5/9 Meme AMPS 158 +6 85, PMPS 155 (ear infection & steroid treatment)

Status
Not open for further replies.

rawia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...2-pmps-96-3-62-0-25-unit.195156/#post-2184350

Well it is not a good news, Meme had an ear infection which i do not know where it come from:(.

Two days ago i noticed that her ear (one ear) is not clean and there is black stuff and when i tried to clean it she starts to shake her head so i thought it is mites.

We went to the vet and she took a sample to put it under microscope and she said that it is not an ear mites and it is a bacterial infection but it also can be an ear mites in very early stage which can not find under microscope.

So for precaution she gave her an injection for ear mites and a topical solution for inflmation ( DERMOTIC) which i descovered layer that it contain steroid.

I did not know that ear treatments contain steroids and when i read about it i discovered that most of ear treatments contain steroid.

Ok i live out of US and we might do not have lot of choices but anyway is that going to effect Meme’s number, i noticed that her numbers are raised but only at PS time not during the day but it is always below 200 on AT reading.

Should i continue the treatment because i do not have choice but on other hand i am afraid that it will raise the numbers more and more since we are just in day one.

Any suggestion will be appreciated :(@Doodles & Karen @Wendy&Neko
 
Poor Meme but hopefully she'll feel better and come back down in dose when it's cleared up. I don't know anything about the injection they gave or how it will affect her numbers. As long as she's hitting green I'd continue as is and evaluate. Once the treatment is done she might very well come back down.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) might have some insight on the meds.
 
Unfortunately most medicine for ear infections do contain steroids. There is a chance it will raise Meme's numbers. It always did with Furball. If it does, you'll need to increase the dose until the medicine is finished and the infection is cleared up. When Furball's numbers went up from the medicine, they did come back down once she was finished with it and I had increased the dose to compensate for it.

I've used this before because it doesn't have a steroid, but I don't know if they ship outside of the US.
https://www.1800petmeds.com/Zymox+Otic+Enzymatic+Solution+Hydrocortisone+Free-prod338153.html

I hope Meme's infection clears up quickly. Sending prayers.
 
Unfortunately most medicine for ear infections do contain steroids. There is a chance it will raise Meme's numbers. It always did with Furball. If it does, you'll need to increase the dose until the medicine is finished and the infection is cleared up. When Furball's numbers went up from the medicine, they did come back down once she was finished with it and I had increased the dose to compensate for it.

I've used this before because it doesn't have a steroid, but I don't know if they ship outside of the US.
https://www.1800petmeds.com/Zymox Otic Enzymatic Solution Hydrocortisone Free-prod338153.html

I hope Meme's infection clears up quickly. Sending prayers.
I have some friends in US that i used to ship my orders to their address then they forward it to me. I read about this product? Is it safe??

I read that some people had problem with it but on other hand there is too many positive reviws
 
Unfortunately most medicine for ear infections do contain steroids. There is a chance it will raise Meme's numbers. It always did with Furball. If it does, you'll need to increase the dose until the medicine is finished and the infection is cleared up. When Furball's numbers went up from the medicine, they did come back down once she was finished with it and I had increased the dose to compensate for it.

I've used this before because it doesn't have a steroid, but I don't know if they ship outside of the US.
https://www.1800petmeds.com/Zymox Otic Enzymatic Solution Hydrocortisone Free-prod338153.html

I hope Meme's infection clears up quickly. Sending prayers.
May i asked about the dose increasing. I incresed it to 0.5 and still no change she stayed in 200’s all the day, should i go up more or wait
 
I think you should wait a couple of cycles and see if the increase brings her numbers down. You don't want to go up too fast and have her numbers come crashing down. See what happens tomorrow and then make a decision.
 
I've used this before because it doesn't have a steroid, but I don't know if they ship outside of the US.
https://www.1800petmeds.com/Zymox Otic Enzymatic Solution Hydrocortisone Free-prod338153.html
Felix gets recurring ear infections, and I've used this recently (thanks to the recommendation of @carfurby ). It has definitely helped, although it took longer than the treatment (with steroids) that he's had from the vet. Before that, I was using Vetericyn Plus Hydrogel (I believe it's very safe), which also helped, but it's supposed to be applied a few times a day, and Felix doesn't like his ears messed with, especially when he has irritation. I think the Zymox is more effective for an active ear infection.

Healing vines for Meme's little ears!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top