? +6 539! Numbers all over the place

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by tackeee, Mar 20, 2019.

  1. tackeee

    tackeee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    So Little One’s numbers have been high again since he went up to 5.5 units. I have been unbelievably busy (and you’ll see a one day gap where a friend gave him pre-filled shots but didn’t test while I was away). Ive also been unable to curve him as I’ve been working 7 day weeks lately and haven’t had a second to breathe. I upped him to 6 units this am because he has a specialist visit w a dentist Thursday the 28th and his numbers need to get down for them to be able to do a possible FME. My guess is fixing his mouth will help w numbers, but if his numbers are too high they won’t put him under.

    The patterns in his chart shows he did the best at 3.75 and again at 5, but he still had way too many pinks, reds, and even blacks. I’m not sure what to do! I need to get his numbers looking better by next week so my guess is I should keep up w 6 units?
     
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I am glad you increased. Even without a curve, you had enough mid cycle tests because you held the dose so long. Which in itself is not always a good thing. If you hold a dose overly long (more than a week with SLGS) that is only getting high numbers, you are getting glucose toxicity which is itself a form of insulin resistance. That means you have to go even higher in dose to get over the resistance.

    I hope life will settle down for you so you can be a bit more aggressive with the dose increases. It looks to me that something is causing insulin resistance in Little One that is more than just his mouth issues. When a kitty gets to 6 units, we suggest that they get the blood tests done for two high dose conditions, acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies). My Neko had both those conditions. The link to a post on these conditions and how to get them tested is here. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly.

    The link to your last post, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-600-bounce.211615/

    Out of curiosity, how is Little One feeling/behaving these days?

    A specialist dental vet should be fine with doing a dental if a cat is in high numbers. My regular vet did Neko's first dental when her spreadsheet was a lot of red and pink.
     
  3. tackeee

    tackeee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Thanks for this. I’ll ask my vet to get testing for both of these issues. She wants me to stick to two weeks per dose, but I know that one week with SLGS is better. I hope the vet is ok with him for next week!

    So he still drinks too much and eats whenever he gets fed. Sometimes he leaves wet in the dish and goes back to it. He lost weight for awhile and seemed uncomfortable, but he gained a bit back and although too skinny will still purr and zonk out. He’s not quite himself, but I definitely wouldn’t say he’s suffering.
     
  4. tackeee

    tackeee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    So I’ve been looking into acromegaly and Cushings and he definitely has not been gaining weight, which is one of the key symptoms of acromegaly. I’ll still ask for testing, but I keep reading that other infections also increase insulin resistance, and I keep going back to his stomatitis. Hopefully the dentist next week can provide some more answers!
     
  5. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    From what I've read, sometimes cats have no symptoms of acro and symptoms of cushings haven't yet developed. Good luck with the dentist! And of course, infections will cause numbers to be wonky. Plus like Wendy mentioned, glucose toxicity doesn't help. You need to fight to break that and get numbers down and keep them down. I think you're probably battling with a myriad of possible reasons why Little One needs a higher dose of insulin.
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    On her acro diagnosis, Neko’s only symptoms were insatiable hunger and higher dose. Later I found out that the tearing of one eye was from soft tissue growth in the eye duct. Vet didn’t think it meant anything at the time. She wasn’t gaining weight, partly because her numbers were ugly. She didn’t vary much in weight over five years. IAA is also a possibility on top of infection.
     
  7. Jill & Scooter

    Jill & Scooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Hope the dental will bring Little One’s numbers down!
     
  8. tackeee

    tackeee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Little ones numbers since jumping up to 6 have only gotten worse! I know there is new dose wonkiness, but now I’m afraid his Thursday dental bloodwork will mean he doesn’t get the dental surgery he needs. He has two days to get those numbers down. :/
     
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    He has been at six units long enough that the depot is built, so no more New Dose Wonkiness. Any chance of grabbing a test before bed at night, even a +2 would help. I wonder if he is going lower at night then bouncing during the day.
     
  10. tackeee

    tackeee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    I will do one tonight! I’m at my wits end.
     
  11. tackeee

    tackeee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    It was above 550 again :/
     

Share This Page