6-30 Gizmo AMPS=361; +3=359; +5=282; +7=364; PMPS=304; +2=266; +3=254

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...176-9-218-pmps-417-2-400.179933/#post-1991536

PMPS = 417
+2 = 400
+4 = 323
+6 = 299 (finally feel safe to sleep...up until this point his numbers weren't that much higher than AM Cycle that saw :cool:)

AMPS = 363 (starting off similar to yesterday ... come on Gizmo give us another good day!)

The goal is green, so he will probably be seeing an increase after that, unless he tries to prove me wrong. :cat:

He sure did prove me wrong yesterday. :cat::woot:
 
:cool:

Yep!

How is Gizmo feeling? Is he acting any different?
Gizmo seems good. He is happy, purring, playing, and seems content. The only difference we notice is that we see him sleeping/laying in the living room instead of inside the closet in our bedroom.

This is Cycle 8. If we don't see blue again today, should I increase 0.25 tonight or wait the 10 cycles?
 
This is Cycle 8. If we don't see blue again today, should I increase 0.25 tonight or wait the 10 cycles?
I was going to ask on your last condo on that - I am not sure. So... Let's see what Wendy says.

Awesome seeing those blues today! The first stretch of many blues I hope.:cool:

The TR protocol says to hold the dose 8-10 cycles when you first see blue. I would hold at least 8 and see how he does. The goal is green, so he will probably be seeing an increase after that, unless he tries to prove me wrong. :cat:

Wendy, does the 8-10 cycle dose hold start from the time the dose started or from the time of the first blue?
 
I was going to ask on your last condo on that - I am not sure. So... Let's see what Wendy says.



Wendy, does the 8-10 cycle dose hold start from the time the dose started or from the time of the first blue?
I wasn't even thinking the 8-10 cycles might start at the first cycle with blue. Good question! I was counting from the beginning of this dose increase not the first blue.
 
I wasn't even thinking the 8-10 cycles might start at the first cycle with blue. Good question! I was counting from the beginning of this dose increase not the first blue.
Early on I got into a bad habit of holding a dose for too long (hoping for the numbers to show up). Now I am a bit more aggressive (closer to the written protocol) but because I work full time that make is a bit of a challenge. I would see if Wendy responds in the next few hours. I'll tag @Bronx's dad too - and see if he will chime in.
 
Early on I got into a bad habit of holding a dose for too long (hoping for the numbers to show up). Now I am a bit more aggressive (closer to the written protocol) but because I work full time that make is a bit of a challenge. I would see if Wendy responds in the next few hours. I'll tag @Bronx's dad too - and see if he will chime in.
I want to be as aggressive as possible (while staying safe of course) for the next couple of months. I am hoping to figure out a schedule that allows me to still follow TR when I return to work but not being home to monitor him makes me so nervous.
 
Those Blues were beautiful but green is the goal. I'd hold for a total of 10 cycles from the start of this dose and increase to 5.5 units. If the Blues were low 100's I might say different. Keep the momentum going especially while you're home.
 
I am hoping to figure out a schedule that allows me to still follow TR when I return to work but not being home to monitor him makes me so nervous.
The.worst.ever. It is absolutely nerve racking. There have been a couple of times where my Gizmo is clipping along getting good numbers but too low for me to leave him on that dose and physically leave him. So frustrating. But, always, safety first.
 
Those Blues were beautiful but green is the goal. I'd hold for a total of 10 cycles from the start of this dose and increase to 5.5 units. If the Blues were low 100's I might say different. Keep the momentum going especially while you're home.
Yay! Thanks Karen. I know the cycle counts when you get a fur-shot (for example) - I just wasn't sure in this case. :bighug:

How are you doing? How is Moo and Leo?
 
+7 = 364

So hold this dose for 10 cycles (from the start of the dose) and then increase 0.5 instead of 0.25?
 
So hold this dose for 10 cycles (from the start of the dose) and then increase 0.5 instead of 0.25
Over 5u we usually increase in .5u increments instead of .25u. If it were me yes, I would hold the dose for a total of 10 cycles from the start of this dose and then increase him. I think you're close to a break through but not sure 5u is going to do it and recommend you keep pushing ahead. If you start seeing low blues under 130/140 on AT I'd probably give it a few extra cycles. Might be a good idea to ask again on cycle 10 incase something "looks" like you should hold it longer. Hopefully someone else will chime in too.

With AT, normal numbers are 130/140 - 68 (aka green on a human meter) so keep that in mind.
 
Do you have an autofeeder for Gizmo? I found it an essential tool in letting me get out of the house more and not have to worry (as much) about Neko going low.

I think if you wanted to increase tomorrow during the day (9 cycles at this dose), it would be OK. I rather suspect he's just going to be in bounce mode for the next few cycles anyway and daytime might be easier to monitor the increase. As Karen mentioned, over 5 units total dose, we increase by 0.5 units, unless we are just trying to tweak the dose a bit, ie. you were already seeing high greens.

For greens you hold longer after they see the green, cause you want to see if they'll come back to green after clearing the bounce.
I think I'm addicted to wishing for blues!
Pretty soon you'll crave green. :)
 
Over 5u we usually increase in .5u increments instead of .25u. If it were me yes, I would hold the dose for a total of 10 cycles from the start of this dose and then increase him. I think you're close to a break through but not sure 5u is going to do it and recommend you keep pushing ahead. If you start seeing low blues under 130/140 on AT I'd probably give it a few extra cycles. Might be a good idea to ask again on cycle 10 incase something "looks" like you should hold it longer. Hopefully someone else will chime in too.

With AT, normal numbers are 130/140 - 68 (aka green on a human meter) so keep that in mind.
Thank you for clarifying that for me. I wasn't sure about the increase by 0.5 but I kind of remembered someone saying it was different at higher doses.
 
Do you have an autofeeder for Gizmo? I found it an essential tool in letting me get out of the house more and not have to worry (as much) about Neko going low.

I think if you wanted to increase tomorrow during the day (9 cycles at this dose), it would be OK. I rather suspect he's just going to be in bounce mode for the next few cycles anyway and daytime might be easier to monitor the increase. As Karen mentioned, over 5 units total dose, we increase by 0.5 units, unless we are just trying to tweak the dose a bit, ie. you were already seeing high greens.

For greens you hold longer after they see the green, cause you want to see if they'll come back to green after clearing the bounce.

Pretty soon you'll crave green. :)
Yes I did purchase an autofeeder. It has been a lifesaver for the middle of the night feeding and a few of the 2pm feedings.

I will see what happens tonight and then make a decision as to whether to increase tomorrow morning or night. But, I would like his increases to be in the morning so that I can monitor the first cycle better.

I know greens are the goal, but right now they kinda scare me! Lol:nailbiting:
 
@LizzieInTexas, I just picked up some Purebites for my kitties. Both of my cats turned their nose up at the Duck Liver (but the dog had no problem with it - lol). However, they were fighting over the chicken. I've never known either cat to be picky. Guess they don't like duck liver.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top