6/24 Cooper AMPS 170, +5 70 PMPS 122 +2 64!! Should we reduce again in the morning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Millie and Cooper

Member Since 2015
Cooper's last condo

Cooper got a dose reduction last night and had a really good cycle. Today, he got to 70 at +5, only 3 points away from a reduction. I know his depot is likely still draining from the 4.5 dose and may still be draining for another cycle or two. Just worried that he's going to go super low tonight. And worried about tomorrow. DH worked from home today but no one will be with him tomorrow. I will check at lunch like usual, but he seems to drop around the +3-+5 mark which is before lunch. Sigh. Please, please, please surf safe, Coopie.
 
That's a beautiful cycle Cooper!!

Don't stress out about cycle's in the future.....take each cycle as it comes and make the best decision at that time

Do you have an autofeeder? Might be nice so you could program it to open at about +3/+4 to offer him a little food to get him up on his surfboard when nobody is home to test
 
I`m with Chris. Try not to stress about the future, Millie. Coopie seems to be floating nicely in the lagoon. As Chris mentioned, an autofeeder is great, I got one and it helps relieve the worry about kitty having food available when I`m out.
Take care :bighug:
 
You guys are talking to one of the biggest worriers on the planet! :woot:

I worry because we can't always be here during the day with work and we have to think ahead about if one of us needs to try to figure out a way to be home. My boss isn't very flexible and Kevin works at least 40 mins away if traffic is decent. I leave food out for him, but the problem is we have 5 other kitties. Two of which are garbage disposals. So even with an autofeeder, there's no guarantee there would be food for Cooper unless I start locking him up by himself...which he would absolutely hate.

We'll just keep doing the best we can!:cat:
 
We just reduced last night. I know it might take a few cycles to clear the depot but he just dropped to 64 at +2. Should we go ahead and reduce tomorrow morning to 4 units? And he doesn't want to eat anything for me right now. UGGGHHH. Time to get out the honey and I guess we're not sleeping tonight.
 
You guys are talking to one of the biggest worriers on the planet! :woot:

I worry because we can't always be here during the day with work and we have to think ahead about if one of us needs to try to figure out a way to be home. My boss isn't very flexible and Kevin works at least 40 mins away if traffic is decent. I leave food out for him, but the problem is we have 5 other kitties. Two of which are garbage disposals. So even with an autofeeder, there's no guarantee there would be food for Cooper unless I start locking him up by himself...which he would absolutely hate.

We'll just keep doing the best we can!:cat:
You are not alone as I too worry a lot and get scared to leave the house in case my Lucy's glucose levels drop too low while I am out. Sending you a hug and understanding and best wishes that all will be well for Cooper while you are at work.
 
I didn't mean not to worry at all...we're ALL professional worriers here! I meant try not to stress out too much about the "next" cycle because these kitties of ours like to do the unexpected, so until the current cycle is over, it's just too early to figure out what to do with the next one!

I think if I were you, unless there's a big bounce between now and tomorrow morning, it would be fine to take another reduction now if there's nobody that can test. You can always go back up if you need to
 
I didn't mean not to worry at all...we're ALL professional worriers here! I meant try not to stress out too much about the "next" cycle because these kitties of ours like to do the unexpected, so until the current cycle is over, it's just too early to figure out what to do with the next one!

I think if I were you, unless there's a big bounce between now and tomorrow morning, it would be fine to take another reduction now if there's nobody that can test. You can always go back up if you need to
That is very wise advice Chris about not worrying ahead of time. :)
 
I didn't mean not to worry at all...we're ALL professional worriers here! I meant try not to stress out too much about the "next" cycle because these kitties of ours like to do the unexpected, so until the current cycle is over, it's just too early to figure out what to do with the next one!

I think if I were you, unless there's a big bounce between now and tomorrow morning, it would be fine to take another reduction now if there's nobody that can test. You can always go back up if you need to

Oh I know we are all worriers here!! If you had known me at the beginning of Cooper's diabetes journey just a few short months ago, you would know that I have chilled out quite a bit. :cool: The support here has been amazing and has given me so much confidence in what we are doing.

Yes, I think we're going to do a reduction unless he bounces...which he seems to have forgotten how to do that! I know back to back reductions are advised against, but we can always go back up and I want to keep him safe. He's given us a run for our money these last 11 days.
 
Goodness...Cooper is certainly on a mission for another reduction isn't he?? So much green and on an AT2 pet meter!!! I hope Cooper does some good surfing for you and doesn't decide to bounce. Good luck!!
 
Goodness...Cooper is certainly on a mission for another reduction isn't he?? So much green and on an AT2 pet meter!!! I hope Cooper does some good surfing for you and doesn't decide to bounce. Good luck!!

Seems that way! I love looking at his SS now. :)
 
I think it would be fine to go ahead and take the reduction, but be ready to go back up right away if he doesn't stay down in these nice numbers. When kitties are at higher doses (above 5) we suggest increases/decreases of .5 units at a time and Cooper's not far off that size of a dose. If you are worried tomorrow morning, another option is to take an even more reduced dose for tomorrow morning only, to help deplete that depot that seems a little overfull. :eek:

Co Cooper! :D
 
We're fighting to keep him up tonight. He just hit 60 at 5.5+, feeding HC again. Definitely giving at least a .25 reduction in the morning and may try 0.5 just for the morning like Wendy suggests.
 
I don't think @Wendy&Neko was suggesting a .5 reduction this time. I think She was saying that because you only took .25 another .25 back to back at his dose might be okay, I.e. Reduce to 4 units. Her other suggestion was to take a larger reduction for tomorrow morning only and pick up again at 4.25 tomorrow night.

Nice work guys :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top