? 6/22 Muffin PMPS 242 - Thinking of shooting .25 not .50 Input Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning Julie/Dawn

Yesterday was really intense and with all the other kitties you look after, I can only imagine how difficult that made your day. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I think you should be OK to shoot the full dose, the depot of the 0.75u may still be in play.

Often when you start out shooting lower, they stay pretty flat, but I can't guarantee that with the depot still in play and she looks like she is clearing last nights bounce too, so it could mean an active cycle ahead.

choices
1) Shoot full dose/ get +1 and +2, if you get a drop at +1 and +2 start feeding some extra food then (MC or HC if she has dropped significantly/LC if she's staying level) I had a similar cycle with George, where he dropped to 27, what I learned then was that if I saw him drop early in the cycle (muffin did this yesterday) I would get the big guns out (HC), it can be easier to keep them up than to bring them back up once they have taken a serious dive, once I started doing this (feeding the curve) I was able to avoid days like you had yesterday. Of course ECID, but it may be worth a try.

2) skip to drain the depot, I don't like this option as much, but if you have too much on at the sanctuary and you are not able to monitor, it's a sensible choice.
3) give a bcs of 0.25u, the first part of the cycle may well play out just the same as if you shot the full dose.
 
Just wanted to expand a little more on the above.

I found it useful to look at a days events and see what I could have done differently to attain a different outcome.
And with that in mind have a think about the following:

How did you feed muffin yesterday?
She had food at amps I guess, but was she given some low carb when she dropped to 133?
When you got that 67@+3 did you feed then if so what??
I found it useful to note on the ss when and what I fed (amounts/carb content), it helped me learn what worked and what didn't for George, it also helped those that were helping me at the time suggest different tactics, if something hadn't turned out the way I wanted.

With that drop of 65 pts at +3, and as it was early in the cycle, I would have been tempted to at least try some MC, in fact with George I would have gone with 28%, because he isn't terribly carb sensitive(and I learned the hard way that if I didn't he would drop low and I'd be fighting numbers for hours:rolleyes:)
Though she was still in good numbers at +3, she was in quite a low green and dropping fast, so getting a +3.5 might have been a better move than waiting till the +4, as I said above, if you get in early with the food you can, for the most part avoid (or at least attempt to avoid) a situation in the 20's.
 
Was just checking ss and was coming over to post

I would check her again at +1.5, that's quite a drop for a +1, if she is still dropping then maybe get the big guns out (HC)
 
Yes testing again in a few minutes at +1.5....and so it starts. Thanks for eyes on:bighug:
The depot of the previous higher dose (the 0.75) is probably still doing the talking at this stage, which is why the first half of the cycle can often play out the same with a BCS as it would with the full dose, but with any luck as the cycle moves on and by hitting Millie with the carbs earlier on we can keep her from going and visiting the sharks.
 
Nice that he's bumped up a bit at +1.5, I think if she'll eat you could try LC snack and check in an hour, she probably hasn't onset yet so a little more food on board will be a good thing once this mornings shot hits. (If you want to bump her up further you could go with the MC, though it might prove a little heavy handed, )
 
Just seen the update on ss 149@+2.5
If all you gave at +1.5 was LC then any effect from the higher carbs will have worn off by +3, if you gave MC at +1.5 then it'll be +3.5 before they wear off completely.
So you may want to make your next test at +3.5 at the latest just to be sure she's not dropping.
 
Not sure really what to do. I think .5 might be too much and it will take her too low during the night. We cannot test tonight except for +2. Any ideas appreciated. Went with .5
 
Last edited:
Sorry, no one was about. Good choice going with the 0.5u.
I'd stick with that dose until muffin earns a reduction. It may take a few cycles before you see what this dose can do for her. (Of course if she reads her condo, she might just make me out to be a liar:rolleyes:)

Yesterday morning was likely the depot of the 0.75. It was good to see how well she responded to the MC food. Hope you get a few uneventful cycles.

Sending safe green surfing vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top