6-29 Gizmo AMPS=363; +4=273; +6=182; +7=193; +8=176; +9=218; PMPS=417; +2=400

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-28-gizmo-amps-279-1-5-389-5-326-9-375-pmps-361.179888/

PMPS = 361
+2.25 = 333
+5.25 = 316

AMPS = 363

It took almost 15 minutes this morning to get Gizmo's AMPS. :banghead: He just wants food in the morning. I probably poked him at least 10 times. I only get a little bit of blood and he won't hold still long enough to get the blood to the meter. :blackeye: If I feed him first and then immediately test all is well, but I don't want to do this. I did this a few times when I had to get a test and be at work. I just didn't have 15 minutes to fight with him. Should I consider feeding a small amount at +9? He doesn't eat any differently throughout the day and I don't have any problems at his PMPS. He gets half a 5.5 ounce can with his shot. Then he gets a quarter can at +6. He weighs around 14lbs. Suggestions?
 
Have you ever tried getting the blood drop on to your fingernail and then getting the test strip to draw the blood from there? That might help.
 
Would a small freeze dry treat keep him entertained long enough to get the test? If so, will he then eat? Also, being an alpha-cat helps. I use a strong tone and firm hand. Actually now all I have to tell him is "hold still" and he stops his fidgeting long enough for me to get the test - but as soon as that meter "beeps" he is done! :cat:
 
Would a small freeze dry treat keep him entertained long enough to get the test? If so, will he then eat? Also, being an alpha-cat helps. I use a strong tone and firm hand. Actually now all I have to tell him is "hold still" and he stops his fidgeting long enough for me to get the test - but as soon as that meter "beeps" he is done! :cat:
When I get irritated enough with him, he does finally calm down enough for the test. Usually the problem starts once the meter beeps error because I didn't get enough blood within the time period allowed. When the meter beeps, he assumes he is done and get very fidgety after that. I have never tried a freeze dry treat. I have tried giving him his normal treat to calm him and that doesn't work. Lol. He is always willing to eat! I should just turn the meter beeps off, but I like the beeps. :(
 
Low carb treat link http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/list-of-low-carb-healthy-treats.9172/ (I just wanted this link for future reference)

@LizzieInTexas, you can predict Gizmo's number anytime. Lol. We just saw 182 (+6). Gizmo wasn't quite sure what was going on, but the kids and I were so excited. Lol

I'm guessing no dose increase tonight. Since Gizmo is new to numbers under 200, we hold the dose a bit longer correct?
@Wendy&Neko

Also, I'm guessing we are in for a big bounce coming in the very near future.
 
Here are the FD treats I give my Gizmo:
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00YWPIFBU/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
https://smile.amazon.com/PureBites-Duck-Dogs-2-6oz-74g/dp/B0058R11OO/ref=sr_1_1?s=pet-supplies&ie=UTF8&qid=1498761255&sr=1-1&keywords=purebites duck liver

The Purebites Duck liver he goes MAD for! I get the "dog" size because it is a bigger bag and more economical - but it is the same product.
I was reading about it being cheaper to buy the dog ones. It's good to know that someone is doing that as well. I have been feeding Purina Whisker Lickin's. I bought a big bag and I was planning on switching to something on the list as soon as it is gone. But then I got to thinking what if that is causing him to stay higher (I doubt it, but you never know ... he only gets one treat per test or shot). So I started looking into the freeze dry treats and really liked that they are only one ingredient.
 
+7 = 193
+8 = 176

He had a snack at +6. I know he is not in danger of hypo, but he has never seen numbers this low and he is still dropping. Should I feed a little more light carb food to keep him steady? Or just keep monitoring him for now?
 
It can't hurt to give him a little LC food now to try and flatten him out so you can shoot tonight. A lot of people feed a +9 snack.
 
It can't hurt to give him a little LC food now to try and flatten him out so you can shoot tonight. A lot of people feed a +9 snack.
Thanks for your input. I will test again in 30 minutes (that will be his +9) and give a little LC then if needed.
 
+2 = 400
Thinking sleep tonight, but last bounce on 6-27 he went up slightly at +2 and was in yellow by AMPS. Tonight he went down slightly at +2. So I'm not really sure what to think about sleep tonight?!
 
+2 = 400
Thinking sleep tonight, but last bounce on 6-27 he went up slightly at +2 and was in yellow by AMPS. Tonight he went down slightly at +2. So I'm not really sure what to think about sleep tonight?!
Set an alarm. Test him in another 2 (+4) and go from there. :bighug:
 
Awesome seeing those blues today! The first stretch of many blues I hope.:cool:

The TR protocol says to hold the dose 8-10 cycles when you first see blue. I would hold at least 8 and see how he does. The goal is green, so he will probably be seeing an increase after that, unless he tries to prove me wrong. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top