5/14 George amps 121 +3 132 +6 96 +9 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gill & George

Member Since 2015
Last Post

Well it's been nearly two weeks since George's last condo, and it's been a tough couple of weeks.

I took George to another vet which involved a one hour journey each way, not great for him as he hates the car, but I had become very frustrated with his regular vet, George was in pain, his symptoms were getting worse, appetite was going south (this the most worrying for my food obsessed BFG), and her approach was just wait and see.
I took him to see Dr M, he gave him the once over and was pretty certain all his problems stemmed from the mouth, so he was started on antibiotics Stormogyl with a view to having a dental once the infection is under control.
Initially no pain meds were given, and three days after the AB's, he was in obvious pain, it broke my heart to see him that way. Here in Spain, my experience has been that they are not keen to use the pain relief that is more commonly used in the US, so in the end, and with much worry he was given a metacam injection as a loading dose, and he's been having oral metacam daily. (note here in Europe it is licensed for use in cats, and there is a specific concentration for cats/ unlike the US where it carries a black box warning and it's of label use is not recommended, the concentration available in US is 3 times higher http://vetbook.org/wiki/cat/index.php?title=Meloxicam)
We have been reducing his dose gradually and now he is on only half the maintenance dose. He is back to eating without encouragement, I was having to spoon feed, offer multiple choices just to get him to eat a bit, there was many tears, and this time last week I wasn't hopeful that he would make it to surgery day which is tomorrow, to the extent that I had the talk (through blubbering tears), with the vet about options for helping him cross if it came to that (I want to have it done at home/not an option here)
It was too hard to post updates as everything seemed so black, though SS has been kept updated with all goings on, and I know that some of you will have been looking at it from time to time to see how he has been doing, I know that you worry if you have no news and ss is blank.

Well here we are big day is tomorrow, I won't lie, I am terrified he won't make it, so many things against him, his age, fd, ckd, weight, heart murmur.
On the plus side he has always been a strong healthy cat, and he is a fighter, so DH and I have decided to try and give him a chance, as doing nothing is ultimately going to kill him, and there is a reasonable chance that he will come through the op and recover. Dr M felt it was the best option, he is going to have at least 3 extractions, I wouldn't be surprised if more. No such thing as a feline dental specialist locally, otherwise that would be where we would go, but at least Dr M does a lot of dental work and works with a lot of cats (something not to commonplace in my part of the world)

Today his BG is up a bit, not sure why, could be new food?? Pain??? or FS?? I'm not touching the dose today, I'll see where his BG is at tomorrow after the procedure and take it from there. I've reverted to some of his regular food that I know doesn't affect BG, to take that out of the equation.

I'll keep you all updated on the procedure, but I probably won't be around much, after tomorrow depending on how it all goes, I'm imagining my hands will be pretty full and we leave for a vacation on the 26th May (all being well with George), I am very fortunate to have a neighbour/friend who is very capable and is coming to stay at our house to look after George, she's given him insulin and tested him when we've been on vacation before.

Vines and Prayers for all those kitties in need.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
((( Gill))) I am so glad you updated. I know how worrisome this is for you to see them in pain and not eating is so horrible!!! Tomorrow can't come soon enough and I will be sending lots of dental vines your way for BFG to come through with flying colors. You are doing exactly what I would do by doing the dental. He can't stay in pain and not eat so I would give the chance of the procedure a go as well. He just might very well surprise you with how well he will handle the procedure.

What did the vet say about his dose the morning of the dental? With him being in mostly all normal numbers now,( except for the last 2 cycles) you might what to skip the shot before the procedure. I am wondering if one of the bad teeth is an upper canine tooth which if it is could be responsible for the gunky eye? Those roots are so long and so close to the orbital area.

Hugs and prayers for you and BFG. Update us as soon as you can. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:(So so stressful. I'm sorry:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Sounds like George is a tough one, I'm sending tons and tons of dental vines vibes.gif vibes.gif vibes.gif vibes.gif vibes.gif vibes.gif vibes.gif vibes.gif

We'll all be thinking of you and all paws crossed for a speedy recovery.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Gill, thank you for updating all of us. I did wonder why you hadn't been posting lately. George will pull through just fine, just from all what I have heard about him. :cat:
good-luck-card-lucky-black-cat-size-6.25-x-6.25-agoi-9999-7221-p.jpg
 
It is heartbreaking and hard every time i read like these story:(. Cats are fighters and they hang to life, praying for him and wish the best through his surgery. I have always loved his picture and the way he sleeps like little angle:bighug:
 
Thank you for the update Gill. :bighug::bighug: I've always had a soft spot for the black and white opera singer. I hope he'll be back in full throat and singing for you again soon.

Lots of vines for easy dental going your way. I know how terrifying it can be with extra conditions at play. And how happy I was at the far end. Sounds like Dr. M is the right vet for the job.

More hugs for you and Matt. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
What did the vet say about his dose the morning of the dental?
Since he's only on 0.25u I'm skipping the dose, it's what the vet suggested, I'll be taking supplies with me just in case I need to shoot.
I am wondering if one of the bad teeth is an upper canine tooth which if it is could be responsible for the gunky eye? Those roots are so long and so close to the orbital area.
on the x-ray he took he said the infection was up in the root, and that the roots were very close to the sinuses, so his symptoms vwetr likely caused by the tooth infection, I didn't ask which tooth and he didn't say.

Thanks for the vines.

BOB is looking great, hope BFG joins his buddy for surf practice real soon, tonight's pmps was 96 followed by +2 156. :banghead: not food since I reverted to old favourite. Seems comfortable, looks like a carb spike, I run a curve so it doesn't look like I missed any lows, but I've been thinking he looks like he is nadiring late. Will need to watch that.
 
Gill, I am so sorry to read this update. I have not been on this forum long, but you have helped me by giving advice multiple times and for that I am grateful. It sounds like you both have gone through so much. Stay strong, sending many dental vines your way :bighug:
 
Vines and Prayers for the surgery tomorrow!
Thanks Sandi, how are you holding up?

Sending a multitude of vines to you and George. Good luck! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Kris
Hoping for optimal outcome, my heart goes out to you. Hugs to you and George.
Thank you.
:(So so stressful. I'm sorry:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Sounds like George is a tough one, I'm sending tons and tons of dental vinesView attachment 36155 View attachment 36155 View attachment 36155 View attachment 36155 View attachment 36155 View attachment 36155 View attachment 36155 View attachment 36155

We'll all be thinking of you and all paws crossed for a speedy recovery.
Thank you Michelle all those vines are very appreciated
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Gill, thank you for updating all of us. I did wonder why you hadn't been posting lately. George will pull through just fine, just from all what I have heard about him. :cat:
good-luck-card-lucky-black-cat-size-6.25-x-6.25-agoi-9999-7221-p.jpg
Thanks for thinking of us.
It is heartbreaking and hard every time i read like these story:(. Cats are fighters and they hang to life, praying for him and wish the best through his surgery. I have always loved his picture and the way he sleeps like little angle:bighug:
Thank you, he's a sweet old boy, we love him dearly
Dental vines for George, he’s a strong guy and Dr M sounds very confident and qualified, between him and you, George is in excellent hands! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Stacy, I keep telling myself the same thing. Vines to Asia and hugs to you I know you are going through much the same as we are. Hope you find a solution for your girl.
Dental vines for George. Actually - just a whole tone of vines overall.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Tracey, we will take all we can get.
((Gill)) I'm so very sorry and know how worrisome and stressful it is. Sending plane loads of appy and vetty vines and prayers. Many of these for you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks karen, I haven't checked in on leo today hope he is eating for you sending vines.

Vines and prayers. Boatloads of them. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you Elise

Starting up dental vines and prayers from us....
Thank you Amy.
Many, many vines for BFG. I will keep y'all in my thoughts and prayers :bighug::bighug:

May it be quick, painless and without incident. :cat:
Thanks Lizzie, many prayers for your boy too.:bighug:
Thank you for the update Gill. :bighug::bighug: I've always had a soft spot for the black and white opera singer. I hope he'll be back in full throat and singing for you again soon.

Lots of vines for easy dental going your way. I know how terrifying it can be with extra conditions at play. And how happy I was at the far end. Sounds like Dr. M is the right vet for the job.

More hugs for you and Matt. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Wendy, I too hope that he will be singing in his usual spot before long. This morning he's come up for cuddles with Matt and I.
Gill, sending heaps of vines for George’s dental adventure and that he will be back to his fullsome self soon!
❤️

View attachment 36164
Thanks Sina:bighug::kiss:
Gill, I am so sorry to read this update. I have not been on this forum long, but you have helped me by giving advice multiple times and for that I am grateful. It sounds like you both have gone through so much. Stay strong, sending many dental vines your way :bighug:
Thanks Amanda, it's always been my pleasure to stop by Shmees condo.:kiss:
 
Hi Gill, I'm so sorry to read about what you and George have endured recently.
It sure does sound like you're in good hands with Dr M. Hoping for an uneventful surgery and and swift recovery.
So sweet that George wanted to cuddle this morning, brought a smile to my face. I'm sending tons of vines for George and hugs to you my friend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top