6/17 Martini AMPS 141 (7.9) +4.5 (13.1) would appreciate input

Status
Not open for further replies.

SMM

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/can-someone-pls-look-at-my-spreadsheet.179081/

Two hours before feeding Martini was 147 (8.2), she dropped a bit as per above before food.
I believe the dose is alright, 1.5 units was too much, but I cannot drop this 1.25 dose either. Is this correct?
I've snuck home at various times in the day from work to gather more data (hope I don't get in trouble!)
Can anyone offer any advice or direction further for me on how to proceed?

ps. If anyone uses BD Ultra-Fine II syringes and has lot #6340564, please check that the syringe level at the top doesn't have any excess space before the marked 1/2 levels. Over half of my box is incorrectly marked - this probably would not matter to a human but these tiny excess amounts sure would matter to a kitty. There are at least 2 or 3 drops extra in the incorrectly marked syringes. I've called to company and complained.

Thank you, care to all!
 
The scales on my BD syringes are shifted all over the place. I finally bought calipers to stop stressing over their sloppy crooked shifted printing of the scale. I scratch a mark on the syringe with the calipers. It does make syringe filling stressful. Just yesterday I realized the lip at the top of the syringe against which I press the calipers can also be tilted. Argh.
 
Call the company and complain! They will send you a free box if you send them the incorrect syringes - just a sampling. They need to made aware of their incorrect printing!
Any advice on Martin's dosing?
 
Mine come in 10 syringe plastic bags. They are ultra-fine not ultra-fine II. I will have to look up the difference. Originally, they were all crooked and shifted down---but consistently, so ok with me. Now some are crooked and some are not. They are shifted by different amounts. I don't know if the placement of the lip has always varied or if I just noticed it. The problem is so variable and longterm, I don't think they would replace my syringes or change their manufacturing process.
 
Martini, like most other kitties, seems to like dropping lower at night. Rather than sneaking home during the day, I would try for spot checks at night. Whether it's setting an alarm or drinking a large glass of water before bed, I think the wee hours is when she might be seeing some action. Looking at the existing data youndo have, I would hold the dose since the nadirs are between 90 and 150. Unless of course a spot check shows otherwise.

I had plenty of problems with the BD line placement. All the last ones I used were so bad that Neko's dose was under the zero line. There was as much as 1/2 unit under the zero. But I was using calipers to dose, which took care of the problem.
 
I had plenty of problems with the BD line placement. All the last ones I used were so bad that Neko's dose was under the zero line. There was as much as 1/2 unit under the zero. But I was using calipers to dose, which took care of the problem.
Except now I notice the top lip is sometimes shifted or tilted. [Usually I can see the narrowing of the syringe at the top, just below the lip. Today I found one where the narrowing is not visible---the lip must be seated lower.] That means my calipers won't give me a consistent measurement, since I press them against the lip. Argh.
 
I too was using the Ultrafine II, maybe a difference between the two? I didn't see the top lip shifted.
 
I think ultra fine and ultra fine II are the same. So far I've only noticed one with the shifted lip and maybe 2 with the crooked lip. Maybe it's a new development.
 
Ultrafine II is the pink package. I've had 3 good boxes before this one, and this one is pretty bad. Please call the company, they apparently keep track of all complaints and are sending me a whole new box. Their quality of inspection has definitely slipped. If we all call, there's support in #'s!
I must look into calipers.
Will hold the dose thank you waiting patiently for a 90, I believe I'm sorta getting the hang of this! :):):)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top