5/29 Cooper: Saw progress, now hitting wall - go up after 4 cycles?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Millie and Cooper

Member Since 2015
Last post on Cooper: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/do-we-need-to-fast-track-cooper.138540/

I use the AT2 monitor.

We upped Cooper to 3.75 units of Lev on 5/27 pm and he had pretty decent numbers yesterday! He even surfed in the yellow for a bit. But he went up overnight and we were up again in the black this morning at 559 and at his +7, he had only came down to 498. :(

We did give him sub-q fluids late the night of the 27th for his CKD, so that may have helped get his numbers down a bit. But if you look back at the other times we've given him fluids, the numbers didn't always go down. Many times they stayed flat. So I'm not sure how much the fluids played a part this time.

So we've done this dose for 4 cycles. Should we fast-track it and go up to 4 units tonight or should we hold it for another couple of cycles?

What do all you experts think? Thank you!
 
Last edited:
I am not an expert. However there is a chance that Cooper is still bouncing from yesterday's lower numbers (for him anyway). It can take several days for a bounce to clear. With my Tuxie he can sometimes take up to 5 days to adjust to a new dose. New dose wonkiness (NDW) can cause higher numbers for a few cycles while Cooper adjusts to it. At this point Cooper is used to being in higher numbers and his body will try to keep him there.

Hopefully you will get some replies back soon from more experienced members.
 
Hello Millie - happy belated birthday. Yesterday Marje wrote:
If you elect to fast track, as soon as he starts seeing what would be the equivalent nadirs below 300, then hold the dose six cycles and see what he does.
Since you did see a nadir below 300 yesterday (and yeah for that !!!!), that means holding another two cycles. Not only was his nadir below 300 on an AT, it would have been even better on a human meter. :) Great present from Cooper.
 
Yeah I'm feeling like maybe we should hold the dose another 2 cycles.

When I look back at his data, I get so pissed at myself. We really rushed some dosing changes in some places and others we held too long, simply because we really just didn't know any better. I just hope we haven't surpassed the right dose on Levemir and that we can still find that "magic" dose. Can't go back and change things now, just have to keep moving forward.
 
I have always found that hindsight focuses on where you screwed up and never on what you've done right. ;)

From my side of the computer, I can see what you've done right:
- you've got a good insulin for Cooper
- you are getting enough tests in so there is no doubt about the picture of what's going on with his blood sugar
- you've sought out help from the best website there is on Feline Diabetes
- you're "showing up for class" ready to learn
- you're open to what people are telling you (you wouldn't believe how many people respond to every suggestion with an excuse why it won't work!)

So good job! :) He'll get there - he isn't the first cat that we've seen with constant high numbers. You'll see progress. None of us can say when, but it will come.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top