6/26 Tigger 278 AMPS 405 PMPS

Breanna H

Member Since 2019
Previous thread

Hello all!
I upped Tigger to 8.5u this morning. I got busy at work and completely forgot to ask my husband to check Tigger's sugar sooner than +9, but then tonight he was 405! Do you think this could have been a bounce today?
I am feeling so discouraged tonight. :(I feel like he was having better numbers on the prozinc at a lower dose. I just feel like he isn't my Tigger anymore. The past few months, worse the past few weeks, he rarely ever snuggles me and literally only comes around me to meow for food (which is constantly, even after he eats) and stomp on me to wake me up for food (and not in a nice way).
I know this is a marathon and not a sprint, I just feel so worn out with all the checks, the spending of so much money and not seeing results and knowing Tigger doesn't seem happy. :(
We leave on vacation for a beach house on the 5th for a week and I'm having anxiety over that as well. I will be making a separate post next week asking for dosing advice for when we are gone.

I guess I just need a bit of a pep talk and some advice. Thanks everyone.
 
Well, I can give a pep talk without seeing the SS :p. It can take some time to see the effects when you change insulins, even when I switched Mav from Lantus to Levemir it felt like I was watching paint dry! So, I know it sounds strange, but maybe try and find a little routine with you and Tigger that has nothing to do with feeding and pokies. I started brushing Maverick after his TFS in the mornings, he now comes to me, purring and he knows he will get brushed and that's our thing ... just time to connect.

You'll find the right dose soon :bighug:
 
when I switched Mav from Lantus to Levemir it felt like I was watching paint dry!
I know! I'm sure I'm just being impatient. But the vet refused to give me levemir, which is what I really wanted, so I feel like I am just wasting my time with lantus. Which leads me back to being more impatient.
It's a never-ending cycle, haha. Thank you for the pep talk. It helps to have support from everyone!
:bighug:
 
I know! I'm sure I'm just being impatient. But the vet refused to give me levemir, which is what I really wanted, so I feel like I am just wasting my time with lantus. Which leads me back to being more impatient.
It's a never-ending cycle, haha. Thank you for the pep talk. It helps to have support from everyone!
:bighug:
Well the thing is, I feel like there is the right insulin out there for each cat. Some kitties do really well on Prozinc, or Lantus. I was mostly happy on Lantus except Mav was a little bouncy on it, and I wanted to see if Lev might help bring things into more flatter cycles. Keep doing what you are with Lantus, and hopefully Tigger will start to find his groove. Plus it looks like you suspect you may have some of the other considerations (possible IAA and / or Acro) which puts a little spin on things.
 
Try not to focus on the dose size, what's more important is the blood sugar numbers. Other than the bounce today, there does seem to be more yellow showing up on the spreadsheet as the dose goes up. Next stop blue floor.
 
Back
Top