5.18.15 Zoey amps (495)+3(HI)+5(409)+7(486)+9(352)PMPS(242)+3(140)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Member Since 2015
Good morning!

We skipped Zoe's dose last night because we were having a hard time getting her to eat. Our feeding syringe's stopper came off inside of the syringe so that was the end of that. We switched to some medicine syringes we had on hand but it was getting clogged and H was having fits with it getting clogged and suddenly shooting across the house. Then I was having fits because I've got watered down cat food across book cases and pictures, furniture .... :banghead: Neither one of us feels the other is very "dear or darling" this morning; hence just the H. Did not know how the rest of the evening was going to progress so we decided to skip the dose and it allowed me to get her back on my schedule this morning. He did go back to the 24-hour pharmacy and get a new syringe and with an ice pick, we stretched out the barrel so it's working much better and things have gone smoothly this morning. He just may live.

Zoey is very alert -- just congested. She still has trouble walking but Great Vet said that's the Cushing's causing weakness and to give it time to see if it improves. She can walk to get where she's going, but she has to rest and she's very wobbly. She can no longer support herself for long periods of time to hold herself up to potty but we help her when we can, or she hobbles into our shower and has figured out where she can lie so it runs down in to the shower drain and doesn't get her wet. (Cats are so smart.) Sure are hoping that given time she regains some of the strength so she can at least go to the bathroom without such hardships. We ask ourselves if we should just let go but she keeps fighting so we feel we gotta give her time to let the medicines do their thing. Makes us sad that it took so long to get her diagnosis and meds.

When she hears the food cans opening she has an interest but she sniffs it and turns away. That suggests to me it's all about her cold and not being able to smell. Hopefully, the new and improved snot sucker will help. (I'm telling you ... try telling your brain it's okay to suck on this hose that pulls snot. It's a lot easier said than done and makes that test of rubbing your belly with your hand going in circles one direction and your other hand rubbing your head in circles the opposite direction, all while jumping a rope on one leg, seem as easy as breathing. ) It does work though and is a great exercise to improve your gag reflex. :eek:

I'm working from home today so I should be able to do a little better job with keeping her BGs posted.

Hope you all have a wonderful Monday and happy and healing vines to all fur critters an beans.

yesterday
 
You are both having such a tough time at the moment, I really feel for you. Sending prayers and hugs and hope that Zoey soon starts feeling the benefit of her new meds. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sending healing vines for Zoey and :bighug: for you and H (even if he isn't "D" right now...too funny) It is so hard to have an appetite when you can't smell anything.

Have you tried using a raised food bowl for her. When a kitty ..or a person...is congested it is worse when they have to hang their head down. I was reminded of that since I came down with a good head and chest cold on Friday. ;)
 
Hope today is a better day for all of you . Sending vines that the medicine works soon and
Zoey starts showing some improvement. :bighug:
 
Thank you, Suki, Mary Ann and Peg! Thoughts and prayers are much appreciated!

Mary Ann -- Her bowls are lifted, but she won't touch them. I've added a cap of ACV to her drinking water and she's drinking it without turning her nose up at it, and we've crushed a L-Lysine and add a pinch to her food at each feeding. She's had Milk Thistle and I added a measured 1/16th of ACV to her food. I don't know that I can tell how much is her not feeling good due to the URI or how much is her not feeling good to these dadgum blasted highs she won't come out of. If she stays here, I'm going to go ahead and up her pm shot to 3.75. It might be the enzymes and/or the L-Lysine that's being added.
 
Thank you, Suki, Mary Ann and Peg! Thoughts and prayers are much appreciated!

Mary Ann -- Her bowls are lifted, but she won't touch them. I've added a cap of ACV to her drinking water and she's drinking it without turning her nose up at it, and we've crushed a L-Lysine and add a pinch to her food at each feeding. She's had Milk Thistle and I added a measured 1/16th of ACV to her food. I don't know that I can tell how much is her not feeling good due to the URI or how much is her not feeling good to these dadgum blasted highs she won't come out of. If she stays here, I'm going to go ahead and up her pm shot to 3.75. It might be the enzymes and/or the L-Lysine that's being added.


WOW if Zoey is drinking her water with ACV then she must have a diminished sense of smell!! I know when Tuxie had his bad episode of URI a few years ago, I had to syringe feed him for a few days. This is a cat who will eat anything at anytime and ask for more. Same with me the last few days...I am so stuffed that I have no sense of smell, so food has no taste. I know enough to eat, but for a kitty whose sense of smell is what makes them want to eat it is difficult.

Healing vines for Zoey to get over her stuffiness and start to eat. Come on Zoey!!!
 
It's not much ACV. I feed her so many small servings that it's easy just to put a drop or two here and there to be sure she gets some of the wonderfulness of it. I'm too afraid, with all of her issues, to put too much in there - might be too harsh for her in larger portions. You might try the ACV for you, Mary Ann. Whenever anyone in this house gets sick, it's an automatic thing. Will knock a sore throat out in a heartbeat! I do hope you start feeling better soon!!

OT: DH (yeah, I'm sweet on him again) and I are into birds and critters. Can't tell you how many different types of critters have been brought to our home over the years for rehabilitation. DH used to have a squirrel that would travel with him in his pocket and he'd go through the McD's drive-thru and they'd feed him french fries. So anyway, our home is critter friendly. Right outside my home office window is a dish with birdseed on the front porch table. Over the last three days the daddy cardinal has been bringing his three fledglings by to feed them the bird seed. They were sitting around the dish and he would get the seed and put in each of their little mouths. Today, they're venturing out on their own and visiting and eating from the feeder without assistance. I cannot tell you how unbelievably adorable they are. Their colors are just starting to show and they're kind of ruffled looking so you can tell they're juveniles. There's a little puddle of water from the sprinklers running this morning and they're playing in the water. It's awfully hard to get work done today! DH came in and got me about an hour ago because the Carolina Wrens that were nesting in a hollowed-out log hanging on our shed wall are leaving the nest. The mama was teaching them how to fly and they were testing their wings and fluttering up and down. She'd get a bug and show them and then coax them out just a little further, a little further... precious. Good things are better when shared. :)
 
Good things are better when shared - that it oh-so-true! I loved hearing about your birds. Years ago, when we were putting an addition on our house, 2 babies (blue jays) fell into the basement (which was wide open) before they really learned to fly. At first the Mama was really upset, but we let the babies stay in there rather than take them out (we had neighborhood cats on the prowl for "snacks"). We made the construction crew work around the babies. Oh my goodness were they adorable. We have lots of pictures. It was a bittersweet day when they learned to fly well enough to leave "our" nest!

Continued prayers for sweet Zoey....I'm glad "H" is back to being DH (we all have those moments)!
 
You are having a really tough time right now, but you are one great mumma bean!!
I think you are doing a fantastic job looking after Zoey.
Sending apply, walking and healing vines to Zoey.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Am I correct in assuming you are giving Zoey Apple Cider Vinegar? Wow, I've never heard of that, but I can agree that her sense of smell, and taste, too, is out of whack! Once again, you amaze and humble me with the lengths you are going to for your baby. You always hear that your kitty will let you know when he/she is ready to head for the Bridge. Zoey reminds me of our Cinco, when he was so weak and sick with DKA, and the vet said we should let him go, and so did everyone else. He stood up in his cage and meowed at us, as if to say: I'm not done yet! Don't give up on me! We didn't, and he's still here, four years later. Zoey has that spunk and desire to live, too, and you are wonderful to listen to her and help her on her journey back to health.

I'm glad you remembered for yourself that your DH is a keeper, and we didn't have to remind you! :joyful::bighug: Sending lots more healing vines and prayers and hugs, too.
 
Sending tons of vines for Zoey. What a trooper she is! I hope that her cold clears up soon. The other issues will not seem so daunting when her cold is gone. Perhaps try Standard Process Allerplex? Rusty has chronic congestion and this has helped him in the past (but he is in a phase now where he refuses to take it). I open a capsule and mix the contents into a teaspoon of meat baby food and give it once a day.

Hang in there. You and your DH are doing a great job. I love your bird stories. We had our first hummingbird of the season arrive today: a female Ruby Throated Hummingbird. I look forward to their arrival every spring and feel sad when they depart in the fall.

Ella & Rusty
 
We had our first hummingbird of the season arrive today: a female Ruby Throated Hummingbird. I look forward to their arrival every spring and feel sad when they depart in the fall.
The hummingbirds are back at my parents' house, too! My dad makes everyone stop and watch whenever they come by and we're there. We joke that they're his pets now that my siblings and I have moved out with ours.

Rose, continued piles of vines, prayers, and long distance gentle scritches for Zoey. You and DH are amazing. All of your critters are so lucky, especially Zoey (she of Bad Cats Club Kibble Raid fame!).
 
Loved the bluejay story Amy. We believe there is a special place in heaven for people who are kind to critters!

Thank you Mariko and Bron for the healing vines and well wishes. Zoey is a fighter ... some snotty nose isn't going to get the better of her. :)

Tricia -- we've been giving our cats ACV for years. Matter of fact, Vet #1 has changed the way he treats crystals in cats because of the miraculous turnaround our Simon had with ACV. He gave Simon less than 5% chance of living and I read about ACV on earthclinic.com and dosed him with it and he lived for many more years and died from something altogether different (he was a stray in poor health when he adopted us). It helps with all kinds of ailments and DH finds relief from kidney stones (dissolved two and kept him from having surgery) by taking it. Amazingly powerful stuff. Zoe needs powerful stuff. ... and yes; no need to remind me DH is a keeper; he's a good guy, for sure. And thank you so much for sharing the story of Cinco. Trials, tribulations and overcoming obstacles are inspiration to us. If you listen to them, they'll let you know I think. Just like you heard it in Cinco's meow that he wasn't ready. That's just precious. Give him attaboy scritches from us for being such a trooper!

Ella -- I've bookmarked those meds and will look into them. Thank you for the tip. I've not come across that yet in my searches! My heart goes out to you if you deal with this chronic congetstion stuff on a regular basis. Wow... talk about exhausting. Bless you for taking such good care of him and sticking with him. I think most of here are of like mind and there's nothing any of us wouldn't try if we thought it woudl help. Good people beget good people. :) We are fortunate to have hummingbirds in the garden year round. We have a pond and they like to hang out there. We were trimming trees a few months ago and we found what looked like leaves, all "stuck" together at the end of a tree branch. It was actually a hummingbird nest and the hole was so tiny I could barely put the tip of my pinky finger in the opening. I tried to open it up to see all of the weaving inside and it was so strong that I had to take garden shears to it and still struggled with getting it to cut open. Of course, that sent me on a search and I discovered that they like to nest over the water and that's where this limb had been. I was glad there were no birds in the nest but it sure would be something to see such tiny little babies. I take them for granted but would hate to see them leave, too.

Patricia -- I fully understand your dad's attachment. In a way they are pets. If you watch them enough they each have their own personality. At least I can tell my cardinals apart. Can't believe you remember Zoe's kibble krawl. Seems like that was forever ago. Hopefully she'll be back to her bad girl self pretty soon. I'd rather be watching over her to keep her out of kibble than this current gig we've got going on.

Zoe's doing well today, overall. She's pooped and peed and ate and taken her medicine, had a bath, steam sauna and been treated inside and out with coconut oil. Oh, and she's got a new nightie on that her dad picked out for her. It's covered in -- what else? -- birds. :D I'll have to take a picture and post it tomorrow for Marje. I know her Gracie will want one. ;)

Many more kitty mouths to feed and eggs to collect and goats to herd. I'm going to try and catch a few hours of shut eye before I check Zoe again. DH is going to be up working tonight so that will let me get an extra hour or two if I hurry.

(Sorry so OT .. sometimes it's nice to have light-hearted conversation full of happy thoughts. I find it lightens the load and the soul.)

Well wishes, everyone! And thanks for stopping in and cheering Team Zoey on!! :cat:
 
(((((Rose)))) I am actually glad you skipped to get back on your regular time frame- also very relieved to hear the great vet is back for you! Although the aspiring vet did a nice job as well?

Sending tons and tons more healing and appy vines for Zoey- you're all very amazing! None of us can predict where our journies will lead us to, but for Zoey, I know she is in good hands with you and your DH and you can't ask for much more than that! I hope you have a better night's rest tonight! Eat your fuds little girl!

LOL on your "H" this morning, did you know that in my vocabulary, sometimes the "D" in DH isn't always short for "dear" ...:rolleyes::rolleyes: However, I am very tickled to read how he redeemed himself back to the Dear Husband status! We love birds nearly as much as kitties in our HH- I have Black-capped Chickadees as well as Chestnut-backed Chickadees nesting in my boxes this year, plus the Hairy Woodpecker has already brought one fledgling to my suet feeders, more to time! Love spring! :joyful::joyful::joyful:
 
I'm intrigued by the many uses for ACV, so much so that I'm going to buy some next time I'm out. Is that just the regular stuff or do you get bio?

Continued get better vines for Zoey, you and your DH (so glad he's back in favour) are amazing and an inspiration to us all :bighug:
 
Many more prayers for Zoey. She will probably feel much better once she can breathe. I also use the Allerplex...good stuff.

I call my husband "Ellie Mae" because he's always out there tending his critters. Currently, the little round tailed ground squirrels are out. We have Dora the Exlporer who likes to come in the garage, Chirp, Maggie, Bridget who just had five adorable babies, and Outsider Mike. We also have about a 20" rattlesnake by the hose reel...we've named him Lil Dude. He doesn't get much tending ;). And of course, we also have a "cement pond" . Your H sounds like my DH.
 
Yikes Marje @Marje and Gracie .
Are you seriously saying you have a rattle snake in your backyard?
When we lived in the country we had copperheads in the paddocks but not near the house....except when one came in the kitchen and I found it lying curled up in the middle of the room with its head up. It eventually got back outside and one of my cats bailed it up on the stairs and I got it in a cardboard box and took it back to the paddocks.
But a rattle snake!

Sending anti congestion vines to Zoey. And a :bighug: for you Rose
 
Ruth -- Your D made me laugh. Using that vernacular, I wouldn't have had to omit it. :p We don't have chickadees here but we have had a few hairy woodpeckers. We've never been fortunate enough to see a baby though. I bet they're as cute as can be.

Thank you for the continued prayers, Rhiannon. We are for sure on borrowed time and getting Zoey by on a wing and a prayer. :bighug:

Suki -- Braggs ACV (organic), with the mother. (the stuff that floats around -- just ignore it. It's good for you.) Thank you for helping to prop us up. Couldn't do it without everyone here.

Marje -- yes, our DHs sound like kindred spirits. When he wakes, I'm going to share with him the squirrel names. It'll remind him of our squirrel families. There have been many. You are more compassionate than we are though. The rattler would not live long here at this house. We do have plenty of snakes (the good kind) and would never harm them on purpose. They're great for keeping rodents and frogs at bay. The frogs would run us out of house and home if'n we didn't have the good snakes up by the house. You be careful with that rattler. They can lunge lightening fast. Them cement ponds require too much effort for our tastes. We just dug a hole, added some soothing visuals, threw in some fish and swim in it. We've currently got an interloping snapping turtle (pretty big, too) that we're trying to relocate. He's pretty smart and has so far escaped capture. Until he's out, we'll wear some shoes to cover our toes. Wouldn't want him to mistake them for some bite-size pieces of meat. :nailbiting:

Bron ... Copperhead would have been boxed and buried here at this house. We love MOST critters, not ALL. :stop:

new day, new issues. moving to a new condo.
 
Yikes Marje @Marje and Gracie .
Are you seriously saying you have a rattle snake in your backyard?

He's not in the backyard. The backyard is totally walled. He's in the front but not where people walk...except us. We are on a little over an acre of native desert....our property is all rocked. We have all kinds of critters...snakes, Gila monsters, ground squirrels, javelina, deer, Bobcats, and coyotes. We actually have three rattlesnakes on the property including Big Boy who is about three feet long. We watch for them all. We have a healthy respect (I am a wildlife biologist by education and profession). Our backyard is landscaped and is a lovely garden (although not an English garden which I've often had elsewhere). The pond sounds wonderful, Rose! Even the turtle!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top