? 6/7 Taco AMPS 480 +3 306, +5 292, +7 301 Dosing ?

Brandi & Taco

Member Since 2020
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/taco-amps-270-emergency-vet-trip.230573/#post-2580413

Taco's numbers are finally, slowly coming down!! If you look at his spreadsheet there is a huge difference happening. :) (Idk WHAT happened with his AMPS this morning though)
He really needs to get his numbers down though. Yesterday I took him to the ER vet because he was having problems peeing. Everything ended up being fine, just crystals in his bladder but nothing super serious. But goodness he just looks like he doesn't feel good. Sigh.
Tonight will be his 6th cycle at 3.5 units so in the morning I am going to up it to 4 units, OR should I keep it at 3.5 for a bit longer??? Upping it has been making a difference though.

ETA: do you think I test too much? Lol. Honest question. I am a hardcore numbers girl and my boy doesn't seem to mind too much and cooperates every time. But I look at other SS and people don't usually test as much as I do. I read that crystals in the bladder can be caused by stress. Am I inadvertently stressing him out by too much testing? :( I think once his numbers start going down I won't feel the need so much.

ETA2: Ok, as soon as I posted the last edit I went and heated up his rice sock and turned around and he was on the table, on his towel, waiting for me. Lol!! So maybe I'm NOT traumatizing him. Lol.
 
Last edited:
I don't think you test too much, I would love to be able to test that much. And he was very sweet and showed you that he's not upset by the testing. Do you give him special treats after?

I'm worried about the crystals, what did they say about that?

I wonder if it makes sense to increase by .25? I just switched to TR but I'm a chicken, I still only increase by .25. Or maybe wait an extra day for his numbers to settle, since he went high this morning?

Maybe you should tag someone, it's Sunday and I'm not sure how many people are around.
 
Tomorrow you can increase to 3.75 units, as long as you don't see blue tonight. Increases are by 0.25 units if you are seeing nadirs between 200 and 300.

You do test more than I did. But I had to cross border shop for test strips so was careful and learned to be strategic. Once his numbers start coming back up after nadir, you can hold off testing until preshot. Especially when he's high like this. When he starts seeing blues and even greens regularly, there can be value to a +9 or +10 test. When I was thinking about doing a test, I used to ask myself, what would I do different with the data. By that point I had a decent understanding of Neko's patterns too.
 
I don't think you test too much, I would love to be able to test that much. And he was very sweet and showed you that he's not upset by the testing. Do you give him special treats after?

I'm worried about the crystals, what did they say about that?

I wonder if it makes sense to increase by .25? I just switched to TR but I'm a chicken, I still only increase by .25. Or maybe wait an extra day for his numbers to settle, since he went high this morning?

Maybe you should tag someone, it's Sunday and I'm not sure how many people are around.
I give him boiled chicken treats sometimes but mostly he knows he's getting fed. Lol.
The doc didn't seem too concerned about the crystals. Just said it could eventually lead to a blockage. I'm hoping adding water to his food and getting BS down will help.
 
Tomorrow you can increase to 3.75 units, as long as you don't see blue tonight. Increases are by 0.25 units if you are seeing nadirs between 200 and 300.

You do test more than I did. But I had to cross border shop for test strips so was careful and learned to be strategic. Once his numbers start coming back up after nadir, you can hold off testing until preshot. Especially when he's high like this. When he starts seeing blues and even greens regularly, there can be value to a +9 or +10 test. When I was thinking about doing a test, I used to ask myself, what would I do different with the data. By that point I had a decent understanding of Neko's patterns too.
I'm pretty positive we won't see blue numbers tonight, I've only seen one since we started testing. I though TR was increasing .5 after holding dose for 6 cycles? I'll do the . 25 if you think that would be best though. I just need to get these dang numbers down cuz he's miserable.
 
TR says you can increase by 0.5 units if the nadirs are all above 300. They aren’t, Taco is seeing some numbers in the 200’s at this dose.
 
Back
Top