6/24 - Leo - amps 256, 202 at +2, 269 at + 4, 324 at +9, 340 pmps, 291 at + 4

Leocat

Member Since 2020
Previous thread:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/leo-should-i-continue-with-insuline.230696/#post-2588208

Hello fellows,
Leo is 10 years old recently diagnosed with diabetes ... after 3 days with his blood sugar 330-370 doctor put him on lantus insulin ... after 2 weeks on insulin his fructosamine was 399...
Im having some troubles in finding him a good vet ...so for now I’m home monitoring him
I feed him fancy feast pate and catz fine food or Mac pate and sometimes 10-20 g of dry food porta21 sensible ... food picked from the low carb list
I would need some advice about dosage .. as I think there is happening some bouncing ... currently he is on 1 ui am and 1 ui at pm, attach the pic with the Syringe with the 1 ui dose I give him so you can see how it looks ...
If you could have a look at his sheet .. and give me some advices I would be very grateful
 

Attachments

  • 16AD8953-154C-4F43-AE67-BF0EC155102A.jpeg
    16AD8953-154C-4F43-AE67-BF0EC155102A.jpeg
    48.8 KB · Views: 64
Do your syringes have half unit markings on them? It looks more like just whole units. Since we make changes by 0.25 units at a a time, it’s better to half half unit markings. I don’t know if you can get them at the pharmacy in Romania, you may have to source them on line. Which brand are you using now?

The reason I mention the syringes is that it’s time to increase to 1.25 units. But I see some space between the 1 unit mark and the plunger, so you might be giving 1.25 units already.

If you haven’t already, I would suggest reading the yellow starred sticky notes st the top of this forum. Including the one on dosing methods. Since you are feeding some dry food, that limits you to the Start Low Go Slow dosing method. Any chance you can get rid of the dry!
 
Hello Wendy,

I’m doing the start low go slow as I’m very new to this and I’m still learning and transitioning Leo to food and syringes ...
in Romania at pharmacy you can only find 1 ml syringes and that’s what vet use. I ordered online 0,5 ml that have 1 ui marks as were lowest I could find so at the moment I use 0,5 ml syringe from BD, I placed a new syringe order as I found some of 0,3 ml from BD that had 1/2 U mark on the box so now I’m waiting to see what syringes I’ll receive. It’s very difficult to purchase syringes with so small gradation ...
The 1 ui dose looks like 1.25 ui cause I first was using 1 ml syringes and when I switch to 0,5 ml I measured the amount I used to give him in the 1 ml syringe and that’s how it looked ... so I should rise to 1.5 ui... ? Or wait for the new syringes .. that could take another week ... thanks for advising the stinky notes, I read and will re-read as I keep learning and processing all the infos
 
I think you can increase to 1.5, if you think you have been giving 1.25 units to date.

Could you out SLGS in your signature, just makes it faster for us to help you.
 
Back
Top