5/18 Loudogg AMPS 249 +7 228 +9.5 202 PMPS 214 - Reduction failed

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
May 17, 2019 Condo

Good morning everyone!
I could just cry seeing that yellow for AMPS this morning. :arghh::arghh: I knew almost immediately that this reduction wasn't going to hold, but I hoped he would start to even out. Unfortunately, he's gone in the opposite direction. So back to 2.75u we go. I hope he goes right back to the beautiful numbers he'd been having for the last month. I'd hate for a failed reduction to bring back his previous bad behavior. We'll chalk this up to either a bad test or perhaps some antibodies dying off. You can tell he doesn't feel good at the higher numbers, which is crazy when you think that these numbers used to be his normal. Still sweet and lovey, just bleh. ...But seriously.. he almost went a full month without these ugly yellows... Hopefully things turn around soon!

I hope you all have a wonderful day and your kitties surf safely!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Try some blues and greens on for size Lou!! Kick those yellows to the curb :D

Have a great day Amanda :)
 
Don't you need to wait a few days for the new dose to get adjusted?


images
 
Well, Lou's BGs today aren't fantastic, but still heading in the right direction despite the new dose wonkiness. I wondered if that would still occur, and it seems that aspect hasn't gone away (not that I thought it would... I just hoped). Hopefully he'll come down further tonight!
Don't you need to wait a few days for the new dose to get adjusted?


images
When thinking about a standard dose increase, you are absolutely right. I should wait at least 3 days/6 cycles prior to increasing. Failed reductions don't follow the same guidelines. Once you've ascertained the reduction failed, you can go up to the last good dose without holding the reduced dose the full 6 cycles. Now normally, I would still wait 6 cycles to be sure (for my own piece of mind), but since he's had such good numbers lately, I could tell the reduction failed right away. Additionally, there's almost always someone home to check him if something goes awry. Obviously there has to be some level of comfort here for these things, but we were willing to take the risk to avoid his BGs going too far out of control (which does happen with Lou, usually because of his IAA).
 
Good luck with the increase. You don’t have to wait six cycles, only as long as it takes him to get over a bounce, or if you see the numbers trending up, which you did. Good call Amanda,
 
Back
Top