Cherryl & Mouzer
Very Active Member
+12 162 And I dont know what to do
I can sit with you until +5 for sure.
I was doing TR. My cut off number was 50.What was your cut off number?
I all of the sudden have become sick to my tummy
I was doing TR. My cut off number was 50.
Did you look at Rex's SS? You will see I shot 3 units on a 89.
Did you shoot?
All right. We just need to hope for a flat curve. It's probably good he didn't eat much so he will be more willing to eat later if you need him to. I'm going to see who is on.I did :/
That 171 is actually +0.5 because you shot half an hour late, correct?pmps +1 171
All right. We just need to hope for a flat curve. It's probably good he didn't eat much so he will be more willing to eat later if you need him to. I'm going to see who is on.
That 171 is actually +0.5 because you shot half an hour late, correct?
Ok, that's obviously a food bump. Let's see what +2 is .
How long did you stall befor you shot? You are also seeing the AM shot wearing off before the onset of the PM shot.I got that number and said yeah there is the food -
How long did you stall befor you shot? You are also seeing the AM shot wearing off before the onset of the PM shot.
Cherryl.....take a look at China's spreadsheet
Generally, shooting a lower number is what we want!! I know it sounds crazy when you see them drop from 400 to 250 (a drop of 150 points) and we tell you to shoot the same dose into a 150 (WHAT??? They'd drop to zero!!! Are you all nuts or something???).....but that's not how lantus works.
The first few times you shoot a lower number, it's important to get a +1 and +2 but once you learn how your cat responds to feeding (does he usually get a food bump at +1? If so, how much?) it will help you the "next time" .....and there is always going to be a "next time"
For most cats, the +2 can give you an early warning for what the rest of the cycle is going to be like (some cats do better with a +3)....with enough testing, you'll learn which is better for you.
If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty "normal" cycle....gradually down to nadir and then gradually up to the next PS
If the +2 is higher than the PS, it usually means they're starting a bounce and it's probably safe to take a pokey break
If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning" that he might be planning to go lower later in the cycle, so those are the cycles where you'd need to get more tests in
I created a word doc that I kept important info (to me) in along with notes and links. I used it all the time in the begining and used it as a landing place to take info to organize later (like food info). Just passing on what worked/help me.I am going to save this info you gave, soI can refer to it.
I created a word doc that I kept important info (to me) in along with notes and links. I used it all the time in the begining and used it as a landing place to take info to organize later (like food info). Just passing on what worked/help me.
Just curious, but why did you feed at +1.5? Now we don't know the true numbers.
For me, if +2 was the same or lower, it signaled an active cycle. Only time I didn't have to worry was if it went up. I often did +2 and +3 to get a better picture of how the cycle will shape up.
All right. I didn't see those numbers. I understand your logic.I saw him go from 191 to 149 in 30 mins - so I thought to slow down the go down a little bit and maybe he will eat later, with some time bought,
so time in between eating not so close
Just curious, but why did you feed at +1.5? Now we don't know the true numbers.
For me, if +2 was the same or lower, it signaled an active cycle. Only time I didn't have to worry was if it went up. I often did +2 and +3 to get a better picture of how the cycle will shape up.
Actually, Cherryl was correct in feeding prior to +2 (which is typically when we see the onset of Lantus)... considering Mouzer mostly ate the juice and left the food at shot time. We always want food on board prior to onset. The drop from 191 to 149 between +1 and +1.5 may very well have been because there wasn't much in the way of food on board yet. Good instincts, Cherryl!I saw him go from 191 to 149 in 30 mins - so I thought to slow down the go down a little bit and maybe he will eat later, with some time bought,
so time in between eating not so close
Hi Cherryl! I had some stuff I had to do on the board, but wanted to stop by to see how things are going. Mouzer sure is responding well to insulin. You're doing great with him!
Actually, Cherryl was correct in feeding prior to +2 (which is typically when we see the onset of Lantus)... considering Mouzer mostly ate the juice and left the food at shot time. We always want food on board prior to onset. The drop from 191 to 149 between +1 and +1.5 may very well have been because there wasn't much in the way of food on board yet. Good instincts, Cherryl!![]()
I'm glad @Jill & Alex (GA) stepped in and said you did the right thing.+2.5 113 here we go
Since Mouzer just ate, I suggest feeding a couple teaspoons of HC gravy if you haven't given him food yet. He'll probably be lower at the next test (+3).Now with Mouzer already down to 113, I think it's time for HC. It's early in the cycle.
Glad Jill is here. I've got some issues going on with my elderly mom so won't be able to post until later.
Good work!
Sorry, I was busy elsewhere.
I'm assuming you gave the MC already. If not give LC instead. Let's see if we can get him surfing on his own!
Jill, will you be around to help for a while?No problem.
Look at Mouzer's spreadsheet. When do you think you want/need to test again?
Not long. I can try to stop by here after you leave at +5, though...Jill, will you be around to help for a while?
OK. Who else could help? I didn't see many pros on today.Not long. I can try to stop by here after you leave at +5, though...
Thanks...she’s fine. Just caught some charges to her accounts that she made and shouldn’t have. I’ll try to check in in just a bit when I get done on the phone and grab a quick dinner.Take care of mom!!!!
That's great. I didn't want to leave Cherryl hanging tonight. Thank you.@Mandy & Rex I will be sure and leave some info tonight on what I suggest for dosing tomorrow.
There are usually several others who come on later... after what would be Mouzer's +5.OK. Who else could help? I didn't see many pros on today.
No problem.
Look at Mouzer's spreadsheet. When do you think you want/need to test again?
Are you trying to bump him up so you can get some sleep soon?+3.5 102 2tsp hc