? 6/22 Tiffany AMPS 141 +3 210 - green numbers last night

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jadi & Tiffany

Member Since 2017
I would be so happy if we were just dealing with the Diabetes, but with the Acro, we are seeing other sad signs...sleeping almost all the time...moving very slowly and try to blow out of her nose and shaking her head. (Like the tumor is bothering her...)

For the last 24 hours, I have been having to coax her to eat and giving her FF...which I usually do not do. (she also loves sliced roast beef)

She does not seem to be as thirsty which is good...I think...are these things you also have experienced? @Bronx's dad @saltycat @Wendy&Neko

I don't know whether to be happy or sad. We also spend July in another location and are planning to take her as usual. I am super worried that the travel may put her over the edge. Prayers and good thoughts are appreciated!

Wish our kitties could stay with us forever!!!
 
Congrats on the greens, nice to see some better numbers after a long string of icky-pinks. She might bounce after those greens since they are new to her, no need to panic if it happens. I'd also hold the dose for now she hit greens. IAA is a strange beast and no fun to deal with. Sometimes the antibodies have a sudden die off and release the captured insulin resulting in a quick drop and then the antibodies regroup and you end up back where you started. It can be unpredictable and happens quick.

The tumor is on the pituitary gland so I don't think she would feel it. Most likely it is the soft tissue growing that is blocking some of the sinus cavities and causing her some discomfort. The tear ducts can get blocked resulting in those eye goopies.

Jack never really slowed down on the water. It is common for acro cats to still have excessive thirst even when their numbers are good. A common issue with Acro cats is bone spurs in the joints, arthritis and other pains from the excess soft tissue growth. Are you giving her any joint supplements? Jack was getting pretty mopey and laying down a lot. Since starting him on cosesquin I have noticed a big improvement in his mobility. Cosequin is OTC and pretty cheap, a prescription option that many use is Adequan, you vet can get you some pre-filled syringes to inject at home. Wendy and others gave small doses of pain medication(buprenorphine or gabapentin). Headaches are common with acro and a little pain meds can help them feel better too.

When was her last bloodwork done? I wonder if she might be having a small pancreatitis flareup. Is she preferring to lay on cooler surfaces? When Jack has a flareup he leaves food in the bowl(HIGHLY unusual for him), lays on cool surfaces and is less responsive in general. I know when I don't feel well, I kind of tune out the outside world and lay around being mopey too.

Regarding travel, there have been a number of acro cats who have done road trips with their beans. Here is a nice writeup someone did for traveling with a diabetic kitty. If she has traveled with you before and tolerated it well, I don't think the acro should get in the way.

Dealing with multiple conditions is such a roller coaster, I understand that feeling all too well. If you asked me 8 months ago, I would have thought Jack would be doing much worse then he is now. It just shows how unpredictable our kitties can be, but sometimes they can really make a good turnaround and surprise us.

I say be happy, she's seen more blue in the last week then since her dx and even some green in there so you are doing a great job in getting her more regulated. I hope she perks back up for you soon and will send some feel better vines her way.
 
Congrats on the greens, nice to see some better numbers after a long string of icky-pinks. She might bounce after those greens since they are new to her, no need to panic if it happens. I'd also hold the dose for now she hit greens. IAA is a strange beast and no fun to deal with. Sometimes the antibodies have a sudden die off and release the captured insulin resulting in a quick drop and then the antibodies regroup and you end up back where you started. It can be unpredictable and happens quick.

The tumor is on the pituitary gland so I don't think she would feel it. Most likely it is the soft tissue growing that is blocking some of the sinus cavities and causing her some discomfort. The tear ducts can get blocked resulting in those eye goopies.

Jack never really slowed down on the water. It is common for acro cats to still have excessive thirst even when their numbers are good. A common issue with Acro cats is bone spurs in the joints, arthritis and other pains from the excess soft tissue growth. Are you giving her any joint supplements? Jack was getting pretty mopey and laying down a lot. Since starting him on cosesquin I have noticed a big improvement in his mobility. Cosequin is OTC and pretty cheap, a prescription option that many use is Adequan, you vet can get you some pre-filled syringes to inject at home. Wendy and others gave small doses of pain medication(buprenorphine or gabapentin). Headaches are common with acro and a little pain meds can help them feel better too.

When was her last bloodwork done? I wonder if she might be having a small pancreatitis flareup. Is she preferring to lay on cooler surfaces? When Jack has a flareup he leaves food in the bowl(HIGHLY unusual for him), lays on cool surfaces and is less responsive in general. I know when I don't feel well, I kind of tune out the outside world and lay around being mopey too.

Regarding travel, there have been a number of acro cats who have done road trips with their beans. Here is a nice writeup someone did for traveling with a diabetic kitty. If she has traveled with you before and tolerated it well, I don't think the acro should get in the way.

Dealing with multiple conditions is such a roller coaster, I understand that feeling all too well. If you asked me 8 months ago, I would have thought Jack would be doing much worse then he is now. It just shows how unpredictable our kitties can be, but sometimes they can really make a good turnaround and surprise us.

I say be happy, she's seen more blue in the last week then since her dx and even some green in there so you are doing a great job in getting her more regulated. I hope she perks back up for you soon and will send some feel better vines her way.

Thank you so much...this is all great information. Tiffy was just at the vet last week and is doing fine according to her vet. I do give her Cosequin, but perhaps I will speak to her vet about pain meds. So nice to be able to compare notes...and learn from all of you. Hope you and Jack have a great day!
 
many of us are having extra hot temperatures.... that can also make a kitty more lethargic.
the test for that is to drag a string, or some toy that she really loves around and see if you get a response.....

and if she's feeling bad too and it's warmer than usual.... that could explain lower appy too....

sending appy vines.....
 
Wes (Saltycat) summed it up pretty well. Bronx also has pretty bad joint pain from the acro, especially his front shoulders. X-rays showed the extra bony growth in the shoulder area. He will walk only a short distance and then lay down. Other meds available are bupe or gaba from the vet. I am trying the natural approach with such things as fish oil, turmeric "golden paste", yucca drops, glucosamine & cannabis products. So many folks swear by the golden paste helping their pets (and themselves), so I am really hoping it will help over time. It is said acro cats may be suffereing from headaches but that is very hard to tell, wish our kitties could tell us! But some say they can tell from the eyes, not being as wide open as they used to be as a sign of headaches. There are options, SRT (radiation) which isn't cheap, and a trial drug called cabergoline, another member here Marvin's Mom just started her acrocat on it. Bronx was on it too, but I stopped when I had the SRT done. All organs can eventually be affected by the acro, including the heart.
 
Hey, sorry your girlie is sleepy girl and showing some signs of the acro that is upsetting. Just dealing with the FD would be enough for sure. Lucky there are very knowledgeable peeps here with the acro part. All I can do is offer hugs and good vibes for you and Tiffany and hopes for easy travels to y'all. :bighug:
 
many of us are having extra hot temperatures.... that can also make a kitty more lethargic.
the test for that is to drag a string, or some toy that she really loves around and see if you get a response.....

and if she's feeling bad too and it's warmer than usual.... that could explain lower appy too....

sending appy vines.....
It has been cool here today...we are in San Diego near the beach, but we are headed up North to Walnut Creek, where it has been very hot. Hope it will cool off next week!
 
Wes (Saltycat) summed it up pretty well. Bronx also has pretty bad joint pain from the acro, especially his front shoulders. X-rays showed the extra bony growth in the shoulder area. He will walk only a short distance and then lay down. Other meds available are bupe or gaba from the vet. I am trying the natural approach with such things as fish oil, turmeric "golden paste", yucca drops, glucosamine & cannabis products. So many folks swear by the golden paste helping their pets (and themselves), so I am really hoping it will help over time. It is said acro cats may be suffereing from headaches but that is very hard to tell, wish our kitties could tell us! But some say they can tell from the eyes, not being as wide open as they used to be as a sign of headaches. There are options, SRT (radiation) which isn't cheap, and a trial drug called cabergoline, another member here Marvin's Mom just started her acrocat on it. Bronx was on it too, but I stopped when I had the SRT done. All organs can eventually be affected by the acro, including the heart.
Thank you!!! I will look into some of these for her. I like the natural approach as well.
 
Hey, sorry your girlie is sleepy girl and showing some signs of the acro that is upsetting. Just dealing with the FD would be enough for sure. Lucky there are very knowledgeable peeps here with the acro part. All I can do is offer hugs and good vibes for you and Tiffany and hopes for easy travels to y'all. :bighug:
Thank you!!!!
 
The tumor is on the pituitary gland so I don't think she would feel it
The pituitary is part of the brain. As it grows, it is possible to see neurological signs. It is also near the optic chiasm, which can cause vision issues. Lethargy is common, soft tissue growth also is, in different places sin different cats. The growth can be slow.

Don't be afraid to go the medical route in addition to the natural route. Acromegaly can hurt, cats hide pain well and you want to get ahead of the pain. Neko's arthritis was bad, buprenorphine made a huge QOL difference to her. Above and well beyond what natural could do.

Neko did 3 days of car travel each way to Fort Collins, she did fine. It depends on the cat how they will react. Neko p's no,bets actually went down during the travel.
 
Thanks, Wendy. So great to have everyone's support. She does seem to feel better today...not so thirsty, and she has even wanted to play!

I just sent an email to her vet about helping her to manage possible pain.

She has always traveled well, so I am hoping that this trip does not set her back.
 
Neko's arthritis was bad, buprenorphine made a huge QOL difference to her. Above and well beyond what natural could do..

How often did you have to administer? How long before you saw results? Any side effects? My vet says it's like morphine and warned that it will cause dopiness and I will have to continue to adjust dosages to get it to work, but not too much to prevent overdosing. How long before you knew exactly how much worked for Neko? Sorry for all the questions but you make a good selling point for it and Bronx is still having trouble walking.
 
Bupe was twice a day for Neko. The dose is a range based on weight. Start conservative and play with it a bit so it's low enough they aren't dopey. I lucked out that the dose the vet suggested for Neko worked right away. I have had to play with dose for another cat. Neko had stopped playing before bupe, and started playing again after starting bupe. I saw results the next day, the only side effect was a bit of constipation which is solved with more water and some pumpkin. For us acupuncture also really helped mobility, it is good for pain but has to be done regularly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top