5/18 Sebastian AMPS 263 +3.5 278 +6 260 +11 262 PMPS 230. Vet results, probable IBD

Justin & Sebastian

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

AMPS 263. Blood ketones 0.2. Ketones at least are looking good. Still no movement on BG. Looks like there was diarrhea in the box. I tried reintroducing the probiotic last night to help things along, taking that back out in case it's the cause.

This is cycle 6 since the last increase so unless he goes blue today I'll be increasing at PM.
 
Vet called with test results. Said his WBC is high which can indicate infection or inflamation. He's been on an antibiotic for a week so it's leaning more towards inflamation. His B-12 is low. Between those two things it's possible intestinal disease like IBD. Going to start giving him B-12 shots and see how he responds, if he doesn't we'll have to do more tests like another ultrasound to confirm the disease and then possible change the diet to a novel/raw.
 
Yup, so I started reading the link to http://www.rawfeedingforibdcats.org/ that @Wendy&Neko provided and it's right there in the first paragraph. "An early warning sign is frequent hairballs - "frequent" being more than once every month or two (!!!)" For at least a month before the diarrhea started he was throwing up hairballs every other night. Between that, the elevated WBC, the physical exam where the vet said his intestines felt thick, and the diarrhea, I think we'll just go ahead and assume it's IBD.
 
So, in light of this new information, I am no longer going to increase the dose since it seems likely this underlying issue is what is inflating the BG. The ketones are staying low so it's less pressing to get the BG under control, and if they do start to rise again I will handle it with sub-q. So I guess the question right now is, should I back the dosage back down again?
 
Took a quick to the "fancy" pet store and all their stuff was garbage so it looks like I'll have to do homemade.

So just to confirm, I can start transition and making sure he likes the texture by giving him a bit of raw meat? Like, raw turkey is okay?
 
Ok so we have a few things going on, I can't help with IBD, but good job doing some research, I think I recall reading finding a novel protein like rabbit or something other than typical chicken, fish, etc might help? As for dose, well I suspect now that you are here, however more quickly you arrived at it than TR would suggest, I would think going back isn't the right choice, especially since you have the ketones under control. You test enough to see if you will be running into trouble, I just don't know how it works with the insulin resistance factor as well.
 
I just also have to say I'm so f'ing annoyed with the vets right now, after reading that http://www.rawfeedingforibdcats.org/ site.

"An early warning sign is frequent hairballs". Took him in for that a month ago, IBD wasn't even mentioned.

"
Symptoms of IBD can include
-frequent vomiting or intermittent bouts of vomiting
-regurgitating hairballs more than once every two months
-diarrhea or bouts of diarrhea
-constipation
-unexplained weight loss
-variation in appetite and/or nausea
-lethargy"

Been to the vet twice for vomiting bouts in the past 4 months. To vet for hairballs every other day last month. Took a specific trip to the vet for the weight loss and have been mentioning it to both the local vet and the hospital vets for 6 months. Appetite has been up and down for 5-6 months. Lethargy for 6 months, also mentioned to vets. IBD wasn't even mentioned until I brought him in for diarrhea, and even then it was a "maybe". I look at that list and say "yeah, that's almost definitely what he has". We should have been treating this months ago.
 
So, in light of this new information, I am no longer going to increase the dose since it seems likely this underlying issue is what is inflating the BG. The ketones are staying low so it's less pressing to get the BG under control, and if they do start to rise again I will handle it with sub-q. So I guess the question right now is, should I back the dosage back down again?
Ugh, that is really annoying with the vet. I'm curious what @Wendy&Neko would say, but considering IAA is on the table and Sebastian has not seen any blues, I would still increase the dose tonight to 3.75u. The ketones are in a good range right now, but that can change quickly. I think it would be a good idea to try to get those numbers back down while you work on treating the IBD. You don't want to give those antibodies too much of a chance to overwhelm the insulin, which might require even more increases down the line. Since you're following TR, you do test enough to catch him if he starts needing decreases.
 
PMPS 230. Ketones 0.4.

I would still increase the dose tonight to 3.75u.
I was planning on holding at least one more cycle to get some more input, but now with that 230 AMPS I'm definitely holding. That's a big drop for 45 minutes. Might just be meter variance, might be the start of some activity. We'll see what +2 looks like.

Going to give him a sub-q bubble after dinner too. Been a few days since he's had one and with the diarrhea picking back up a bit I want to make sure his electrolytes stay up.
 
I just also have to say I'm so f'ing annoyed with the vets right now, after reading that http://www.rawfeedingforibdcats.org/ site.

"An early warning sign is frequent hairballs". Took him in for that a month ago, IBD wasn't even mentioned.

"
Symptoms of IBD can include
-frequent vomiting or intermittent bouts of vomiting
-regurgitating hairballs more than once every two months
-diarrhea or bouts of diarrhea
-constipation
-unexplained weight loss
-variation in appetite and/or nausea
-lethargy"

Been to the vet twice for vomiting bouts in the past 4 months. To vet for hairballs every other day last month. Took a specific trip to the vet for the weight loss and have been mentioning it to both the local vet and the hospital vets for 6 months. Appetite has been up and down for 5-6 months. Lethargy for 6 months, also mentioned to vets. IBD wasn't even mentioned until I brought him in for diarrhea, and even then it was a "maybe". I look at that list and say "yeah, that's almost definitely what he has". We should have been treating this months ago.
:eek:
 
Solving the IBD puzzle, if that is what he has, is not a quick fix. I would work on getting to a good insulin dose at the same time. Paws crossed you see some downward movement tonight.

Probiotics are part of the equation for helping IBD, Visbiome is made for IBD and one recommended by an internal medicine vet.
 
Back
Top