Mouse & Me
Member since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-295-2-299-pmps-264-glucose-toxicity.196207/
Surfed out of the yellow, into the blue this morning
Surfed out of the yellow, into the blue this morning
I meant, like a chart, using what you just said about her SS, like this:To me, it looks like her onset is +2.5-+3ish. It looks in the daytime that she typically nadirs +6 to +8 timeframe, when I try to determine this, I look for cycles that are similar or as close to a “normal” cycle as possible (as in no bounce or super high pre shot number, etc.), so today’s I compare to 5/25 and 5/27 am cycles. A template would be nice, and one does exist, but the problem is ECID so you results may look quite different. It’s really tricky to see patterns sometimes, especially if they are not very predictable and well regulated. That’s why I try to look for like/similar cycles to compare to the one I am seeing to get an idea. And of course, you can’t really analyze a cycle on its own, you have to step back and look at the big picture and try to see the patterns that way, what is the overall trend/color pattern, how long bounces last, what a failed reduction might look like, are bounces from food, a low, a steep drop? It’s a lot to unpack and it isn’t always clear anyway. Looking big picture, in the month of May, Mouse has seen much better numbers overall than she was seeing previous to this. It’s progress for sure and you have to celebrate that!
Here’s “the template” from the basics sticky:
Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.