5/7 Billie PMPS 244

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello!!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-5-billie-pmps-360-4-5-172.137396/

Thanks so much to everyone who stopped by to weigh in on yesterday's appy and poo dilemmas! I appreciate it. Thanks @Anne & Zener (GA) for the extra special visit from Detective Poo.

Billie's appy is great tonight!! I'm surprised and happy. It was iffy earlier, but it has been improving all day, and she did so well with her dinner. She has been back for a lot of snacks. That is a relief. I am hoping the ondansetron is working again.

She had another fairly hard poo today, and I am going to try Miralax. She doesn't like pumpkin or squash, unfortunately. She loves her olive oil, but I have read that's not good to give regularly.

I talked to her IM vet who does think we should explore the possibility of IBD/lymphoma but is recommending treating symptomatically for now as long as her appy comes back. She said she would ideally recommend a novel protein diet, but we're out of novel proteins that Billie will eat. She also suggested a prescription hydrolyzed protein diet, but the only wet option is Hill's, and the ingredients are bad news. I guess Royal Canin and Purina used to make them but they discontinued the canned. She also said that we could try metronidazole for the possibility that it is IBD and her gut is reacting to its own bacteria. After that, she recommends a biopsy. I asked about trying a steroid and she said she would be hesitant to do that without a biopsy, although her regular vet said that he would be inclined to try budesonide. I don't know what the best course is, but it's good to have multiple opinions to consider.

For now, I'm just happy she is eating tonight. I hope everyone is doing well. Sending vines to all the kitties and beans needing vines!
 
Yeah for good appy tonight! :) Have you ever tried coconut oil instead of olive oil? I warm a little a put it on the food, although Neko will also eat it in it's more solid state, but the civie prefers it liquid.

Bummer on Billie no longer eating the novel proteins. I hope you find a solution for her.
 
I'm glad she is eating well again. I would not use pred since the possibility of lymphoma however small has not been ruled out. It muddies the waters and makes any future diagnosis by biopsy difficult. Budesonide is something that is used by some with IBD and would not have any effect positively or negatively on lymphoma. Metronidazole might be worth considering too. If ondansetron alone is working I would be inclined to continue with it and maybe one of the other drugs mentioned for now. It did take Max months to get over his original bout. Vines are being sent your way.
 
I'm glad Billie is eating better. Good luck with the decisions you need to make. I hope you can find something that works for her.
 
Yay for happy appy! I would take it all one day at a time...sounds like a good plan from your IM. Have a great day, Deanna!
 
More cheers for a happy appy! I know the stress you are under with Billie. :bighug: When they get like that, and then they start eating, you almost want to cry (actually, I have cried!). It sounds like both your vets are open to consider different options, and that's great. I hope you all find the right one(s) for Billie. Sending poo and appy vines.
 
Thank you all for visiting our super late night condo last night/this morning!!

Wendy, I never tried coconut oil but I bet she'd like it! Tricia, I totally understand crying tears of joy for a happy appy! I was so upset when she wasn't eating and so relieved when her appy picked up again. @tiffmaxee do you know why budesonide doesn't affect/mask lymphoma but does help IBD? That makes me more interested in trying it if it becomes necessary. Although I do agree that for now it makes sense to stick with the ondansetron as long as it is working well and her appy and poos are in good shape. I'm just not going to try to skip any doses again. So far, so good! Her appy was a little slower earlier today but has been great so far tonight. She nearly cleaned her dinner plate! She rarely ever does that. Also, she had a nice normal poo followed by a Happy Crap Dash! I did my own Happy Crap Dance for her.

I hope everyone had a nice day.
 
I was just telling someone else about rayne industrial....it's where I got kangaroo and squash dx diet.... it has limited ingredients as a novel protein to help dx.
http://www.raynenutrition.com/SearchResults.asp?Cat=1837
they still have rabbit and squash.... don't know if they just ran out of kangaroo...
but they do custom diets so you'd have to ask.

kangaroo was the only novel protein left for Shadow.
she even used to eat brushtail ( addiction )
I really think that something in ff bothers her.... I know it's something in canned foods.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top