6/8 Rumpy amps 135 PMPS 90 +2 107 +3 94 +6 102

20 minutes from when you gave the honey I think, to see what's happening. When BG is so low we advise testing every 20 minutes until crisis has passed.
 
Here is some info I save about these low numbers:
Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
That's ok Shelly, I know you don't want to leave him right now. You are doing a splendid job:bighug:
I’m just really tired and am upset because is this from me falling asleep last night? He bounced and is dropping now?
It’s been a lot to handle on my own and I’ve missed work every day this week. I just want it to be a little easier for me. I appreciate your help so so much. Thank you.
 
Huge hugs Shelly, you have been so very diligent with Rumpy. Do not, I repeat, do not start blaming yourself for this outcome, it's a waste of your energy. You are dealing with the situation and you are going to bring Rumpy out of it. We will get some more experienced input from others about the dose, but just do what you need to right now. OK? :bighug::bighug:
 
Huge hugs Shelly, you have been so very diligent with Rumpy. Do not, I repeat, do not start blaming yourself for this outcome, it's a waste of your energy. You are dealing with the situation and you are going to bring Rumpy out of it. We will get some more experienced input from others about the dose, but just do what you need to right now. OK? :bighug::bighug:

Thank you. I am in the process of searching for a foster and trying to rehome. My deadline is June 14th so it’s been really stressful on me.
I just want him better.

He’s hanging out with me now. :)
 
Yay, it's rising, but still needs monitoring. Would he nibble a bit more food with a little honey? We want to keep him out of those scary woods now, it's no place for our furry friend!
He wasnt really eating it last time so I added a treat on top and he ate. I switched to his 9% food and he ate it all immediately. He’s pretty sensitive to carbs. It’s ok to test every hr now?
 
I would test again in 30 minutes, just to be sure he's not dipping again. I know you are very tired Shelly, and he is eating. Let's see what he does in a half hour, ok? God love ya gal, you are such a trooper, I wish you were my next door neighbor.
 
I would test again in 30 minutes, just to be sure he's not dipping again. I know you are very tired Shelly, and he is eating. Let's see what he does in a half hour, ok? God love ya gal, you are such a trooper, I wish you were my next door neighbor.
Awh thank you so much. I wish all of y’all were my neighbors haha. This forum has been incredible.
 
Ok, he's 2 points lower than last time. Will he eat a bit more with that drop of honey?
Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house.

If it's not too far away, can you go to store and get some of the gravy high carb food, I think you can do the next test in 30 minutes again. I the higher carb food is going to raise the BG for a more sustained period of time.
 
Ok, he's 2 points lower than last time. Will he eat a bit more with that drop of honey?
Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house.

If it's not too far away, can you go to store and get some of the gravy high carb food, I think you can do the next test in 30 minutes again. I the higher carb food is going to raise the BG for a more sustained period of time.
I won’t be back before 30 mins. I can see if I can get someone to pick something up for me.
He ate the food with a drop off honey.
 
I'm glad he is eating, the low carb food with the honey is working, it's just that the honey wears off so much faster than the higher carb food. We want to sustain the BG rising and be able to test less often, so you can get some rest. Maybe a neighbor would have some higher carb wet food they could lend you?
 
I'm glad he is eating, the low carb food with the honey is working, it's just that the honey wears off so much faster than the higher carb food. We want to sustain the BG rising and be able to test less often, so you can get some rest. Maybe a neighbor would have some higher carb wet food they could lend you?
I just found a different 16% in my pantry and he ate it!! He’s so picky so I’m shocked he loved it haha.
It’s in gravy too.
 
Great! I look forward to the next test being better now that he had the higher carb food. Just go easy on it, a tsp or so, we don't want the BG shooting too far up too fast.
 
Great! I look forward to the next test being better now that he had the higher carb food. Just go easy on it, a tsp or so, we don't want the BG shooting too far up too fast.
Yes I did just a little chunks and poured some gravy on it with some of his chicken.
I hope it helps a lot!
 
I would give him a little more food, and leave some out if you need to leave. I am encouraged by the BG rise, and he's coming up but slowly, we still need to keep an eye on the little Rumpkin. Please test him when you return. You will need to get advice about dose decrease again or skipping the dose tonight. I am sorry I can't advise on that, and the more data they have the better.
 
I would give him a little more food, and leave some out if you need to leave. I am encouraged by the BG rise, and he's coming up but slowly, we still need to keep an eye on the little Rumpkin. Please test him when you return. You will need to get advice about dose decrease again or skipping the dose tonight. I am sorry I can't advise on that, and the more data they have the better.
Perfect. I will feed now and test before I leave and try not to be gone too long. Should I tag anyone for help?

Thank you for all the help.
 
Shelly, if you're tired (which is sounds like you are), there's no reason you couldn't do a BCS tonight, let his depot drain a little and (hopefully) get a good night's sleep.

Might want to only give something like 1.5 or 2U tonight and then return to the 3U dose tomorrow
 
Shelly, if you're tired (which is sounds like you are), there's no reason you couldn't do a BCS tonight, let his depot drain a little and (hopefully) get a good night's sleep.

Might want to only give something like 1.5 or 2U tonight and then return to the 3U dose tomorrow

Will that effect his progress at all?
I’m worried about him. I’m sure he’s annoyed by all the testing but he has been in my closet.
 
He's hungry because of the low BG..but he's not in immediate danger, thank goodness. I'm sorry he isn't rising faster, be patient, he's doing the best he can. Perhaps you can leave him in another hour if he's high enough.
 
Oh that's good. I think I would give him a bit of the lower carb food now, to steer him a little more gently, or mix half and half low/high carb
 
Back
Top