5/30,Chuck,AMPS 149,+2 269,+3 278,+6 247,+9.5 213,PMPS 174, +2.25 158,+3 143,+6 77, +7 68+8 84+10 73

Status
Not open for further replies.
Stay safe Chuck, no shenanigans for papabean.

His amps suggests that his numbers were falling, if dh is able to get a +1/or +2, that's what I'd suggest, the presence/or absence of food spike will give you/him the heads up of how the cycle will pan out, and allow you to stay ahead of the insulin.
 
Had an interesting beginning to the PM cycle today. Updated SS and title. WE HAVE GREEN.
I gave him a spoon of his regular LC food at +2.25. Then at +3 I gave him about a tsp of HC gravy because I had to leave the house. My uncle is in the ICU from an accidental overdose on his sleeping medication. He's going to be ok but they're just waiting for it to wear off and get his mind straight again.
Anyway-- with the extra food and the HC gravy he was 77 at +6. He got his snack after that reading and +7 is 68.
I'm expecting a bounce in the morning so I think I'm going to keep his dose at 12.
BUT this brings up the question about "earning" the reduction. If he didn't get the HC gravy and extra ounce of food he most likely would have dropped below 50. He still has 5 hours left to go and has been dipping around +10 to +12. I have to go to bed early but I'm going to try to get +8 then DH will get home around +10 to test.
Should we try reducing to 11.75 or stick with the 12 and hope he stays flat instead of dropping?
This is where I get confused and panic.
 
It's hard to guess what might have happened. Often cats that are determined to earn a reduction will do so even with gravy. But what you do decide to do depends on your ability to monitor. And it's possible he will bounce as you said.
 
He's already going up so I think we'll try the 12 again. DH can monitor until +3 and I can take over at +4.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top