5/5 Dave PMPS 65, +0.5 85, +1.5 74, +2.5 74, +3.5 76, +4.5 74 , +5.5 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

panda28

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone, Dave's been going amazing! Tonight he's gotten his lowest preshot yet, a 67. At this point in time, I'm waiting 15 minutes and will retest to check that he's coming up. Any advice for what to do, I'm sort of nervous. I'll be able to watch him 24/7 for the next few cycles, if that helps.
Thanks for any advice!
 
Hi Again.....did you test at all between the +6 and PMPS?
He is staying pretty low ....let's see if he can come up at all. You are not giving him anything to eat are you?
 
Hi Again.....did you test at all between the +6 and PMPS?
He is staying pretty low ....let's see if he can come up at all. You are not giving him anything to eat are you?


No tests between +6 and PMPS unfortunately. He hasn't had any food tonight yet.

15 minutes since last test and he's 67.
 
Ok.
It is always a good idea, if you get a number like 65 to test again an hour later to see he is not dropping any lower.
That is good you haven't fed him yet. We need to see if he is going to come up on his own.
He is doing remarkably well by the way!
 
Ok.
It is always a good idea, if you get a number like 65 to test again an hour later to see he is not dropping any lower.
That is good you haven't fed him yet. We need to see if he is going to come up on his own.
He is doing remarkably well by the way!

How late is too late to give him insulin?
 
It is really up to you how far off schedule you are able to go. I have stalled for up to 2 hours, but it is a nuisance getting back on schedule.. let's see what his next reading is. That will be +12.45 right?
 
It is really up to you how far off schedule you are able to go. I have stalled for up to 2 hours, but it is a nuisance getting back on schedule.. let's see what his next reading is. That will be +12.45 right?


His next one will be +1. I probably should have put the times next to them so:
  • PMPS - 67
  • +12.15 - 65
  • +12.30 - 61
  • +12.45 - 67
 
His next one will be +1. I probably should have put the times next to them so:
  • PMPS - 67
  • +12.15 - 65
  • +12.30 - 61
  • +12.45 - 67
So basically he is just surfing.
How about we wait til +1 and see what he is?
If he is much the same, you could wait further or you could decide to give a dose of insulin.
67 is by far your lowest preshot and it is good if you can manage to shoot a green number.....we say "shoot low to stay low" but I feel that 67 is just a bit too low to give a full dose to as you don't know how he will go. It is better, I think, to work your way down to a really low number before shooting the full dose. Does that make sense?
Are you able to monitor him all night and do you have plenty of HC food in the house?
 
So basically he is just surfing.
How about we wait til +1 and see what he is?
If he is much the same, you could wait further or you could decide to give a dose of insulin.
67 is by far your lowest preshot and it is good if you can manage to shoot a green number.....we say "shoot low to stay low" but I feel that 67 is just a bit too low to give a full dose to as you don't know how he will go. It is better, I think, to work your way down to a really low number before shooting the full dose. Does that make sense?
Are you able to monitor him all night and do you have plenty of HC food in the house?

Yeah, that makes sense. We've got lots (over 250g) of HC, and I'll be up all night to watch him if I have to. I'll at least get the +1.15.
 
Well Done!
I will keep an eye on you, if you can post all his numbers that would be good.
Remember you can manipulate the curve with food, so if he is dropping too low, give him some high carb food or/and honey. Just don't feed him too much at once in case you need him to eat for you later.
And if he is low and he is refusing to eat for you, you can always rub honey on his gums.
Where abouts in Aust do you live?
 
Well Done!
I will keep an eye on you, if you can post all his numbers that would be good.
Remember you can manipulate the curve with food, so if he is dropping too low, give him some high carb food or/and honey. Just don't feed him too much at once in case you need him to eat for you later.
And if he is low and he is refusing to eat for you, you can always rub honey on his gums.
Where abouts in Aust do you live?

I'll make sure to keep this thread and his SS updated. We live in the Central Coast. Thanks to everyone for their help.
 
Your new 12 hour cycle starts from when you gave the insulin. So the next dose would be due at 8.15 tomorrow morning, right??
So if you want to get back on schedule, you can give the insulin 1/4 hour earlier each insulin dose until you are back to your 7:7 schedule. So tomorrow am give at 8am and tomorrow night 7.45pm and Sunday am 7.30am and Sunday night 7.15pm then on Monday am you are back to 7am.
If I were you I would get a +1 to see how Dave is going as well as a +2.
 
Just looked at your BSLs. When you stall and go over the 12 hours, all the numbers stay in the +11 column. So the numbers you have put in the +1 column of the PM cycle need to go in the +11 column of the AM cycle. And you start a new 12 hour cycle.....so when you take a +1 or a +2 reading, they will go in the +1 and +2 columns as normal. Does that make sense?
 
Hi Jacqui! Good job shooting a green number! The first one is always scary and as Bron said, most of the time we ease into them with lowering the no shot number but as long as you can monitor tonight and have plenty of supplies, it is great that you are shooting something. There is a good chance that he will start a bounce from being in those greens that long .

I was just going to tell you about your SS but I see that Bron beat me to it. So if you shot an hour and a half late, that would be +13.5 and that number would go into the +12 column with the last reading you got. Then anyone that looked at the SS would know that you shot 1.5 hours late. Then all other numbers go into the corresponding cells as the +1 and +2 and so on do not change; they are still +1 , +2 etc from the time you shot.
 
Just looked at your BSLs. When you stall and go over the 12 hours, all the numbers stay in the +11 column. So the numbers you have put in the +1 column of the PM cycle need to go in the +11 column of the AM cycle. And you start a new 12 hour cycle.....so when you take a +1 or a +2 reading, they will go in the +1 and +2 columns as normal. Does that make sense?

I've had a go of fixing it, does it look better now? I'll make sure to gradually bring him back to his normal time. His @+0.5 is 85.
 
I've had a go of fixing it, does it look better now? I'll make sure to gradually bring him back to his normal time. His @+0.5 is 85.
That's good enough. Actually all the numbers that are in the +11 could be stacked into the +12 but, it would get a bit crowded in there. It is clear to peeps looking at the SS what went on. :)
 
I've had a go of fixing it, does it look better now? I'll make sure to gradually bring him back to his normal time. His @+0.5 is 85.
Where you have put the 67 @+0.5....that should say 67 @12.5 and the next one should say 61@+13
Apart from that and what Bobbie said about all going in the one column, you had a really good go......it is very confusing in the beginning!
I think you are managing the whole diabetes thing amazingly well considering you are only 16!!! :)
You can be very proud of yourself!
 
Jacqui, these are for you. Here is L & L we present the coveted Balls of Steel for the first green shot. Congratulations!

upload_2017-5-5_7-22-42.png
 
@+1.5 he's 74. Seeing as he's dropping, I'm going to really watch him tonight. Normally he gets a meal 6 hours after his shot - would I give it at his normal time, or +6 from the time I gave the shot tonight?
 
@+1.5 he's 74. Seeing as he's dropping, I'm going to really watch him tonight. Normally he gets a meal 6 hours after his shot - would I give it at his normal time, or +6 from the time I gave the shot tonight?
He is basically surfing without much change. It would be a good idea for you to give him a little bit of LC food to keep him surfing rather than to wait until his normal + 6 meal time. Even just a teaspoon or so giving at every test could make a nice difference to keep him surfing away. Of course if he starts to drop lower and is going towards 50, you would bring out the MC food and if he goes under 50 give some HC food.
 
+4.5 he's 74 again! So is the teaspoon each test (about 4 total now) meant to replace his 70g meal he'd get at +6? I'm worried he'd be too hungry if I skip it.
 
+4.5 he's 74 again! So is the teaspoon each test (about 4 total now) meant to replace his 70g meal he'd get at +6? I'm worried he'd be too hungry if I skip it.
Still surfing!
If you think he is hungry, you can feed him a bit extra, but I think I would keep doing what you have been doing and feed him a little each time you test. You don't want to fill him up just yet in case you need him to eat over the next few hours. Do you think he is getting the equivelant of the 70 g?

How are you going?Are you managing to stay awake OK.? If you are sleepy, you could set your phone alarm just in case you fall asleep. Is your Mum able to help out?
I am going to have to go to sleep now. Hopefully there will be people online now from the US who can help you if needed. You are managing really well. If you do need help urgently, you can change the subject line to ask for help or use the 911 if he is dropping really low and you need help urgently. Hopefully he will continue to surf.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top