5/22 Luci AMPS 254,2+206,6+124, 9+255 (post vet visit) PMPS 296,2+240, 5+235

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Kinda thought on day 2 she'd go a bit lower - maybe needs more time to adjust to this new lower dose. I have a feeling that vet visit this afternoon for pre-surgical blood work is going to send her to the moon.
 
So the vets office recommended .5 dose on Thursday morning - NO FOOD after midnight. I'm nervous about that! They said the procedure would happen around noon. I said that's a long time for her to go without food after getting insulin! They said they'd keep an eye on her - why do I not feel very confident of that??? I'm going to tape a sign on her carrier that says 'DIABETIC' - they're making me nervous - can I trust them to test her BG regularly? The assistant explained that they would be doing some pre-op things like starting an IV, etc. - 4 hours seems like a long time to start IV's to me...Impatient, nervous mama bean here!
 
What your vet has suggested is the "normal" but older method of dealing with diabetic cats and anesthesia. I had vet's say the same for Neko. Did you confirm with the office that was what they wanted for a diabetic? The newer method is still half dose in the AM, but some food up to six hour before the procedure. Not all injected food goes to combat carbs from food, it is still needed for other things in the cat.
 
What your vet has suggested is the "normal" but older method of dealing with diabetic cats and anesthesia. I had vet's say the same for Neko. Did you confirm with the office that was what they wanted for a diabetic? The newer method is still half dose in the AM, but some food up to six hour before the procedure. Not all injected food goes to combat carbs from food, it is still needed for other things in the cat.
I did tell her - Luci is DIABETIC! Please keep that in mind. She went back to double check with the vet - and came back and told me that the vet said '1/2 dose and no food after midnight' - I asked when the procedure was going to happen and told her of my concerns about Luci's blood sugar - I emphasized that Luci has a tendency to drop dramatically - so she will need to be tested. There was no miscommunication on my part about my concerns for Luci. I will definitely make sure she has food down from 11-12; but will get up to remove anything she's not eaten by midnight - so there won't be any food in her system when the procedure starts. The tech said they will be giving her anti-nausea meds, etc. so they'll be keeping a close eye on her. I'd feel better if I could sit there all day and test her myself - but they never let me come into the back for any of that :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top