(GA) Crystal sounds the opposite of Cobb, confirmed acro with possible IAA and Cobb was confirmed IAA with possible acro, but I think the outcome is the same, very high doses of Lev together with aggressive use of R. I think that it the protocol that I will have to follow. I am prepared to up the Lev if necessary but there does have to be some sort of limit, I certainly couldn't afford to double my usage. So let's try the R for a couple of days, with both cycles and see how she reacts to that. I did try to give her a flank shot tonight, growls and hissing while I was trying to manipulate the skin, but as she has the acro "potbelly" the skin is fairly tight there and it was too difficult, then she got really fed up so I went for the shoulder site as usual. Thanks for answering Stephanie's (?) query re the R for me.