6/30 - GIDEON BLUE - AMPS =367

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Shiloh567, Jul 1, 2020.

  1. Shiloh567

    Shiloh567 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Good Morning All- I am happy to see we are in the YELLOW this morning. Gideon also had a check up with his vet this morning. I expected we would be doing a Senior Panel for bloodwork, but vet said no, since he had one two months ago, and he is acting fine. He also said a UA was not necessary today. What he did push for, and I agreed was an in house fructosamine test. He had my spreadsheet, but he said he relied on the fructosamine test much more. From what he said, his staff marveled at the spreadsheet. He was not happy that Gideon's fructosamine test was 489. His instructions are to hold steady on the 2 units for now, and see how he does since the dip, then bounce appears to have cleared. I know he thinks I test way too much. He suspects many diabetic kitties dip during the day without the owners ever knowing, since the kitty acts normally. I don't want to take that chance though. Today, I will be testing at +4 and +6 at least. Yes, no vet is perfect, but I feel mine is flexible and reasonable with my kitties. That is all I can ask.
    Thank you again for your guidance. Please feel to share your feelings about my Gideon. This group is tremendous!


    Sorry...I don't think my cut and paste looks right, so I changed the text color to blue for yesterday's post.

    Anyways, we are hoping for a good day, and hoping Gideon doesn't bounce again, from being a bit low yesterday.
    Thanks all.
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s fine but all you need to do is copy and paste the link. He’s bouncing from yesterday’s greens. The bounces will likely clear faster as he gets used to lower and lower numbers.
     
    Shiloh567 likes this.
  3. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Most vets have so little knowledge of FD that they all marvel at the SS's and the fact that owners are willing to do all that testing.

    I disagree completely with your vet insisting on a fructosamine test - since all that does is essentially give him the SAME information that you've collected on your SS. It's just that's all the know about...unfortunate.

    In time you will learn much more than your vet knows about FD. Just stick with the forum and read all the stickies...study other kitties' SS's and read the comments/posts that others post daily so you can see how FD is treated and watch the progress of so many cats as they make their way to remission - not all do, but there are many success stories.

    The collective experience and wisdom of this group is unmatched by any vet - not their fault - they just don't have the time to spend delving into the depths of this disease and how to treat cats for successful remission!

    You're on the right track though. I hope Gideon will continue to improve :)
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  4. Shiloh567

    Shiloh567 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Thank you Sue. I do hope I will be able to at least get my Gideon within a reasonable BG level. He bounced again from being low, and is currently at 509. He appears to be doing well if you didn't look at his numbers. Hoping for a better day tomorrow. Vet said he relies on the Fructosamine test because it shows a true average. My spreadsheet showed only snapshots in time, and Gideon's levels could have been quite different in between the tests. I didn't argue, but gave in. I know for certain that Gideon's levels do not shoot up and down within minutes. So, I think the spreadsheet shows an accurate description of what is going on.

    I will read what I can, but honestly I have VERY little time to do so.

    Off to work I go!

    Thank you again.
     
  5. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I hear ya on the time thing...I work full time and have all the other stuff to juggle too. I never in a million years thought I'd be able to juggle a diabetic cat as well...but each day I'd try to read something form the forum to try to clear out the cobwebs of so many details and things I did not understand...I have to tell you I think the biggest help to me was reading other people's comments - different kitties, different challenges...and suggestions from other people to help solve that particular problem...I learned a lot that way...and of course, from my own posts and responses. It'll come in time...it's a long-term process and takes time to figure it all out.... :)
     
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The positive is that your vet didn’t want to leave Gideon there for a curve. You gave in about the fructoamine which will confirm what we already know. I wouldn’t rush to do another.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  7. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    The fructosamine is an average, but doesn’t tell you if he is always around the same numbers, or diving low then high and averaging out he same. The latter is more useful in terms of what to do with the dose. I think you’ve got room for an increase.
     

Share This Page