? 6/27 Shiloh ~ AMBG 59, +.25 53, +.75 54, +2 59, +4 76, +6 66, +9 91, +10 105, PMPS 92, +2 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shiloh & Rhonda (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
Yikes! I know I've been told multiple times, no speculation as to how low she MIGHT have gone last night. She was pretty level yesterday and her PM +2 was up just a little touch from her preshot, so silly me, didn't check her any further before I went to bed.

DH was going to let me sleep in this morning, but her preshot was 59, so he was going to feed her and put a little syrup on her food, and not give her shot. (I told him while I was gone last week not to shoot anything under 70). I just happened to get up about the time he was fixing her breakfast, about 10 minutes after the first test, and checked her again and it was +53. With that being almost low enough to earn a reduction and at the end of the last cycle to boot, I am skipping her shot this morning. She is acting fine, but also didn't eat a lot. What she did eat she ate with gusto, so I don't think she is nauseous. Will be keeping an eye on her and checking her again in about 15 minutes.
 
@Tuxedo Mom @carfurby , would you take a look at this and give me your opinion? I think I did the right thing skipping the shot, but just looking for a little reassurance?

I am not an experienced dose adviser, but with a number that low, I would have waited as well. What you could do is hold the food and retest in another 20 minutes to see if the numbers are coming up. For a PS number that is very close to dose reduction. Let's see what others have to say. You could put a 911 in your title and get more input that way.
 
When in doubt it's always better to do the more conservative thing, especially if you can't monitor. I don't think the skip will effect Shiloh too much anyway, she seems to be on quite a mission :D

Your PM +2 from last night isn't in her spreadsheet.
 
Thanks Mary Ann. I thought about the 911, but since I decided to skip the shot, I didn't consider it an emergency. And didn't want to take away from what might be a real 911.
 
Thanks for the input purrdy, and for the SS catch. Her +2 last night was 104. I will be around today to monitor, but just could not bring myself to shoot a 53
 
In your situation I would not have shot the 53 either. Right or wrong I haven't a clue. I just have a gut feeling that she has healed. I hope I'm right.
 
Last edited:
I am getting ready to test at +4, but DH is trimming the hedges and Shiloh isn't quite happy with the noise. +4 76
 
Last edited:
I can't bring myself to get rid of this box.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 44
Shiloh went down a bit to 53, so she was probably either surfing or still going down a bit at AMPS time.

Since you were home and able to monitor (yeah for the weekend!), I would have shot this morning. It could be that she would have earned a reduction and shown she's done with this dose. In fact, looking at Shiloh's spreadsheet, I'd think about trying a reduction anyway. In the last 7 days, she's been almost all in normal numbers. She had a couple numbers in the 120's, but those could have been bounces from days there were no mid cycle tests. From the protocol sticky:

Reducing the dose:
The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus Tight Regulation ISG safe by suggesting and taking appropriate reductions.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
 
Thanks Wendy. I was thinking about the reduction already, but wasn't sure when she gave me the 129 three days ago, and the 127 two days ago. I came very close to shooting this morning, but having not shot anything under 70 before, I just wasn't sure.
 
Sorry no one was around to give you advice first thing this morning. I know it's scary to shoot a number that low, but I agree with Wendy. Since you were home and could monitor, it would have been a good time to see how she did and if she earned the reducie. You did what you thought was best to keep her safe, so don't feel bad about it. She's doing great. The next time you have a chance to shoot a low number and are home to keep an eye on her, I would consider shooting. If you had to be out, that is a number I would not shoot.

She's so cute in her box.
 
We all do what we think is best. I suspect if I stalled and numbers weren't coming up, I'd be pretty reluctant to shoot, too. Shiloh is certainly holding pretty tight to greens even with the skipped shot!

Marilyn and Polly
 
+9 91, She is hanging out near her food bowls. Will give her a little to tide her over the next three hours until shot time. I have a feeling I am going to be up tonight.
 
Ok...now I have a dilemma. I decided based on her levels over the last week or so, and the skipped shot this morning, to decrease to .5 unit. I was telling DH if he shoots in the morning, this is what he needs to shoot, and brought the syringe out to show him. He looked perplexed. Apparently, she was getting .25 while I was away, rather than .75. Now what do I do?????
 
Done. Apparently he was going to just above the first mark on the right hand instead of just above the the second, which I think would have been the one unit mark?
 
Ok. Whew! I thought we had it down before I left, but I guess not. At least she still gave good numbers at .25. I can't believe we just now figured this out!!!
 
My half unit marks (BD syringes) are on the LHS and the full unit marks are on the RHS. The syringe marking depends on what type of syringes you are using.
 
image.jpg Not sure how to mark the photo to show where he was dosing. But the very top line on the rhs is what he was going just above. They are Reli-on syringes.
 
Last edited:
I agree that you could've shot this morning. Like Carla, if you were going to be home to monitor it would've been ok, but I'd have skipped if I wasn't going to be home. But no harm done by skipping. Sometimes when a cat is in this phase they recover from skipped shots without it hardly even being noticeable.

In any case, Shiloh (who looks uber-cute in the box!) does seem to be on a mission. She may not need the 0.5u for long. :D
 
I wanted to give you the reference from the sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers. Here's the part on handling a lower preshot than you've shot before:

HOW TO DEAL WITH LOW PRESHOT NUMBERS
**** The following guidelines apply to the Tight Regulation Protocol for Lantus or Levemir ****

You just tested your cat’s preshot number, and there is a much lower than usual number staring back at you. What do you do?

There is no one-size-fits all answer, but there are some general guidelines. As with everything else, each cat is different (ECID) and each caregiver is different too.

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if a cat is lower then usually the best option is to wait until they are at a shootable number to shoot. What constitutes a shootable number will vary by cat, but we don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 50. While you’re waiting, the depot is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.

Beyond the general guidelines, there are other factors we consider when we are helping someone with a low preshot.
  • If the low preshot is not part of that cat’s normal pattern or there is reason to think something might be wrong, we will be more conservative.
  • If the cat is not a food spiker or tends to have an early onset/early nadir then they may not want to shoot as low. If the cat has a late nadir, then they will HAVE to learn to shoot low.
  • We will also be more conservative in some cases because of the person – if you are not able to monitor then you want to be more careful, or if you are not sure that you can get back to the board to keep us updated throughout the cycle. Trust me, if you shoot low, we will be watching for your updates and we will worry if we don’t see them.
  • We have to be a lot more careful with the cats who eat only dry food, because they don’t have access to the tools the rest of us use to keep our cats safe.
  • Also, when it comes to very low preshots, there is an unwritten rule that whoever helps that person shoot low should expect to sit with them through any low parts of the cycle. There have been times when I knew a cat’s number was likely shootable, but I also knew that I could not be around to help if the shot resulted in low numbers later in the cycle. For safety’s sake, if I could not find someone else who would be available to support for the next several hours, I would most likely suggest that the shot be reduced or skipped. I will not encourage someone to shoot low and then abandon them.
  • There are a lot of other scenarios, and you always want to keep your cat in mind.

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

  • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
  • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
  • --- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Using the overlap by shooting low is a great way to take advantage of Lantus/Levemir’s long, flat cycles, once you have learned to do so safely.

~ written by Libby and Lucy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top