6/19 kit relion. AMPS143,144,159. +1 246,+2 249,+4 362,+10 332, PMPS302,+2 257,+3.5 225, +5 359

after two stalls we are at 159
a slight up trend.
but have never shot this low.
we are leaning to NS, but if anybody is around to suggest a reduced dose, pls chime in. thx

also, feeding kit now since we're done stalling.
 
Hi, I'm sorry no one was around to help you. I'm not an expert, but I've had better luck with a reduced dose than with skipping a dose.

It's scary shooting at low numbers.

How much weight has he lost?

thanks for writing.

kit’s weight
19jun 10.2 lbs (today)
13jun 10.6 lbs
07 jun 10.6 lbs (first day on lantus)
02 jun 10.8 lbs
16 may 11 lbs
 
some questions:
  1. answered: yes. do you think we could have reasonably shot the full AM dose once kit got to 159?
  2. answered: yes. do we go back to full dose of 4.25U at PM today?
  3. do we reset the 7 day counter on the 4.25U (assuming that's what we shoot tonight)?
  4. since we shot 45min after normal shot time, do we shoot PM 15min earlier than this AM's stalled time? and then back another 15min tomorrow AM? and then back to normal shot time by tomorrow PM?

thank in advance

@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Last edited:
We had the same kind of morning. Fed and went up to what was probably a safe level for a full dose, but shot 1.25 instead of 1.5. I hope that doesn't mess up the depot.
 
provided you could monitor.
yeah, and since we do have the availability right now to monitor, we are considering switching from SLGS to TR.
but every time we read those couple of stickies, we get confused.
hopefully this weekend we will have some more time to translate our confusion into questions to ask the knowledgable :)
 
Sorry no one was around to help you this morning. You did what you thought was best to keep Kit safe. Don't be hard on yourself. In the future, if you are able to monitor you can safely shoot the full dose with 143. Kit will give you another chance to shoot blue again.
 
lol. let's hope so. she's a sneaky one...
now we just feel bad that we're giving her a high ride day because we were CS :(

She likely would have bounced a bit from the lower blues that she isn't quite used to yet, so I wouldn't worry too much about the pinkies- they just happen and eventually, you see them less and less.

Congrats on giving a CS dose instead of skipping ;)
 
oh, also was wondering. your sig says
modified SLSG- reductions 3x below (70)
is that modification something that you arrived at after seeing failed reductions at other values, like 90? or ?

My cat doesn't exactly play fair...
I was testing enough for TR but not able to commit since I worked overnights. After a few rounds of getting steady blues and then having my cat drop into the 30s/40s every once and awhile- we just kept running out of room for reductions (he was getting .25 - .40 units at the time). After that and having failed reductions, I decided to modify how I took reductions especially back to back...something inbetween TR and SLGS. 69 on the AT2 is too low, so I cut it right at that.
I stuck to the reductions at 90 for quite awhile though-months and months until I saw patterns and understood his cycles more.
 
My cat doesn't exactly play fair...
I was testing enough for TR but not able to commit since I worked overnights. After a few rounds of getting steady blues and then having my cat drop into the 30s/40s every once and awhile- we just kept running out of room for reductions (he was getting .25 - .40 units at the time). After that and having failed reductions, I decided to modify how I took reductions especially back to back...something inbetween TR and SLGS. 69 on the AT2 is too low, so I cut it right at that.
I stuck to the reductions at 90 for quite awhile though-months and months until I saw patterns and understood his cycles more.

thanks, that is really helpful.
 
some questions:
  1. answered: yes. do you think we could have reasonably shot the full AM dose once kit got to 159?
  2. answered: yes. do we go back to full dose of 4.25U at PM today?
  3. do we reset the 7 day counter on the 4.25U (assuming that's what we shoot tonight)?
  4. since we shot 45min after normal shot time, do we shoot PM 15min earlier than this AM's stalled time? and then back another 15min tomorrow AM? and then back to normal shot time by tomorrow PM?
1. Given the amount you monitor, if you could have done the same today, had plenty of test strips and high carb food, just in case - yes. Some people like to work their way down to shooting lower, so no worries on what you did. Shooting some was better than a skip, though even with a small dose, the depot will influence the first part of they cycle.
2. Glad you went back to 4.25 units.
3. I don't think you need to reset the counter, though it will take 3 days before the depot is back full again. Meaning the 22nd would be a better curve day.
4. yes.
 
Back
Top