6/29 Sly AMBG 100 +2.5 95 PMBG 112 +2.5 106 +4.5 111 Trial Day 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
Sly being quite the contrary Sly that he likes being, must have heard me telly hubby last night that if he is under 100 we start trial today and if he is over we'd wait - so he decided to be right at 100. I decided that we will go for it anyway. He has been sneezing the last couple of days and I think that is what has been causing the slight elevation, hopefully his cold breaks and we see him settle back down under 100 consistently.

Lets so Sly!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-28-sly-amps-104-3-101-pmps-100-2-5-83-4-86.140153/
 
Fingers crossed he's going to come down into green again.

Here's the info on trials & remission from the TR sticky. There's a new document that's been recently added at the bottom about Predictors of Relapse.
  • Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission.
Remission:
  • From Tilly's Diabetes Homepage:
    Phase 5: Remission

    "14 days without insulin and normal blood glucose values. Most remission cats are able to stay in the normal range all of the time (50 to 80 mg/dl), although there are a few cases of sporadic higher and lower BGs. Don't stop feeding low-carb and try to avoid cortisone if possible. Test the cat's BGs once per month.

    Approximately 25% cats that achieved remission using this protocol relapsed and required insulin again (frequent causes are hyperthyroidism or bouts of pancreatitis). Therefore, it is important to keep your diabetes kit up-to-date. Then you can react immediately by giving insulin and home testing. Importantly, the sooner you react to a relapse (i.e. preventing hyperglycemia and initiating other necessary veterinary treatment), the more likely a second remission will become.

    The longer a cat has had diabetes, the less likely it will go into remission. Many long-term diabetics get stuck in Phase 3 or 4. Yet there is a benefit of using this method for such a cat as well: keeping the cat's BG levels as normal as possible is much healthier for it long term. Insulin requirements will often decrease to very low levels too."
  • Glycemic Status and Predictors of Relapse for Diabetic Cats in Remission
 
Yup, I know it is not a good start to a trial being so blue. The reason I have taken him back up a couple of times despite his numbers still being "good" numbers. But we are stuck between having these low blue runs pop up over and over, and the fact that he has had very few "bad" numbers in a last couple months. We need to either try to see if we are going to take him off of insulin, or decide he is regulated on a low dose. Otherwise we just keep going back up and down to try to settle him out of the blues. If that is what he needs, then that's fine. But since he is a foster, this limbo is keeping him from getting listed as available for adoption as we wait.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top