6/22 Cinco AMPS 231 +4.25 115 +5.5 132 +7 124 PMPS 182 +5.5 165

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
6/21 Recap:
.5 units bid
AMPS: 186
AM+4.5: 169
AM+6.25: 186
PMPS: 234
PM+4.25: 146
PM+6: 129

Yesterday's Condo

Cinco sure likes to tease me by going right up to the edge of the lagoon and then retreating inland again. :rolleyes: I know his BG range lately of 100-234 would please just about any vet, but it does not please me. I am so tempted to raise his dose tomorrow BUT I have one big concern: NASCAR is coming to our neck of the woods this weekend, and we will be away from home pretty much from AMPS to PMPS Friday, Saturday and Sunday. If I raise Cinco's dose to .75 tomorrow, I'm worried I would need to drop it again for the weekend, to keep him safe. So is it better to just leave it at .5 until after the weekend, or to raise it now and probably drop it again beginning Thursday night? All opinions welcome....

LB report: No pee on floor so far (ANTI-JINX). Both boxes utilized. May remove smaller box tomorrow to see if he'll use just the big box. Pee pads at the ready.

Minka's appy is okay today - she finished her breffis over a couple of hours. She looks great - bright eyed, comfy, and she's been mischievous this morning, which she hasn't been since her dx with cancer! She's been into a gift bag I have by the front door for a birthday at bowling tonight, and into another bag DH left on the floor of the dining area from his birthday on Saturday (never puts anything away, that man!
icon_rolleyes.gif
). She's trotting around instead of slinking, too. Makes my heart feel so much lighter to see her feeling better. Anti-jinx!!!

Harvey refuses to eat his breakfast - Evo Chicken & Turkey. They used to all love it, but lately it's been out of favor. I hadn't tried it in a while, and everyone else ate it, but not Mr. Independent. I gave him some Merrick turkey and he hoovered that right up. Wretched cat.

Everyone has been fed, medicated and hydrated, so I need to go get dressed and get some chores done. Hope everyone is surviving their Monday!

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans :bighug: Special vines and extra hugs to @Jamie & Jupiter. Prayers continue for Amy's DF, Marje's DM, Chris's DM, Elise's DM and Molly's DM.
 
No advice on the dosecrease timing. Can't figure out Polly's doeses much less offer advice to anyone else!

Love the Minka news. Mischievous! Trotting! Cheers from here.

Yup. Harvey does remind me of my Rowsie. There's one in most multicat households, I suspect. Harvey and Rowsie may overdo the "oh carp cat" factor a tad, though.

Have a good one.

Marilyn and Polly
 
hmm.... I would think that going ahead and putting the pressure on now.... is more effective and then backing off during the weekend if needed
instead of holding now... possibly creeping up numbers, which need more juice.
just my thought....
maybe there is a better perspective than mine....
 
Toss in a vote from me on an increase now and reduce later. I wouldn't want him to start seeing glucose toxicity and getting used to these (great to most vet) numbers.

WOOT on the LB report! :cool: Double that for Minka getting into mischief. :woot:
 
I'm wishy-washy, but then when i think of asking the question a different way "is it good to leave Cinco in higher numbers until Friday because of the weekend plans?" then it seems like clearer answer. I think i'd go ahead and increase tomorrow.

Enjoy your weekend fun!
 
Thanks for stopping by, Marilyn, Rhiannon, Wendy and Julie. Okay, you've sold me. We go up to .75 tomorrow, and take him back down to .5 starting Thursday night if it looks like he could drop low while we're gone. I'm really hoping that once we get him off the AB, the numbers will come down anyway. At least he was almost all blue today.

Minka ate her snack before we left for bowling, but when we got home 5.5 hours later she turned away from two different food choices (that she's been eating lately) and smacked her lips, so I gave her an injection of Ondansetron. The needle sure looks big to me - is 20 gauge what you used, @tiffmaxee? She jumped when I injected her and I only got half the dose in, so had to stick her again. :confused: I felt terrible!!! Ten minutes later she ate some from one of the plates. Could it have acted that fast, or was she maybe not nauseated at all? I'm giving her a little more time before I offer her more food, then I have to give her her meds and her fluids. Not looking forward to sticking another, bigger needle in her tonight! :(
 
Tricia, I never used injectable ondansetron. I used cerenia and it stings. Perhaps it's the same with ondansetron. It's been a long time so I can't remember how long it took to work but it was pretty fast. I used to use 19 gauge needles for Tiffany's fluids as she wouldn't stay still very long and she never minded the stick so I bet it's the med Minka was reacting to and not the needle.
 
Thanks, Elise. I'll bet it does sting. She jumped the second time, too. I hope I don't have to do that too often! I was mistaken about the needles - the ones for the Ondansetron are 22 gauge. That's smaller, right? The ones I use for fluids are 20. She ate some more about half an hour later. I'm still not satisfied that she's had enough today, so I have a syringe loaded with about 7 ccs of Hill's z/d and will give it to her if I can't get her to eat more in the next 30 minutes or so. I just can't have her lose anymore weight.
 
It's so hard when they start losing weight. I hope springing wasn't necessary. BTW I actually used the 19g thin wall terumos with Tiffany which are even bigger but never bothered her. I wonder what is taking away her appy. Are you still giving Zyrtec? Appy vines.
 
Good luck with the dose adjustments...I have to admit, like Julie was initially wishy-washy, but after reading Wendy's reply, I agree with her suggestion, too.

More appy vines for Minka - I hope she started to eat more for you last night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top