5-16 Gizmo AMBG=46; PMBG=46

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Last Post

Gizmo is responding well to the gaba. Tonight was dose 5. He only had 1 pee outside the box today. While I would prefer none ... this is progress.

Now the BG is another story. He just keeps dropping. The vet prescribed pred (cat version) today. He is now getting 2.5mg once a day. We will re-evaluate after 3 doses. If BG not around 80, we will increase to twice a day. I’m hoping the steroid will help treat the tumor also.

I started every other day dosing with the cabergoline. I also decreased the dose slightly (from 0.6ml to 0.5ml) to correspond with his rapid weight loss.

Today was a good day!:)
 
I'm so glad Gizmo had a good day. While I made different choices with my cancer cats, ECID and you know Gizmo best, so I am happy that you have found a path that gives you and Gizmo the most comfort. I wish you many more good days together. You are in tune with each other, so you will know what to do when Gizmo wants to make a change. Sometimes you just have to let your cat guide you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug:

Are you still feeding LC? I am a bit confused as to why his BG is dropping (or staying so low).

Glad Gizmo had a good day :cat:
 
I hope the pred brings his bg up a bit and glad the gaba is helping. @Judy and Boomer was giving pred to her civie Allen for a while to do the same thing but I believe it made his hind legs weak. ECID....sending loads of vines and prayers.
Karen is correct; the pred did make civie Allen's hind legs weak and we had to take him off of it (gradually of course).
 
:bighug:

Are you still feeding LC? I am a bit confused as to why his BG is dropping (or staying so low).

Glad Gizmo had a good day :cat:
Yes, still feeding LC. We have just been sticking with friskies because I know he will eat it. I can’t afford to upset him or his tummy right now. He has lost so much weight. :( Although, the thought has crossed my mind to feed HC to help get his numbers up.

I think the low BG is related to the cancer. The vet said one possibility was a tumor on his pancreas, which would actually produce insulin and lower his BG. I thought that was ruled out since the masses were found on the liver, but I’m not really sure. Day by day ...

AMBG was still 46 (beginning to think the meter was broken)
PMBG was up to 50 something ... don’t have number in front of me and I can’t remember ... I was just happy it went up some.
Karen is correct; the pred did make civie Allen's hind legs weak and we had to take him off of it (gradually of course).
Oh no ... how is his BG now? I hope it is staying up for you. What dose of pred was Allen on? I knew he was on pred, but missed that you had to take him back off of it. Thanks for giving me a heads up on a potential problem.
 
Yes, still feeding LC. We have just been sticking with friskies because I know he will eat it. I can’t afford to upset him or his tummy right now. He has lost so much weight. :( Although, the thought has crossed my mind to feed HC to help get his numbers up.

I think the low BG is related to the cancer. The vet said one possibility was a tumor on his pancreas, which would actually produce insulin and lower his BG. I thought that was ruled out since the masses were found on the liver, but I’m not really sure. Day by day ...

AMBG was still 46 (beginning to think the meter was broken)
PMBG was up to 50 something ... don’t have number in front of me and I can’t remember ... I was just happy it went up some.

Oh no ... how is his BG now? I hope it is staying up for you. What dose of pred was Allen on? I knew he was on pred, but missed that you had to take him back off of it. Thanks for giving me a heads up on a potential problem.

We removed the Pred and started him on Diazoxide which is specific for insulinomas. And his BG did go up and held in the 70s for a while. Perfect! But now it's gradually going down again; last time I tested was May 2 and it was 50
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top